Don't count the things you do for your parents.

16 37

May 7, 2022. Saturday.

I once said before that when there is a conflict in our family, as much as possible I don't want to be involved but of course I can't just ignored the happenings in our family because I also need to know the causes of the conflict. But I don't take part with them anymore when I know I shouldn't get involved because it's the elders who should fix the mess.

This morning an uncle of mine told my grandparents some words that I didn't like. My grandparents (in mother side) have 6 children, my mother is the eldest of them. My grandparents' children are 3 girls in a row and also 3 boys in a row. And the one who spoke to my grandparents earlier badly was their youngest child. My grandfather and grandmother moved from place to place, sometimes they were there with one of my aunties, my mother's next sister, sometimes there with another auntie, their third child, but now my grandfather and grandmother are here with us. And my uncle is also here, the youngest son of my grandparents. Because an auntie of mine told my uncle that he would take care of my grandparents first, after all, he doesn't have his own family yet.

This uncle of mine is 30+ years old, don't have a wife and didn't have children. In fact, he just started to worked when lock down implemented because my grandparents can no longer work because they are senior citizens. But then even as senior citizens they were still working when there was no lockdown. My grandfather is a tricycle driver and my grandmother sometimes sells vegetables because we have vegetables here at home and that's what she sells in the market. My grandfather and grandmother didn't encourage my uncle to work becuase he always complained every time he worked. My uncle would say that his work was too hard, his boss was rude, his co -workers were fighting with him and whatsoever. He already tried a lot of work but it didn't take long and he quickly gave up on the job so my grandparents didn't force him to work because all he did in life was complaints. My uncle has an unpleasant habit and I have witnessed it since I was a child. This is because he has always stayed in our house since I was young so I can really see his behavior. Almost most of our neighbors were able to fight with him becuase of his attitude and he couldn't get anyone to talk to him. So I also wouldn’t wonder why he doesn’t last long in any of his job.

Like I said, my grandparents didn't encourage him to work, so he just hung out at home in his 20's. He doens't pay any bills here at home. My grandfather was in charge of paying the Electric bill and my mother was in charge of paying the Water bill. The food is also bought by my mom and my grandfather. My grandfather buys foods for my grandmother and his youngest child, my uncle, my mother buys foods for my sister and me. So in short, my uncle doesn't really spend anything and doesn't pay anything and my grandfather just feeds him.

But during the pandemic, my uncle was really forced to work since my grandfather and grandmother couldn't really work anymore because the senior citizens were forbidden to go out since during the pandemic so they really stopped working. My uncle found a job but he doesn't really take his jobs and he gets tired quickly. My mother still works for my sister and me but her salary doesn't enough since she is the one who pays the electricity and water bills now, so my uncle actually ordered to feed my grandparents he is not being asked for a share in the electric bill and water bill, and the thing he only need to do is buy foods for my grandparents. But when we have extra money, we still really give foods to my grandfather and grandmother because we know that my uncle will complain.

And just this morning I heard a bad word from my uncle. He told this to my grandparents. This is what he said "Nay, Tay don't expect to rely on me, not because you see food there, you will do nothing anymore and you will just always expect me to provide food and as long as you have something to eat the both of you will do nothing. ". When I heard that, I was really hurt for my grandparents. I wanted to answer my uncle but I restrained myself because I knew he could hurt people. Yes, he can hurt people because he has fought several times before until now, he has also physically hurt some of my other uncles as well as his father and my grandfather. So I restrained myself from answering my uncle and I just looked at my grandfather and grandmother, my mother didn't answer my uncle either because if he hurt us we might not be able to do anything because we are most women here at home.

I was angry with my uncle because he said that to my grandparents. He didn't even think that then he almost fed and revived by my granparents, he almost did nothing here at home but sleep and eat, my grandparents didn't force him to work, he doesn't pay any bills, now that my grandfather and grandmother can't work anymore, he just speaks to them like this, because my grandparents can't feed him anymore, he says bad words to them. Because my grandparents are weak now and can no longer resist him. My uncle has been working for just year and that was nothing during the time my grandparents worked for him but he managed to speak badly to them, he criticized my grandparents.

I wrote it not to expose my family, I wrote it so that others would not imitate what my uncle do.

Even though our parents are old and they can't help us anymore, we still should not speak harsh words to them. Our parents are the reason why we are here on earth. We still need to cherish them and love them especially and that is what they need when they are old, the love of their children. And let's never blame our parents for the help we do to them because in fact they have helped us a lot since we were young.

Hopefully this will be a lesson for most, for children like me. We should not blame our parents for the hardships we do no matter what happens because they also never blame us for the hardships they did before to support us and raise us well.


Thank you very much for reading, I hope you do not get tired of reading my works. Thank you for your support and trust in me and my articles. Thank you again.

I would like to thank my Sponsors who are so kind and generous. Please visit and read their articles when you have free time. Their articles are also very beautiful and great so you will definitely enjoy reading. And I also want to thank the people who always read, comment and upvote my articles. Thank you very much too. And may you all be blessed for your kindness and goodness.

Sponsors of Expelliarmus30
empty
empty
empty

Thanks for reading this.

Keep Safe and God Bless us always.

Don't Forget to Be Nice and Be Good to Everyone.

Bye.

I made it in Canva

Lead image source: Unsplash

5
$ 1.86
$ 1.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Oluwa_damilare
+ 4
Sponsors of Expelliarmus30
empty
empty
empty

Comments

It's not our responsibility to help our parents, but as a responsible child, I guess it's common sense to repay the hardships they withstood just to raise us well. Just saddening for some who seem to divert to another path just because they already know how to stand on their own and already have the audacity to belittle and disrespect their own old parents.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Tama po parang pagbabalik na lang po ng mga nagawa nila sa atin. Opo may mga ganun nga pong tao na kapag kaya na nilang tumayo sa sarili nilang paa eh kinakalimutan na po kung sino ang tumulong sa kanila na makatayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung mga matatanda dapat na talaga yan kain at relax nalng dapat, pag may mailrovide yumg family dapat bigyan kasi responsibility yun na dapat sila namn ang alagaan ng mga inaalagaan nila nuon.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Opo kaya kami po lagi po naming pinapakain yung mga lolo at lola ko pinapabayaan na po namin yung uncle ko kung gusto nya bilhan ng food yung grandparents o ayaw nya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

pray for him beb ...na sana maisip niya na yung ginawa niya sa grandparents mo eh pagsisisihan niya sa huli...ako di din ako nakikisawsaw kasi ayoko nang gulo pero pag magulang ko na pinapakialaman di na talaga ako magiging tahimik lang sa sulok

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes we always do that. Pinagsasabihan na din po yun lagi ng mga uncle at unties ko pero hindi po kasi sya nakikinig sa mga sinasabi sa kanya at sa sarili nya lang po yun nakikinig kaya pinagdadasal na nga lang po namin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes. It's our time naman to give back to them

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes parang automatic na po dapat yun na ibalik natin lahat ng tulong na ginawa nila para sa atin noon dahil matanda na sila ngayon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being nice to our parents is the best we can offer them even if we don't have money, the last thing is to be harsh... That's bad

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Agree we should be nice to them even if they are old, oldies become emotional so we must avoid saying bad words to them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm so mad with your uncle, his has no idea how much pain he did to you grandparents, old people should never get stressed, they are old, they might not be able to endure the pain

$ 0.02
1 year ago

True. Medyo emotional na nga po kapag matatanda na, ewan ko po ba bakit hindi nya po naiisip ang mga sinasabi nya sa mga magulang nya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakainis yung tito mo. Marami rin akong uncle sa mothers side na lassengero. Nagtataka pa sila kung bakit sila iniiwan ng asawa nila haha. 11 yung anak ni lola eh tapos pang lima si Mama sa magkakapatid hehe

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Di po ata talaga mawawala sa pamilya yung ganyan. May isa o dalawa po talaga na papasakitin ang ulo ng mga magulang nila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dapat hindi nagsalita si uncle mo nun ng harsh sa grandparents mo langga. Kailanman hindi yan tama. Sana maintindihan niya na weak na grandparents mo langga. Sana mag sorry siya. Masakit yun langga. Hindi naman talaga tama.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ganun na po sya dati pa eh. Buti na lang po ay mababait ang grandparents ko at sinasabihan na lang po namin sila na huwag masyadong dibdibin ang mga sinasabi ng uncle ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago