A Fabulous Snack Plate #Menemen

10 32
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Snack plate, Menemen, Tomato, Egg, Food, ...

For the last two days, I've been telling you about the food and desserts of my own culture. Of course, there will be people among you who know dishes similar to the ones I've described. After all, we live in the same world and the products we grow are very similar to each other. However, there may be variation between our cooking methods and the amount of ingredients used.

I am a Turk and I am trying to give you examples of Turkish cuisine culture. Turkish cuisine is a cuisine that has a place among other food cultures in the world. I can say that our desserts are especially popular. Besides our other fine dishes, Turkish breakfasts are also quite famous.

Today, I would like to give you a recipe that is one of the popular dishes of Turkish breakfast and is also very simple to prepare.

The name of our dish is “Menemen”

This dish takes its name from Menemen, the town of Izmir, which is located on the Aegean Sea coast of Turkey and is also the 3rd largest city in the country.

Although it takes its name from the west of Turkey, it is an aperitif that is frequently cooked in almost every part of the country. Although it is eaten especially at breakfast, it can be eaten at any meal of the day.

Let's start with the ingredients list, as we always do.

A list of materials

  • 5 medium size tomatoes

  • 1 medium onion

  • 5 green peppers (can be hot according to preference)

  • 3 eggs

  • Black pepper

  • salt

    How is Menemen Prepared?

First, we chop the onion and green pepper into cubes and fry them well in a pan in which we put a few tablespoons of oil. Then we add the tomatoes, which we peel and cut into cubes, to the onion and pepper mixture in the pan. After cooking for a while, mash the half-cooked tomatoes thoroughly with a fork. When we put the tomatoes in the pan for the first time, they will release their own juice. We will continue to cook until this water evaporates.

After the juice of the tomatoes evaporates, we add the eggs we mixed in another bowl to the mixture in the pan and cook. I usually add pepper and salt after I add the eggs.

Under normal conditions, Menemen is ready to eat after the eggs are cooked. The recipe I gave you was a classic Menemen recipe. Some different ingredients can also be used as it is easy to prepare. For example, there are those who argue that Menemen should be without onions. Actually, I prefer without onions, but sometimes I also eat onions. Both are very beautiful.

However, you can add according to your taste to taste the food. When Menemen is mentioned in Turkey, it is seen that many different materials are put into it. Menemen is a snack that allows for many different additions.

For example, after adding the eggs in the last step, you can add some grated cheddar cheese on it to make it melt.

As for my preference, I prefer the ones with plenty of pepper, no onions and cheddar. Along with Menemen, black grapes are also a very good accompaniment.

In another different cooking method, roasted meat can be added to Menemen. Menemen with roasted meat and cheddar is a very popular type of Menemen in our country. You can find it especially in restaurants that serve breakfast.

I hope you liked my recipe. Bon a petite to you in advance. Stay with love.

6
$ 0.11
$ 0.05 from @Lovelyfaith
$ 0.05 from @Jelena
$ 0.01 from @ArteFM
Sponsors of ErdoV
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Snack plate, Menemen, Tomato, Egg, Food, ...

Comments

I felt hungry haha wow. I really having this kind of dish that more on tomatoes, onions and pepper. I do love pepper0🤤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer cayenne pepper too. Both the food is more delicious and the hot pepper is appetizing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤭🤭 it smells delicious.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely delicious. I never got tired of eating Menemen

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love tomato 🍅 ahhh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love it too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a Turkish dish that leads to debates over whether it should contain onions or not. :) I don't like menemen, I prefer omelette.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people just don't know how to taste. There is nothing to do :)-

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It looks very good. Something similar to this dish is being prepared in the south of my country. I love vegetables dishes. I have no doubt that it is delicious. I will prepare it soon. Thanks for the recipe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am very happy that you will try my recipe :) I would like to know the recipe of your country

$ 0.00
2 years ago