5 Days Ago

36 61
Avatar for Eybyoung
1 year ago

You might be wondering what's with the “5 Days Ago” title, well it was the number of days I haven't posted any here in read.cash, since the last 3 months I've been slacking for real in here. There's just a lot of overwhelming stuff I have in my plate recently.

Or, maybe.. I just don't know what direction should I take. Recently, I've been venturing my time learning about Freelancing stuff, and it's not an easy job especially winning clients. I was overwhelmed when I got my first client in Upwork, my first ever formal client in freelance writing gig.. I thought, it was the good start of smooth sailing in my Freelancing journey, but I was wrong. Expectations vs. reality as it was the worst thing as I entered haha!

I don't want to elaborate what had happen to me with that client, but it is horrible experience. Anyway, I just let it pass only @bmjc98 knows about it as I shared it with her on TG. At that moment of encounter, I doubted myself. I thought I was good enough, that I do good in my work, I was disappointed with myself again but then I found out I was not at fault but the client itself, he cheated me lol. From then, I move on and continue learning the course I bought last time.

To all, aspiring freelancer that will find client in Upwork learn from my experience. Avoid clients that has a lot of negative feedback, they are probably scheming. As a first timer in Upwork I wasn't aware of that, so I didn't bother.. looking at their feedback.

It was the reason, I was not online recently..just wanted to get over what happened to me, and watch movie series aside from learning. It's so funny how I was so excited sharing my Upwork journey the past few days and then here I am sharing I got problems with my client, I just realized.. there's no short cut in everything, just like what happened to me. I get back on my Upwork just last month and got client afterwards, only to find out it was not my shortcut but one of the things I must learn in pursuing this freelancing thing.

I thought freelancing is easy, but it's not especially winning clients as there are a lot of applicants. So, this is why I just shift on learning new things for now instead of finding new client. I wanted to be skilled enough with what I am trying to pursue.

I'm also busy buying school supply for my daughter. They'll start their class tomorrow, finally. I'm excited to send her to school and see how things goes having a student haha! You know first time mom feels!

We went for the last minute shopping for my daughter's stuff today and it was crowded anywhere. Many people are panic buying school supplies, or maybe the last minute syndrome. One of the mall has their back to school sale almost 50%, so the said mall is really crowded from first floor to the fourth floor.

Anyway, I am talking remix here.. pardon this random blog! I just don't know what to write clearly yet, but hopefully I can write with sense later on.

I am more on real life stuff these days, less online activities but hopefully when my husband is onboard again, I can get back to my virtual world in full force 😂. Although he doesn't hinder my online stuff, it's just that I got tired too recently.. so I deserve to slack off haha!

Lead Image: Garrett Sampson via Unsplash

17
$ 6.52
$ 6.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 7
Sponsors of Eybyoung
empty
empty
Avatar for Eybyoung
1 year ago

Comments

Abangers pa naman ako sa Upwork journey mo hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha ipagpatuloy ko naman yan need ko lang muna pag aralan maigi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't worry about it, you're far from the only one running into this, especially with upwork. You were so enthusiastic and happy in your articles that I didn't have the heart to tell you about my upwork experience. I tried it once, and got a gig pretty quickly. But after two weeks and 7 articles I wrote I still hadn't heard anything about pay. That's when they came with a million excuses (one of them: "We only pay from the 11th article, so we can make sure you are consistent and punctual in the long term.") I deleted my upwork account the same day. Good luck with your freelance career and with the first day of your kid!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, that was indeed ugly experience. I was paid with my client but he's asking for refund and tell me I just copy pasted all the 11 articles I wrote haha.. but then I found out they edited one of the document just so their claim is correct.. good thing I found it, until now the client didn't say a word about refund anymore after I sent them the proof that they falsify the document.

Some people are just bully when they know they are newbie..good thing I was wise enough to handle it before giving in to their threat.

$ 0.10
1 year ago

Yeah, you handled it splendidly. Still baffled though. I'm thinking "How much money would they make if everything they planned to happen did happen? How much profit would they make?"

Not to be disrespectful but if they pay you more than $10.- per article, it would be a lot. So at best they make $5 per article. But they spend their own time, electricity, and so on pressuring you. So profit would be meager in best case scenario..

So why do they do it? I still don't get it.

I know many of those types have dealt with this myself, but I just can't figure out why!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think they did it to bully new ones. They tried to get my works for free 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was looking up in freelancing too. While learning ang hirap pala. Hindi madali pero matutunan dn yan pag tuonan ng time. Gusto ko nga yan kaso wala pa akong alam eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo mahirap nga need talaga pag aralan mabuti.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All is well 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe naman ma'am eybyoung. Meron talagang mga tao na akala mo mapagkatiwalaan mo na pero yun pala hindi. Don't worry ma'am eybyoung di na po yan mangyayari ulit.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga eh.. sana nga di na talaga nakaka trauma yung ganong pangyayari.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo ma'am eybyoung. Pray po tayo lagi hindi na po mauulit yun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yun lang..d mo tlga alam kung sino pagkakatiwalaan...pero hanap ka lang ng hanap ng client madam...as you said, part lang yan ng challenges ,😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo challenging nga pala talaga ang freelancing world 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bad people also exist everywhere and they always try to find negetivity of others . We all should try to avoid them. I suggest you not to feel demotivated . Anyway i think it's also a lesson you learned by facing the situation and i learned the lesson reading your article.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I'm not that affected anymore ..you are right bad people always exists. We just need to be careful and be smart.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't slack off please. We need you here too🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, didn't know I was needed here 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ui share mo naman sakin. Freelancing is not so easy talaga. As you decide to dive deeper mas Lalo mo mafefeel pero laban lang.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Share ko na lang siguro sa article later para makapag bigay awareness na rin.. mahirap nga talaga kala lang natin ganon kadali haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

O sigi.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Okay lang yan. At least, me natutunan kang Valuable lesson na pwede mo maishare dito. And dami talagang scam kahit saan pero buti na lang matalino ka. Kung sa iba pa yun, baka naisahan pa nila. Mahirap talaga mag freelance pero kaya yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo, actually.. nag ask ako advise sa iba kaya nalaman ko yun when nila na edit. Need lang din pala talaga pautakan lalo pag manlolokong client jusko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You mean yan yong na share mo here before? But the guy or whoever it ks sounds mabait amd understanding naman. So saan nagkamali ang lahat, haha charr Welcum backuuu hereee

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha mabait kasi balak pala akong isahan.. buti na lang bago ako nag take actions eh nagtanong talaga ako sa iba for some advise.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aysuwsss, target ata nila talaga ee mga newbie ano. Nakuu maigi nslang talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo pag newbie talaga binubully nila 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was a mixed and random blog, but I enjoyed and learned something about freelancing world. I have been hearing freelancing is easy, but I'm fact it is not, if someone like you tell the truth (from experience)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is not easy as there are a lot of competition now.. people who tell freelancing is easy are probably coaches selling online courses hahaha

Since it is freelancing, it's never ending finding clients. Not unless if you are highly skilled or experienced.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehe agreed they are just to sell their courses or methods. No one shares their experiences, especially first ones ...

Actually I just stepped into online world, around a month ago (July 26, 2022), noise.cash is my first earnings place and read.cash is second from July 29... So I have been always trying to learn and get something new. To be honest In early day the Rusty has been visiting me regularly but nowadays after two three days, so I'm a bit unhappy with that ....but what can I do???? Thankyou for you time and positive feedback.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Algorithm here is unstable since it's bear market and the site's rewards for bloggers depends on a donation funds only.. so we can't do anything about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Unfortunately, before two week it has been regularly visiting me, but nowadays after 3-4 days... I am so disappointed ☹️ Though I have been writing my own contents and never copy someone else

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We all experience that...read @Jane article ..she posted something about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I have already read her article too, yesterday....

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Take it as an experience na lang sis, at least ngayon alam mo na gagawin sa susunod, hehehe..

Anong grade na pala anak mo?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga sis haha.. for experience talaga sya na experience haha

Kinder 1 sis haha.. makabili nang mga gamit kasama asawa eh kala mo college ang anak. 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago