My First Job Interview

8 29
02-28-22 | Eurydice

"Job Interview" that words give me chills especially if someone mention it infront of my face. Just so you know, I have experienced to do some "sidelines" but it doesn't need job interviews. Until one day, my friend ask me to apply in a famous and big BPO company here in our City. I was hesitant at first because as a first timer, I think it's better to apply in a smaller company first than in big ones. But she keeps on convincing me to try for us to be able to experience how it feels like to be in a hot seat (haha).

It is hard for a student like me to apply for a job while studying. That became the reason why I have a big respect to my classmates who are working students. They managed to study while working and vice versa.

I decided to join my friend for an interview. I immediately prepared my resume and other stuffs. I know that finding a job is not easy because you have to undergo a lot of interviews from different HR personnels. You have no idea if they are strict, intimidating or approachable. I just reminded myself to become confident all the time and to stick to my core which is to pass the job interview.

When we arrived, I can see a lot of applicants inside the office. I got chills all over my body because they seems so confident. I just reminded myself again to focus on my goal. We submitted our résumés and wait for our names to be called for step 1.

After 5 minutes, my name was called. I immediately entered the room where the HR personnel is staying and we started the job interview. I was shocked because the questions were not that easy to answer. Fortunately, I was able to finish it and answered the questions well.

After the interview, I went straight to my friends. I thought, the first question that they're going to ask was about what happened inside the room. But to my surprise, they asked me why I was called in STEP 3 directly. I became confused, they are right, I should have take first the STEP 1 & STEP 2. From that moment, I got a lot of questions in my head. That questions were answered the moment I was called in step 1. It seems like I misheard the name that was called in step 3 and assume that it was me. (hahahha ang vv ko kaya pala ang hirap ng tanong).

STEP 1 and STEP 2

I was called for step 1. The questions in step 1 was a little bit simple because you just have to choose between the ballpen, pencil and eraser and explain how it relates to you as a person. I chose eraser. I passed the step 1 and go directly to step 2 and I passed again.

STEP 3

I was referred to step 3 and I guess that was the moment of truth hahaha I told the HR that I mistakenly heard my name earlier. The HR became confused and she searched for the documents that she used during my step 3 interview and that was the moment she found out that she evaluated the wrong person. (Hindi kasi siya nag ask ng name ko before the interview in step 3 for validation). Again, we started the interview from the top and I passed it again.

STEP 4

In step 4, we were assessed on our typing speed. After that, they reminded us to always open our lines because they will call us two days after the interview.

I waited for 2 days but I was not called for the last and Final Step. So I think, I failed in the Step 4. HAHAH

That interview was like a roller coaster ride for me because of my (kapalpakan). I think that was one of the reasons why I was not called for the final interview because of what happened in step 3.

But still, I had so much fun and I experienced also how it feels like to be in a hot seat. I just charged it to my experience.

After that interview, I decided to focus first on my studies and set aside my dreams of becoming an employee. Hahah I'm now currently a graduating student and I'm also preparing myself to the real battle that I will face after I graduate.


FT: Failure is the best teacher. It's okay to fail as long as you know in yourself that you did your best and you are able to learn from it which could be your weapon to overcome the hardships that you may experience in your future endeavors.

Sponsors of Eurydice
empty
empty
empty

I would like to thank my beautiful and handsome sponsors.

Take care.

Love,

Lead image was from google.com

7
$ 2.22
$ 2.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Khairro
$ 0.02 from @kushina
+ 2
Sponsors of Eurydice
empty
empty
empty

Comments

It is a little sad that you were not hired because of what happened in step 3, but there are sayings that "things that are for us, are for us", maybe that job was not for you, and soon you will find a better one, the good thing is that you already have an experience of an interview, now you know that you should be a little more vigilant despite the nerves. I wish you much success as a student or as an employee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for these words :) These means so much for me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was a really great experience as a first interview. Hopefully you did learn something from in my friend. Good luck for your future interview.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your kind words :).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was really hard interview. But it's kinda creative interview if I'm not mistaken. You should have also added your question, answer more details. So that rookie like me will gain more experiences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love to,. Maybe I'll publish another article for that. Thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala pa akong experience when it comes to applying in a job but I'm looking forward for it to happen. I still have to make myself better since I'm not a socially active person. I know to myself na marami pa akong need matutunan and dun muna ko dapat magfocus para kapag dumating na yung point na mag-aapply na ako confident ako. It's nice to hear na may experience kana, thanks for sharing your experience! I now have an idea on how hiring works 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAH Me too. Kabadong kabado ako nong time na yon. Pero okay na rin yon na na experience ko pano ee gisa ng interviewer. Nakaka pressure din at the same time because maiisip mo na what if mahire yung kasama mo tas ako hindi. HAHAH good thing both kami di tinawagan Hahah tinawanan nlang namin experience namin dun. I also learned that looking for a job is not easy, maraming mas magaling sayo, marunong , may experience. Pag wala ka talagang credentials, malabo kang makahabol sa kanila :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago