Dota 2 or not Dota 2

17 82
Avatar for Endroo
Written by
3 years ago

I have recently begun to explore the incredibly vast world of Dota 2. It's massive.

Learning curve

So huge in fact, that's it's making me wonder whether it wouldn't be more constructive to get a university degree.

You might think I am being frivolous with my comparison, but the depth of knowledge required to even get beyond being a beginner is just mind-blowing.

Getting started?

Sure, it's fun to start learning about last kills and denies, but what comes next, and after that..? The view from the bottom of the hill is so daunting that I wonder whether it's worth beginning this epic journey.

So it got me thinking, I read about a guy who has played 6000 hours and still considers himself a beginner. I don't know, maybe he is just being humble, but that's nearly a year in playing time. That doesn't even take into account all the guides, tutorials and videos he would have had to consume to get to this point. And he is still a beginner...

Will I become an addict?

And then there is the addiction. There are three recommended guides on the steam platform to get you started, and coincidentally, each is a joke about getting addicted and warns against ever starting to learn. Tongue in cheek of course. Maybe?

There is a theory that 10 000 hours of practicing anything, will make you an expert in whatever it is that you are doing.

So that begs the question, should I become a professional in some other arena that will take me further. Golfer or Pro poker player? πŸƒβ™£οΈ At least there is the possibility of making some money... or losing it all...

When you finally reach a reasonable level, then you begin to compare yourself to these young school kids who play 12 hours a day professionally and I guess it's like being a little bit good at golf. You begin to wonder whether you couldn't be a pro golfer. Maybe you could if you put in the hours. But what about the opportunity cost you have lost. What skills do you take with you when you decide that the competition is just too great or your wrist gives in? Can you use those skills in another field?

Pros

So the question for me is, "What will I get out of learning Dota 2?". Would it be more useful to do something more beneficial?

I probably will never be a professional, but I might get the satisfaction of playing a good game with a team of people that think like me. Doing something well has its appeal.

Improved hand-eye coordination? Not sure that that's a life skill to base all this time on by itself.

Compared to something like golf. Real people, real physical skill. There is also the same problem with golf where the elite professionals are so much more skilled than even the best amateurs, that the argument becomes similar. Trying to become a professional in any discipline is extremely hard.

But Dota 2 also requires real skill, just in a different arena, and a seriously quick set of reflexes and really in-depth thought and knowledge in order to play well.

Cons

Versus, "What would I lose by learning Dota 2?"

Time.

Addiction

Relationship strain.

Conclusion

I think the real question is about becoming a professional at anything. Writing, programming, anything. Perhaps it's about the margin for people to make money. Where it becomes a job. Otherwise, its wizard marketing on behalf of the elite out there making us all want to be paid for doing something we love.

Perhaps the best idea is just to play the game and have fun learning it. I do enjoy Dota 2. I will let you know how I am getting on soon.

Sponsors of Endroo
empty
empty
empty

12
$ 7.86
$ 7.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Snezana28
$ 0.01 from @AA-Admiral
+ 1
Sponsors of Endroo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Endroo
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

If you enjoy playing Dota 2 then play it.It is important we are satisfied with what we do if we achive good results even better.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice and positive, thanks @Purebeauty. Do you play Dota 2?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

LOL, and DOTA2 are both great games, although I'm not sure if its too late to join in on the hype of these team based games, and technically i'm more of a solo player. πŸ˜…πŸ‘

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thanks @AA-Admiral. Do you like Fortnite?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah, i kinda like fortnite, though my PC is a potatoπŸ₯”βš™οΈ so i can't play that, i sometimes watch steamers or youtubers. πŸ”₯

also, our internet at home sucks. not suitable for gaming, not low ping.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is the first time I've heard of this game. I'm glad I found out something.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

You should try it, it's like action chess πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha, action chess is a great comparison. sometimes when i watch players at a local NetCafe play LOL (last year), even though I don't play, it gets exciting like a soccer match when the 2 teams are almost tied late game, and then it turns into an epic clash/brawl. πŸ’ͺπŸ”₯

then even more so when both teams have no tower at the nexus at endgame ⚑

$ 0.01
3 years ago

entertaining post...not sure if that was the intent...Lol.

welcome to read.cash! subscribed!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Glad you enjoyed it @CryptoWordsmith. πŸ‘πŸ€”πŸ˜€ and thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

came back to see how you were doing...your article is doing very well!

any new content on its way? or are you playing Dota 2 non-stop these days? =)

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you so much. I have got two new articles in the planning stage. Will attempt to publish them soon. Thanks again @CryptoWordsmith πŸ‘ The @TheRandomRewarder just keeps giving every day. It's lovely.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh, thanks for the tip...sadly i can't reciprocate without trigger tax implications in my region

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Not a problem, thanks for the thought. This read.cash is quite fun. Are you part of its team?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

no, i'm not part of the RC team...i'm just an author posting stuff that i like.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Honestly i dont know how to play dota for me it looks boring game to play πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
3 years ago

What sort of games do you like?

$ 0.00
3 years ago