Don't do these.

5 17
Avatar for Eyesthewriter
1 year ago
Topics: Roads of Life

Don't seek attention: I used to hate loneliness and sometimes whenever I found myself alone, it'd feel like I was abandoned and can remember always seeking for attention by either spending all day calling people who didn't even miss me or going out to visit friends who were busy with their lives.

Soon my friends noticed that I couldn't stay on my own so they started taking my presence for granted and would sometimes leave me behind in some indistinct chatter that would make them steal glances at me and guffaw.

Trust me, I became irrelevant in their midst and had to learn the hard way. It's years now and I've learnt the true meaning of loneliness and solitude; now I spend the entire week reading and focusing on my personal development and it's funny how the table has turned because they're now the ones complaining that I don't care about them while they always want to have me around. They've experienced some tremendous transformation in me mostly my silence and now it feels like am the most important person in their midst.

Don't Say 'yes' to everything. This, I've been guilty of. I used to have lots of friends and somehow placed myself in the middle amongst all of them until sometime I realized that all these while, I had been a people pleaser. I could hardly say NO to their suggestions and it made me go places against my will thus making me almost lose my life twice.

Believe me, always saying yes to family and friends did cost me alot even now, I still indirectly pay for that mistake so I would advise anyone to learn how to say No even when it might hurt others because it's better to make a loved one feel irritating about you for saying No that loosing yourself to pressure.

Don't let your past define your present. I pick these pitfalls because I've been caged and turtured by them. Somewhere around 2017, I dropped out of school exactly two weeks before my final year exams and screening. It really did hurt me because it wasn't an action of mine but circumstances.

I remember waking one morning with blindness. Yes am serious, I woke that morning only to open my eyes and realize that I had gone blind. From days to weeks, months and almost a year. I looked back and realized this had happened and cost me five years of study.

When I regained my sight, I did all I could to continue from where I stopped but was rendered hopeless saying I hadn't written a letter to the school to pause my studies thus I'll have to reapply for a fresh admission and begin from year one.

I won't lie, I gave up my education and stayed home almost three years but am happy today that I didn't lose myself to my circumstances because I'm back to school and this time, am studying a course that I love also realized that tragedy happened to teach me somethings about life and am glad to be a witness of the epiphanies of life.

So in all, remember not to always seek attention from people, learn to say No and avoid letting your past define your present. Thanks

4
$ 0.37
$ 0.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
$ 0.02 from @Freedom007
Avatar for Eyesthewriter
1 year ago
Topics: Roads of Life

Comments

I feel like some people are very scared to say no. And it will lead to people forcing them to say yes. Maybe they are not free with the person. We should have courage and be bold enough to say no instead of putting ourselves in unnecessary drama everytime.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some people don't know how to say no and people will eventually force them to say yes. Also, forcing myself on someone is one thing I cannot do because they don't love me genuinely. We should be scared to move on

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Most times we don't have to be forced into saying yes, nobody owns us, so anytime you feel uncomfortable about anything don't be scared to say NO

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly. Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago