I'm Teaching My Child Chess #2

16 45
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Teaching, Chess, Child, Game, Play

A few days ago, I shared the first article of the series on teaching our child chess. After a short break, I had the opportunity to write the second part of this series of articles. In my first article, I talked about how to decide and buy the chess set. In this article, I will talk about introducing the chessboard to the child.

Part 2: Introducing the Chessboard

We take out the chess set we bought in its box with our child. Our child will show interest in chess pieces and will start playing with them.

In the meantime, we will begin to tell him a tale:

Once upon a time, in a far away land, there was a country called the black and white country. In this country, milk stones and chocolate stones lived. Milk stones were white, chocolate stones were black. These stones were always playing games among themselves. Before starting the game, they would shake hands, wishing each other success. In these games, sometimes chocolate stones and sometimes milk stones would win. No matter which side wins, the losing side never gets upset and congratulates the winning side and shakes their hand. Also, whichever side won, they slept together in the same place.

After telling the tale, we will begin to introduce the board by laying out the chessboard:

We can start by saying this is the black and white checkered board you see, the country I told you about in the fairy tale. We will say that there are 64 squares in total on the board and 32 of these squares are white and 32 of them are black. If our child is very young, he may not be able to remember these numbers immediately. The letters a to h and numbers 1 to 8 are listed on the bottom of the chessboard. Since these letters and numbers will be of interest to the child, they are likely to ask questions about them. While explaining to the child about this subject, we can say that every square on the chessboard has a name, and that these letters and numbers are written there so that we can learn the names of these squares easily. We can also teach the names of squares such as a2 and b4 by showing their locations on the chessboard. For young children who have not yet learned to read and write, this issue can be left for later periods. If our child can read and write, the first thing to learn is to read the letter first and then the number.

After placing our child right across from us and placing the chessboard between us, we will ask the child to raise his right hand. We will then tell him to touch the lower right corner of the chessboard with his raised right hand. If the square touched by the child is white, the chessboard is correctly placed. The process of raising the hand and touching the corner is repeated by the mother or father, and the child is provided to reinforce what he has learned by obtaining confirmation from the child that it is correct.

The game starts by leaving the color selection of the chess pieces to the child. He is asked to collect all the stones of the chosen color to his side. You will also collect your own stones for yourself. Before starting the game, we will introduce the chess pieces to the child.

Yes, our child has now learned about the chessboard. In my next article, I will talk about how to introduce chess pieces to our child.

I hope you found my article useful. Thank you for reading.

Stay with love…

12
$ 1.85
$ 1.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Jelena
+ 7
Sponsors of ErdoV
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Teaching, Chess, Child, Game, Play

Comments

I love your idea about milk stones and chocolate stones. 😊 It can really attract children to meet the game through fun and start developing a love for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I think it might be of interest to children. Merci Jeka :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chess is an incredible game of mindset and strategy, and as I have mentioned in my previous comment on "Teaching my child how to play chess 1" that i love chess. I'm glad that you posted another article with similar context. Chess is educational and super.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you my friend. This series of articles will continue for several more articles.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am more than happy to know that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Creative way to teach such a fascinating game, I'm going to take your technique to teach my children about chess, at home we have one and we hardly use it, thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am very happy that you will teach your child chess with this technique :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I heard a lot about chess and I saw that many were interested in it. Even me i love to do the game but Sadly i never know how amd i found it hard, so I just amaze with those people who play well chess

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A very comprehensive game is chess. New moves can be derived by developing many different strategies. Each move affects the course of the game. This gives me great pleasure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That are things I love to see while playing, however I never had the chance

$ 0.00
2 years ago

no doubt, the game will definitely help I'm developing your child's IQ and he would be ahead of his peers in no time. I grew up watching my elder brother playing chess with his friend but he never taught me how. I still don't know how to play chess even though I had grown fond of the game.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can find instructional videos on this subject on Youtube. Trust me, you will learn quickly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah YouTube, I almost forgot, thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I was introduced to chess quite differently 😂. I had to play it with my big brother till I understood the rules and how to get a keen eye. I can't say I could play it properly still but well, I can proudly say I once played chess. Keep up the work, because chess helps a person to think strategically.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chess has really been instrumental in my mental development. Also, I really enjoy playing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

so do i

$ 0.00
2 years ago