Overcoming Toxic Relationship

8 25
Avatar for Eurydice
2 years ago
03-16-22 | Eurydice

Are you in a romantic relationship right now?

How long have you two been together?

Have you experience toxicity in your relationship?

What do you think are the reasons of this toxicity?

How are you going to overcome those?

If I were to answer these questions. Yes, I am in a relationship right now. We are 4 years and counting. Yes, we already experienced toxicity in our relationship. I think the main reason of this toxicity is my immaturity. We overcame those toxicities through proper communication, in the means of expressing and understanding individual thoughts and notions.


"The people in your life should be a source of reducing stress, not causing more of it"- anonymous


In a relationship, it's normal to have an arguments sometimes. You might disagree from one another from time to time but still, each of you generally make decisions together, openly discuss the problems that arise and genuinely enjoy each other's company.

Conversely, if your relationship with your partner no longer feels enjoyable, both of you seems to rub each other the wrong way or can’t seem to stop arguing over minor issues. You might even dread the thought of seeing them, instead of looking forward to it as you did in the past. You're probably under the manifestation of Toxic Relationship.

If you love your partner that much, here are the tips that I can recommend in overcoming toxicity in your relationship with your partners.

ACCEPTANCE OF RESPONSIBILITY

Have you ever ask yourself about your responsibilities as a boyfriend or girlfriend? If not, then let's talk about it one by one. Your boyfriend should double as your best friend. He should be the one person who can make you smile, make you laugh, and make you feel better after a rough day. On the other hand, a good girlfriend must be open and honest with his partner, supportive of his wants and needs, and willing to demonstrate her love and affection.

If both of you accepts these responsibilities, then you can be able to overcome those toxicity. I was this "Praning" and immature girlfriend back then. Everytime my boyfriend's friends invites him to go out for fun, I was hesitant to let him go. I always think negative things. But as time passed by, I came to realized that I don't own his world. He also has his own world to enjoy same as mine. I learned to respect his decisions and trust him at the same time.

SHIFT FROM BLAMING TO UNDERSTANDING

You should understand rather than blame. For example, instead of saying, “It’s your fault” or “You always do these, do that” you might try, “I think we misunderstood each other, so let’s try again” or “I understand why you’re feeling stressed and upset — how can we work on that together?”

Each of you must find ways on how to fix the problems in your relationships. Everytime we have a fight, we alternately lower our prides. If it's my fault, I was the one who lower my pride. Conversely, if it's his fault, then he was the one who lower his pride. It's just a matter of understanding and accepting your own mistakes.

WILLINGNESS TO INVEST

Investing quality time with each other is a great tool in maintaining good relationship. If both of you are willing to invest in making the relationship better, Well, that’s a good sign. Try to go out sometimes to chill and have quality time together. Try to make your partners happy just as simple as cooking dish, massaging his back, prepare him a coffee and such. Since I'm not a materialistic kind of girl, eating together, watching a movie together, playing cats together are already okay with me.

HOW ABOUT YOU? HOW ARE YOU GOING TO DEAL WITH TOXICITY IN A RELATIONSHIP?

Feel free to comment below. Let's have an interaction together!!


Let me end this with a qoute from Steve Maraboli saying:

"A healthy relationship is one in which love enriches you; not imprisons you"


Sponsors of Eurydice
empty
empty
empty
THANK YOU EVERYONE!!
Take care :)

Lead image Source: https://markmanson.net/toxic-relationship-signs/amp

7
$ 0.62
$ 0.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Khairro
$ 0.01 from @Zicharius.Khlyne
Sponsors of Eurydice
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eurydice
2 years ago

Comments

I am in a very romantic relationship at the moment, we already have 7 years together and we are not a toxic couple, we solve our differences by talking, without going to extremes of fighting over nonsense, we have learned to live very well with each other, because we know that toxic relationships do not always work and we hurt each other, so we avoid hurting each other.

Previously we both had toxic relationships and we learned from that, so much that we avoid being or doing things that hurt us in the past,it is as you say a bit of immaturity, but as you grow and learn, you understand things better and avoid doing things that your partner doesn't like, you start to understand each other better and help each other.

I wish you luck in your relationship and that you trust each other a little more so that little by little you can eliminate this toxic relationship and have a relationship full of much more love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, mayroong toxicity sa isang relationship na unbearable. Yung tipong kahit anong gawin mo to overcome it hindi kaya. I know someone, actually she is my friend. She and her partner are in a 1 and a half years na then nakipaghiwalay siya due to some reasons. And that reasons is the toxicity of her partner. Dun ko nalang nalaman pinaggagawa ng partner niya nung separated na sila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. Minsan din kasi mas pinipili na rin ng iba na iparamdam ang ka toxican nila para jowa na nila mismo ang makipag hiwalay sa kanila. But I'm glad hiniwalayan ng friend mo, di rin niya deserve yung toxic na masyado to the fact na nakakasira na ng buhay ng isang tao.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this! you remind me again of not being always a queen of pride haha. I realized oo nga nuh prang d ko pa nagawa na ako una mg sorry palaging sya haha right now, I do love experiencing of being praning ince in a while because it challenge me so far but then I already ended it and realize everything that I already made a mistake of being a irresponsible girlfriend. Maybe I was challenge by this relationship because I already forgot the side of my partner. Thankfully, I overcome all those ka praningan na ngbibigay lng ng toxic sa srili ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan, I just swallowed my pride nlang kasi nakakapagod na rin pag away nalang ng away. ahhahaha aside from that, sayang din kasi yung panahon especially if matagal na kayong nagsasama. gagawin talaga natin lahat para mag stay. But dapat may limitations pa rin ahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo yan. Kaya nga sinasabi ko sa knya hayaan mo kong awayin ka pra maaga akong mgsawa sa kkaaway sayo hahhaha pro ayun ngagalit hahhaa kasi pagod at puyat sa trbho tpos aawayin pa. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree Eurydice that's the reason the partners should aware the things to make the relationship stronger like the first one. Acceptance of Responsibility. Partners should know their responsibilities. It's a big help that make the relationship going stronger.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed. we must be aware of our responsibilities in order for us to strengthen our relationship with our partners. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago