My Strict Professor | Personal Confession

Sponsors of Eurydice
empty
empty
empty
02-20-22 | Eurydice

Yesterday, our school registrar posted our class schedule and subjects in the 2nd semester (by the way I'm already a college student) to our FaceBook Group. After I saw the notification, I was excited to open it because I want to know who will be our teachers for the 2nd semester. Aside from that, I'm also hoping that our terror teacher in the First semester will not be included in the Professor lists because we're kinda intimidated by her.

I immediately looked for our former teacher's name in the list and luckily, she wasn't there. After a moment of time, I got confused if I'll become happy that she wasn't there or not. It's due to the fact that even if she's not that approachable teacher, I can say that she was the most competent teacher among the rest.

She's maybe terror and strict, but she was so dedicated to her work. There were times where she wasn't feeling well but she still chose to teach us (online classes). She will always say "You know what Class, I'm not feeling well. But because I love you, I chose to be here with you today". Hearing those words was like music to my ears. I was so amazed by her dedication in teaching.

I admit that there were times where I get scolded by her during reporting. That was the main reason why I was challenged to do my best. I cannot deny that I wasn't hurt by her words but I just consider it as my motivation to do better next time.

I was under her mentorship for almost 3 years. As I looked back, I was so proud of myself since I was able to overcome her teaching approach. I can still remember those times where she keep on reminding us that WE ARE RESPONSIBLE OF OUR OWN LEARNING. She was not a traditional teacher who is dependent in books and that was the reason why I admire her a lot.

I cannot describe her through words because no word can describe how perfect she was. But if you saw Doc. Carlos, one of the panelists during SMNI Philippine Presidential Debates, they were perfectly alike. The way they speak, their knowledge and their aura are similar from one another.

As a student, it was a big privileged to become one of her students. Because of her, I was able to practice my english speaking skills and such. Aside from those, I also learned many things from her and here are just few.

"Learning is a painful Process"

She would always say everytime she gave a task that learning is always a painful process. As a student, it's our responsibility to embrace it especially if we wanted to produce high quality outputs. We have to deal with the deadlines, the rubrics, the pressure and etc. We can't get high grades if we will not exert our 101% effort on a specific projects or activities.

"Show me"

Just like what I have said, she wasn't a common traditional teacher who will just rely in books. In other words, she was a modern teacher who believe in the importance of Outcome-Based Education. In every activities, she wanted us to show what we have learned whether its oral recitation, project making and any other classroom activities. Everytime we have oral recitation, she always remind us to construct proper sentences and for the thought to be clear, we have to give examples in it. There must be an introduction, A body where we can insert real-life examples and conclusion. Through this, she can be able to determine if our sentences or answers have substance or not.

"You are not a reporter, you are a teacher!"

As a future educator, we are trained by our professor on how to become an effective teacher. Everytime there is a reporting, she would always remind us to keep in mind that we're not reporters who will just give ideas to the whole class but we must practice to grasp the ideas of our students. We must not give theories without making sure that our students really understand. To better assess the students, we have to ask them questions regarding with the topic for us to evaluate if they learned something out of the discussion. A teacher must also be good in constructing good questions especially during formative assessments.


"The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires." -William Arthur Ward


A/N: To my dearest teacher, I hope that you're doing good today. I am praying for your health and your family. Keep in mind that you are a great teacher. I will always treasure all the learnings that I learned from you. Thank you so much.


Kudos! Take care..

Love,

©Lead image was from unsplash.com

6
$ 5.11
$ 5.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Eurydice
empty
empty
empty
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Malipay ko at the same time mingawon🥺, wala gyuy problema sa iyang teaching tihik lng jud kaau sya muhatag ug grado hahaha uniform tanan haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahaha True Kang, until now gani kay dleh ko sure kung ee pursue nako ang teaching kay feel nako behind kay ta sa ubang skol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wah jd koy plano magteaching ja hotel jd akong gusto sudlan kay akong agaw ddto nagwork nagahire syag mga employee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same ta Kang, mao sad na akong ganahan. dugaya sad nato mo graduate uy ahahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago