How to love a depressed person?

42 67
Avatar for Erzel
Written by
3 years ago

My girlfriend now is suffering in depression and anxiety, we're living together for a year and today's article I just want to share how I handle my girlfriend depression and how do I make her feel that I love her. So let's begin.

I always ask her a road trip everyday πŸ™ƒ

If you have a family member, friend, or romantic partner with depression, you naturally want to help them. In fact, the best way to help them is to give them your love.

BEING THERE FOR THEM

Accept the impact of their illness as much as you want harm. If your loved one has a serious leg injury, you expect it to take time, patience, and a set of treatments to work towards recovery. You will also accept that their feet may not be the same. Similarly, depression is a serious condition that cannot be "fixed" and can cause permanent change.

  • Be caring, kind, understanding and genuine with your loved one with depression, as if you were seriously injured. Each of them is needed.

  • Then do not try to ignore or reduce depression because all this is happening on their head. It is a real disease that needs active treatment and support from loved ones.

Listen to what they have to say. Just listening is often the most important and useful thing you can do for a loved one with depression. When they are eager to talk, say as little as you can and simply lend a caring ear.

  • Let them know that you are truly eager and willing to listen: "I want to hear what you are feeling and thinking, whether you want to talk now or later."

  • Offer to listen only when you are truly ready and able to do it. Give them your full attention, and do not act like a burden or do them favor.

Tell them you love them exactly. People with depression may feel that they are in the wrong and that no one can or should worry about them. Tell them directly and often how much you care for them. Show that you love them for what you do, but do not assume that is enough - tell them too.

  • You can say something like this: "I love you like today, Nics and I love you tomorrow." or "I love you for who you are, and nothing will change."

That means when you say you are there for them. Depression can cause people to feel as if they are or will be abandoned by everyone who took care of them. That is why it is so important for you to stay true to what you said to your loved one. Continue to prove that you will not leave their time in need.

  • You say "I'm here to listen," then listen. If you say you love them the way they are, do not act as if you could not change for them to change.

  • Do not say "You can call at any time," for example, unless you actually said it. If you are not ready or get calls during work or in the middle of the night, be clear.

Be honest with them about how you feel. There is no way around it: sometimes you feel confused, hurt, frustrated, or even angry because of their sadness. Do not blame them for your feelings by using "statements". Use first-person statements to express your feelings of support.

  • For example, avoid saying things like "You gave me so much for what you did." - Instead try something like this: β€œI was kind of disappointed when you refused to come by my side, but I understand why you are so hard to get out."

Act if you fear for their safety. Ignore or ignore if the person starts talking about the β€œend of everything” or clues to self-harm or suicide in any other way. Call for help if you are afraid they may take drastic measures.

  • Sometimes, however, a person is more at risk for suicide if they do not talk about it. If the person seems to retreat further into the world and their life and does not seem calm, they may decide to try suicide. Trust your instincts and take action.

  • Call the emergency service number where you live.

Invite them to stay active and involved. At the same time keeping people busy with daily activities, try to get them out and active in society. Depression creates a strong desire to leave the world, but maintaining activity and connection is an important component of the treatment process.

  • Invite them for daily walks or other regular physical activity. Exercise is great for physical and emotional health.

  • If you used to have dinner with friends on Fridays or attend Sunday evenings on Sunday, invite them to continue the tradition: "I know Shang and Ange love to see you, and I think we enjoy it too."

  • Do not try to force them to go if they strongly refuse, but keep making offers to come out.

Give your support if they choose to ask for help. For depression treatment to work, the person must choose to seek help. Do not try to force them or give them a journey into guilt. Just keep letting them know that you will fully support them if and when they choose to get treatment

  • Put it this way, β€œI think seeing your doctor and discussing treatment options will benefit both of us. I will come for you in any way you need me to take that step.

The place that we always wanted. πŸ’—

This is the best thing you can do to love a depressed person- Show your love by listening without judgment and telling and showing them that you care. If they receive treatment, they should invite you to stay active and busy and support them. Be sure to also show love for yourself, however, for your own sake.

Don't forget to like , subscribe and leave a comment below to share your thoughts. Thank you for supporting!

14
$ 1.07
$ 0.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.40 from @Ms.Write
$ 0.01 from @Ippollo
Sponsors of Erzel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Erzel
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

When you love someone with depression it can feel as though you’ve lost them for a while. The person you’ve always known and loved is still there, but they’ve withdrawn into themselves, away from the pain and hopelessness of it all, not away from you. It just feels like the safest place to be, but it doesn’t mean that they wouldn’t have you right there with them if they knew how to do that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true. Sometimes, I stopeed trying to ask her what's the problem even if they have a problem. Because I don't want to feel that she don't need me. That's why sometimes, I need to wait for her to tell me if she has a problem that she can't handle.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a very important topic. People do not know how to treat people who are depressed. On the contrary, they often say things that only make a depressed person's condition worse. I liked your work, keep up the pace. I want to be your sponsor, I hope you will accept.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! Really? That's great and of course, I will. Thank you so much in advance. πŸ’—

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I sent a request. Also, I read more of your articles. Just keep going: D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I already accept it πŸ₯° Thank you so much πŸ’—

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Having been a partner with depression, I can say that you have some great recommendations. It was hard on my wife, but she stuck through it and I'm much better now 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's good to know. πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

EY Etzel? Cool article. I am sending positive unconditional love energy to your girlfriend to help facilitate her self healing and acceptance. You are very unique and one in so many billions, everyone else is busy bang bang but you are out here putting in the actual work that bring in the solutions, unafraid, unbothered and fully rooted in your belief system. That's my deduction, I loved the article.

Supreme love n light. Bless up!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! I really appreciate your concern. I will tell to her later your concern. She's in the market today, so for sure later she will be happy if she know that other members want to send a positive energy. πŸ™

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice photos

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm hoping for the success to both of you, we don't know what might happen in your relationship but if you feel like giving up just remember the reason why you keep in fighting in the first place, looking forward for in your upcoming articles. Great workβ™₯️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same to you if you have a partner now and if you don't have still keep fighting for your dream. πŸ’— Thank you so much. Don't forget to subscribe πŸ™ƒ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like the last photo. It was nicely taken. 😍 and I definitely on the key points you highlighted on your article. This would be a great factor for someone who's fighting with depression. Good work πŸ₯³

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I only use cellphone on those captures. Then slight lightroom. Well, I hope it helps.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is that your girlfriend, the who made peace sign?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes that's my girlfriend . Why ?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have recognized you right away so I just wanna make sure which one is your girlfriend there. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Huh? Where?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, it's not that hard to compare your profile picture and your lead image in the article. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, really? HAHAHA even my profile picture is stolen, you already guess me in the lead image. amazing πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Did I give you a mini heart attack when you thought I recognized you elsewhere? Haha. Sorry about that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, a little bit. I'm thinking if your one of my facebook friends. πŸ˜… But it's not a bigdeal. ✌️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. I'm afraid so but we're friends here in readcash though 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course. We can be friends also in facebook if you want πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the upvote @Ms.Write πŸ™ƒ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No problem.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You've got it well! I see that you organized your article well. Keep posting:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's sounds funny but sometimes I used Google translate πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's okay, we're not perfect. I admit that I'm not that good in grammar butt atleast I tried. We tried. Keep it up!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It seems that you are good in english grammar. Your grammar in your article was not look like my grammar 😸

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm just trying hardπŸ˜† I'm not that good in English. Hahaha lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Imagine the director on a movie. πŸ˜… Siguro sobrang tatalino nila kasi ang daming laman ng utak nila. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha yes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sumasakit din kaya ulo nila pagsusulat ? Hahahha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

MaybeπŸ€·β€β™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. What a very nice article. This article shows your love and support to your girlfriend. Keep on loving and supporting her. In return she will love you forever :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes I'm tired but I don't want that feeling. I hope she appreciate what I'm doing now for her. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know, she does. Most of the girls appreciate all the efforts of the people around them though some of them are having difficulties in showing their appreciation. haha. So, continue what you are doing for her especially if you know that it's good for her. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorry for the late reply, i didnt see a notification that you are replied. But I hope so, and because you motivate me, I will. Thank you πŸ’—

$ 0.00
3 years ago