Toxicity of "Christmas ko": We Should Give Them Gift?

5 37
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
1 year ago

Why do people think I almost forget everything? Does it is easy to forget? Because for me, NO, it's not that effortless as I forget what happened the last night and comes the day after I don't know everything. I might pretend that I almost bypassed too; I did forget all about but NO, never I will. This was the issue for me long ago, and it's hard to forgive and forget. So when people I hate, they think I don't hate for years and months have already been gone, sorry, but never will I. I could forgive YES but forget? It's a NO to me.

Credit to Kira auf der Heide from Unsplash.com

Christmas is coming, and we have so many things to look upon. We face many issues this coming holiday, especially the financial aspect. I lent money last November 2021, and been one year, they promised to pay in April of this year, but until its reaches a year, I have yet to receive anything. I considered it a loss and won't be bothered to call back the money anymore, but it doesn't mean I forgot all about it. Maybe the toxic idea was that they were part of my family, so they owned me. My natural parent never had that feeling for me, for the record.

They might think, "It has been a year; he might forget about it", laughing and making me a fool. "Might we ask again for another" they might think? I was honest that I trusted them so much. I explained that money would run to fund something, especially my studies, but they all forgot. Now new chapter again.

One thing is that they need money to impress other people this Christmas. I am still so calm and professional while talking to them, explaining that I need money next month and I am not giving away a gift to people this coming event. Then they became cold to me, and I didn't care about that. I only care about my future now. If they don't want to pay, it's okay, but I will never repeat my mistake.

Now things are changing, and I am the cold one—the message in social media. I look at the message, but I will never reply; absurd way, but I am cold-hearted too. If they request something like, "Could you load me for this amount" I seriously been doing that for years, but now I won't. I just ignored them. For them to feel the burning power, I saw the message at the exact time and never took a reply. That's my revenge. I don't say I am perfect and I am the good in the story, just that I don't want people to think I am their investment which never was.

Toxic Filipino mentality is that "Christmas ko" or begging for a gift the Christmas, thou they knew themselves, they never gave any in my life. It's so toxic that sometimes I remain silent, but not permanently. Why the hell force someone to provide you with a gift on Christmases? Do not expect any if you never give anything to the person, might not financial for exchange gift. Some find me down there "Christmas ko" like a beggar asking for something, looking at their state and the look they wear and feds well more than us. Kind of absurd sometimes.

Another is the idea that "Its better to give than receive" for what is happening in the economy right now, the amount of money we receive over what we spend does the thing "better to give" still lovely, if you were politicians maybe yes, but for ordinary people like some of us, its a big NO. Sometimes we must think that it's not because of Christmas we should not look at the state after day of 25 ends.

Sometimes I liked the side idea of the other for Christmas. December 24 is an average day; just that night becomes busy preparing for dinner, eating and sleeping. The next day 25 still an ordinary day.

Getting matured made me this, made me think that Christmas must be an ordinary one, prepare what you can afford to buy, give what you can afford to lose, and don't expect they might provide you with something if you never gave them before, a cycle of life.

I'm not particularly eager to rant, but days are coming, and the pressure of people here made me in the vein. What if we couldn't buy the same as people posted on Facebook? It doesn't matter anyway. Money changes people, after all.

4
$ 1.08
$ 1.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Jane
$ 0.01 from @kingofreview
+ 2
Sponsors of Eunoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I so relate on: "I could forgive YES but forget? It's a NO to me", Kuya Eu. Because I don't want to feel heavy from the inside, I tend to forgive other people but not all of them. And, to forget? Oh, no! I do good in memorization, so rest assured na most of what they said or did will be tattooed in my mind.

And same, I don't really want to hear that: "Pasko ko ay?" Goshhh! Ako nga nahihiyang sabihin yan tapos sa'ken naman sasabihin? Ano naaaa? 🙈

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa amin alam naman nila na wala kaming christmas. As a non-Catholic, di ko maramdaman yung vibe ng pasko. More on reunion lang ganon haha. About sa giving gifts, feel ko di naman mandated yan haha. Dapat nga tinatanggal na sa program na christmas party yung mga exchange gifts na yan kasi andaming nagrereklamo. Mas maganda yung bukal sa pusong magbibigay ka and totoo yung sa first paragraph. Madali ako magpatawad pero mataba utak ko kaya di ako madaling makalimot hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang iba demanding. That's the main reason why I deactivated my personal fb account 🤣. For giving sa family ko, it's my choice. Speaking of. Yan post ko mamaya lol. .btw, thanks sa gift 😊.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People cannot blame you for feeling that way because they make it you feel it. Just like you, I can forgive but I will never forget. I'm just hoping that these kind of people will have the good perception when it comes to money and trust. By the way, Advance Merry Christmas Eunoia. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yan talaga ang mahirap sa mga taong toxic ,sila payung may utang parang sila pa ying galit. sana ma okay na kayo sir

$ 0.00
1 year ago