Last Day Surprise on the Island

4 35
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago

Hello everyone. I hope you are all well and had a happy weekend. Unfortunately, the weekend break did not end well for me. I said goodbye painfully to Cunda Island, where I came for two days.

As it was my last day on the island, I got up early from my warm bed, ignoring the cold of the morning. The sun was just rising when I woke up. Opening the window of my attic room, I bravely welcomed the day, ignoring the cold weather. Since the first rays of the sun were too weak to disturb my eyes, I watched the sunrise with all its nakedness.

I lay in my bed for a while as it was very early. I don't remember how long I just lay there and stared blankly at the ceiling. Why then, I got up, got dressed, and after packing a few items in my backpack, I went down to the breakfast room, taking the bag with my laptop in it.

The lady who runs the hostel was already up and singing a 90's pop song in the kitchen, preparing her simple but elegant breakfast to be eaten in the simple but elegant breakfast room of the hostel. It was as if that song was telling the story of this island, which was sad like a lonely child abandoned in these cold days of winter.

The lyrics of the song were:

"I can't leave, I hug dreams

I can't leave, I make love with your longing"

The owner of the hostel was a fair-haired and elegant lady in her early 50s. If She had lived in any city in Europe 500 years ago, they would probably have given her the title "Lady" simply because of her grace. The title he would receive in the eastern lands would be "Sultan". His name was Rehyan. “Lady Reyhan” or “Reyhan Sultan.”

We had a delicious island breakfast with Lady Reyhan. As I thought it would be rude to refuse my Lady's offer of coffee after breakfast, I accepted and we went to the entrance hall where the stove was located. While she was slowly cooking our coffee in the coffee pot she placed on the stove, I glanced at the magazines on the coffee table in front of me.

After drinking my morning coffee, I was planning to leave the hostel by saying goodbye to its owner, to spend the rest of the day touring the island, to take the last boat in the evening to Ayvalık, and from there to my village by bus.

After I finished my coffee, I wanted to do my hospitable landlady a little gentlemanly by filling the empty wood bucket by the stove with wood from the wood store in the backyard of the hostel. The decision I made at that very moment caused my vacation to end badly. I took the empty bucket and went to the warehouse in the backyard. When I made a move to lift the bucket I had filled with wood, I felt a severe pain in the left side of my back.

Yes, you got it right. I hurt my back. Actually, there is nothing wrong with my spine. A week or so ago, I already had some pain in my lower back due to a cold. As long as I kept my back warm, this pain did not cause me any problems, but it did not go away completely. As I bent down to pick up the wood bucket, the muscles in my lower back spasm. This was a bad surprise for me.

My plan to tour the island for the rest of the day fell through. Instead, after resting for a while in front of the stove in the hostel, I took a taxi to the pier to catch the first ferry in the afternoon. Later, after another painful bus journey, I reached my village. I'm at home, in the room heated by the stove, with my lower back pain, which is slightly relieved...

Stay with love and pain free…

8
$ 0.26
$ 0.10 from @honeyflex360
$ 0.05 from @Shohana
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 3
Sponsors of ErdoV
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I wish you get well soon. This is high time to take care of yourself. Stay blessed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also want to get well soon. My movements are very limited. Thank you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If you go to the doctor, he will do an MRI and diagnose herniated disc. I suffer from similar pains from time to time and this was the diagnosis each time and he suggested surgery, but I keep postponing it. The waist has a self-healing feature, rest on a flat surface! Get well soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope it's not a herniated disc. I'm hoping it's just a cold sore because I got a cold in my lower back 15 days ago and have had pain ever since. Maybe it's a muscle spasm. If it doesn't go away soon, I will go to a physicist.

$ 0.00
2 years ago