Protect yourself from consumer price inflation

19 143
Avatar for ErdoganTalk
4 years ago

This is relevant for people who have money in reserve for a rainy day, or for some planned expense in the future. I just want to shed light on it with some actual numbers.

You can also use investment, or diverse funds, but this is for those who have money, and almost everybody have some amount, small or large.

Starting out with USD users. The consumer inflation is 2%, but this is the Fed's preferred rate, and it is important for investors and analysts. The actual rate of price inflation for you and your personal mix of consumer goods and services can be quite different. You can try to estimate it, if you remember, or have accounts of your spending last year. For most people it will be higher, my guess at least 5%, and for some, 10%. All of this depends on your life situation and spending preferences.

We are interested in the future price inflation of course. In smaller countries you can see the USD rate of the local currency change first, then price inflation will come later. Here is an example from South Africa, one of the least backwards countries in Africa: https://www.tradingview.com/symbols/USDZAR. You see that 14.24 a year ago, now 15.62. (Date 2020-03-02) This is a devaluation compared to the USD of 9.7%. Since most smaller countries import a large part of their consumables, this is a driver for local price inflation. It depends on many things, so you can not just add them together.

The reality is that in many countries, you can expect or risk a consumer price inflation of 5 - 20%, and that is not hyperinflation, that is rather a normality.

Now how can you counter it with sound money? We can expect the value of coins to increase by 100% over a year. It did not happen last year and the year before that, but if you look at history, it has been far better, so it is a very real possibility. The volatility is a risk, and you take care of that risk by not having all your savings in crypto.

So how much do you need to have, to counter the risk of inflation of your local currency?

Even with an expected 20% consumer price increase in local currency, You need only 1/5 in crypto.

Example with a save amount of 10000 ZAR:

Local currency down 20% in value: 8000*20/100 = 1600 (you lose that) Crypto 2000 up 2000*100/100 = 2000 (you win that).

Due to all the risk, uncertainty and organic price changes, it is not necessary to find the exact formula.

This example shows that even with a low amount like 20% allocated to crypto, you can completely counter the local currency depreciation.

If you want even less crypto risk, you can diversify between BTC, ETH, BCH, BSV, LTC and ETC, and learn something about those coins too. Or you can have a lower allocation, like 10%, it reduces the risk, for a slighly smaller inflation protection effect.

33
$ 1.23
$ 1.11 from @molecular
$ 0.10 from @unitedstatian
$ 0.01 from @AnsleyLivy
+ 1
Avatar for ErdoganTalk
4 years ago

Comments

This article is really very important to everyone. If we translate this into my language, then it is easy for all of us to understand. But yes I will do it if you allow. And yes sir this will be your article and the importance of this article is only yours. If you give permission, I transfer in Bangla.. Sir I am Bangladeshi ๐Ÿ’•โฃ๏ธ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Reading your article provides a lot of important information especially a clear idea about cryptocurrency and inflation. A lot of important information is known. Thank you sir@ErdoganTalk for giving such an important information.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for this enlightening post @ErdoganTalk. I have a question though, would you advise one to simply invest alone in crypto without doing any trading to increase the value over time. Thank you.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

I always fail in trading, maybe I'm a women so I like to rush too much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I read your article completely i love the way you help other to earn more this is good tool for financial skill. Keep on writting I admire for all your work๐Ÿ˜๐ŸŽ‰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

amazing writting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dear sir, it is very beautiful & amazing article. I want to translate this article which language is bengali. Wow dear. Incredible writing. I really amazed to read this article. You described the whole truth of man's life. Please need your permission. May god bless you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No I don't want that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I read your article completely i love the way you help other to earn more this is good tool for financial skill. Keep on writting I admire for all your work๐Ÿ˜๐ŸŽ‰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a good tool, thank you for this information. It is really helpful especially me.๐Ÿ˜Š I hope that you notice any of my articles and advise me If I improve it. I admire you for being a good writer and a generous person. Don't change that Attitude.

$ 0.20
3 years ago

I will read some of your articles, but I don't have infinite capacity!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you sir๐Ÿ˜‡ You're very kind and generous person๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sir, this article is very important to me. I know this article is important for everyone. You have supported me a lot, sir. I wanted to translate an important article of yours into my home so that everyone could understand. But you did not allow me because the offer expired. This article is very important if I spread it among all I mean through the language of my country. Then it will be very useful for people to understand our country, that is, my language. Sir you may understand what I mean. This article is really very important to everyone. If we translate this into my language, then it is easy for all of us to understand. But yes I will do it if you allow. And yes sir this will be your article and the importance of this article is only yours. If you give permission, sir, I would like to translate and present this article in your name in my account.

$ 0.50
3 years ago

I suggest you write something about it in your own words. We have focused too much on the ease and speed of payments, but a big part of Bitcoin Cash is the sound money aspect, good for savers. (And even more while it is expanding its user base rapidly, it is something for the speculators)

Please write it in your own words, add a local touch, add specific points that are important to yourself. Then point me to your article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much sir for your permission. I will try my best to explain to everyone as much as you can. Honestly sir you are a very good person thank you so much for giving me such a beautiful opportunity. I will present this to you as soon as possible. I will translate this article and present it to my friends in my own language. Hope everybody on this site also had a great day. Thank you again sir. May God help you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good information

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a good useful tool for financial protection. I applaud it as an educative article. Thank for disseminating it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago