The best time on the island

11 52
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Island, Film, Write, Time, Nature, ...

A life that has the potential to win an award in the short film category is mine. It would have been very boring if it was long film category. That's why I'm going to make do with a short film.

I am far away from the sad noise of the city. I came to Cunda Island one day ago. The calmness of nature gives people a peaceful enthusiasm.

I settled in a small hostel on the island. The radiance of all the colors of nature is reflected in the window of my room, which is located in the attic of the hostel. My room has a single bed, a faded wooden table at the head of the bed, a sea view hanging on the wall.

I woke up this morning to the joyful bird sounds. I opened the curtains of my window, allowing the morning sun to penetrate my whole body. Actually, I didn't come here to vacation. At least I'm not planning a classic vacation. For me, vacation means free hours where I can go for nature walks and write by myself. That's why I brought my laptop with me when I came here.

Last night, I stopped by the market by the island pier and bought some apples and tangerines. According to my mom, my favorite fruit as a kid was apple. I don't care anymore which fruit I like more. I guess I bought the tangerine just because of the smell because I wasn't sure if I wanted to eat it or not. I bought them by dreaming of putting tangerine peels on the small wood stove in my hostel. I love the delicious aroma of tangerine peels burning on the stove.

After shopping for fruit, I walked the deserted and wet roads of the island on the way back to the hostel. The coolness of the rain that had fallen a few hours ago was dominant on the streets of the island, which was lonely in winter. It's actually the most beautiful time on the island.

When I arrived at the hostel, I noticed that the wood burning stove was trying to heat the living room with all its might. I told the hostel owner that I wanted to put the tangerine peels on the stove. My gracious and pleasant host, who welcomed my request, brought a plate from the kitchen. On the one hand, we ate tangerines and on the other hand, we chatted with the wonderful smell of tangerine peels burning on the stove. In fact, this elegant lady offered me tea later in the night.

That night, before I went to sleep, I watched the moonlight dancing on the dark blue of the sea from the window of my room. The moon danced for hours on the sea, ignoring the frightening darkness of the night. All the lights on the island were almost gone. Only the street lamps and the quayside lamps were on.

I thought to myself that I was exactly where I wanted to be. It was such a deep silence that I needed. A quiet conversation was more than enough, accompanied by the crackling of the burning woods and the smell of home tangerines only at certain times of the day. Other than that, there must have been words waiting to be typed inside me, my dreams, and my laptop.

That's all.

10
$ 0.84
$ 0.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Rhoma
$ 0.05 from @sj0820
+ 5
Sponsors of ErdoV
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Island, Film, Write, Time, Nature, ...

Comments

this is interesting story friend i like it more and your style to describe it attract me more

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you like my still of describe, my friend. That's a word I want to hear from my readers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You described it well. I felt like I'm there too. I wanna be there in person soon. I feel how much serenity you experienced there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you should definitely be here. The serenity of nature really gives peace of mind.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Life does need some peace and quiet... Reminds me of an Einstein quote "the serenity and solitude of a quiet life stimulates the creative mind"... This is truly a story that could win a short film award...!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Einstein is probably right. At such moments I hear the typewriter in my head start working

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol... You're a funny person... Nice...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When I think in my life, I need some time for peace and rest. Then I go to the shore of the sea island with all my things. The island's noise-free fresh air and atmosphere are remarkable. I eat apples. But not favorite. But tangerines are my favorite fruit. It is as fragrant as it is delicious.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I no longer have a favorite fruit. It can be apple or tangerine. As long as I stay on the island, all fruits can be my favorite :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a very beautiful and inspiring story. When I was a kid, I used to put tangerine peels on the stove, and I love that scent. I haven't heard anyone do that in a long time, you pleasantly surprised me. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think we are not alone in this world. There are many people who are happy with the smell of cooking tangerine peels on the stove :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago