Just Introvert Things 101

15 51
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Story, Experiences, Journey, ...

A lot of people somehow misunderstood me for this side of me. Sometimes only a few understand, and they misinterpret a lot of things about me.

I am a person who prefer to spend time alone. Social interactions drain me really quickly. Reading these two things along may make you think somehow negatively of me, right?

But I believe some of you out there will understand. Especially, when you're an introvert like me.

Do these qualities surprise you? Or do they puzzle you? If not, do they amuse you? Or do you know people who posses these traits as well? Please let me know. I would love to know.

Although I haven't found the exact percentage, my research has led me to a result that there are more extroverts that introverts. With this said, many people used to think introverts are 'different' or somehow, not that normal.

Thanks to the modern information center we have—Internet—majority of the stigma that surrounded introversion are now not that extreme. It is because, introverts, extroverts, and those that come somewhere in between these two ends, are normal. We are all normal people that has just a bit different orientation of personalities.

And hey! If you are an avid writer here, you are more likely to be an introvert. Haha, don't take what I said as a professional remark. It is just a silly guess of mine. I have this knowledge that introverts prefer sharing their thoughts through writing, than speaking it out.

What do you think? Well, as for me, it hits the spot. I would prefer emails than phone calls, texts than meetings, or letters than direct confession.

Today, I will attempt to present the common things people misinterpret about me being an introvert.

Being too quiet won't bring you anywhere.

Okay, this. I know it very well, "No man is an Island." I know that no one can live without ever needing someone's help, even in the smallest way. I know it.

First of all, I am not 'too quiet.' Just because we introverts do not talk much (as how you see it in the surface) does not, and will never mean we are too quiet, or doesn't talk at all.

I can testify being so talkative to people I have become comfortable with. You can ask my closest circle of friends. I never shut up, as long as the topic interests me, and I know the person well.

Second, being so talkative won't do us any good as well. Balance still matters. I believe that the key to accomplishing something lies within a person's ability to judge whether he has to talk, or he needs to keep the thoughts to himself. This is the perfect advantage.

This misconception about introverts should really be abolished. Introversion doesn't mean "being quiet" entirely.

Introverts rarely have fun.

This one got me laughing real hard. Haven't tried this, too. So far.

Have you heard of something worse? Like, introverts are mood killers, or does not know how to have fun in a party, or gathering? Or this one: You are a boring type of person. Excuse me?

Many people think that I can't be in a party alone, because I will probably just stand in a corner, and watch others dance and sing, and laugh together. Well, that maybe true, but not wholly.

We have our own definition of fun. Whether it is just watching other people having the time of their lives, or laughing with the loud jokes we hear from a distance, or even just singing along the music we happen to like in a party, we have fun. We enjoy parties, too. Duh.

I even remember a fun get-together with my close friends. We had a great time singing our hearts out to our favorite songs in a Karaoke bar. Honestly, I want it to happen again. Sadly, the pandemic won't allow it.

It is true that most of us prefer staying at home as our form of having fun, but trust me, there are still many instances where we like going out, too!

Introverts, like extroverts, are humans, too. And human loves fun things. Who doesn't?

No, you are not an Introvert, you just think you are.

People. I have heard many people say this to me. They judge how sociable I am. I have a really 'approachable demeanor', at least to a majority of the people that see me for the first time.

I get along with people easily. I can talk in front of a large crowd, if I must have to. And I can also spend lots of hours being in a social gathering as well. I have experienced leading a team that involves talking to a lot of strangers, encouraging them to interact with each other. That's me.

Shocking! Then why are you even writing this, when you are obviously not an introvert, Elle?!

You may not believe it, but as an introvert, I can pull off all these activities well. But, everyone, let me tell you this: I try hard everyday. I always do.

Fo extroverts, doing the things I just mentioned maybe easy. Oh my, what simple tasks. You just have to do the talks, it's a normal thing to talk, and to talk. We have mouths to speak.

They are quick to say I am not an introvert because I can do this stuff. They don't realize the efforts and impact it does to us every single time. The amount of massive inner preparation we have to send to every single neuron in our body just to convince it, "You can do it. It's not much of a big deal." Not a big deal, my foot.

I always have to take deep breaths before speaking in front of people. I always have to warm up my voice to not sound obviously shaky, before answering a phone call. Gosh, God knows how I hate phone calls.

Before I talk to a group of people I am tasked to handle, I practice a bit in my mind, I look into the mirror and make sure I put off the best, convincing smile, and I will even use some tricks to make it appear that I am so excited.

People don't see how we do at the end of the day. We all just crumple in our beds, recharging through a session we call "Me time" or "Alone Time".

This is why we have to be more observant of our surroundings. You may want to start asking your friends, too. You might be shocked to know some of them are introverts, it just doesn't show.

You always take most of the things seriously.

I am not a psychologist or anything, but let me add this one on the list, anyway. Some of the people, who have known me for a while, are aware that I am not really fond of small talks.

Of course, I can, but if you're gonna make me choose, I'd rather not. I prefer having a topic where I can exercise my inner principles, or something that captures my interests, and with someone who can take in my, sometimes, unimaginable thoughts I got from somewhere in my brain.

I am really awkward at small talks, is also one big reason. My mind just shuts down after I answer the 'yes or no' questions a person was asking me. I couldn't grasp a quick response to the chitchat which makes it more awkward; the other person just does all the talking. While my mind is just fixed to going home as soom as possible.

It's not that I tend to over-analyze things, I think it's because of my observant nature as an introvert, that I often take some things a little bit deeper, but, I know how to have humor, too.

You are always shy.

Admit it, you used to have this impression that Introverts are generally "Shy" people. At least, now, you know, it is NOT.

Introversion does not equate shyness. Though I do not like being a center of attention, I am not shy about being one, when situations would need me to.

Let me give you an example. Let me quote this one amazing representation:

Eleanor Roosevelt - "Though she a shy and retiring individual, Eleanor Roosevelt "was a woman who gave 348 press conferences as First Lady, was a United Nations delegate, a human rights activist, a teacher, and a lecturer who averaged 150 speaking engagements a year throughout the 1950s."

Source here.

See? There is so much an introvert can do. Let me emphasize, that no type of personality is superior to other. Both have their own strengths and weaknesses. The key is respect.


I think I have showed you the most common things I have heard or experienced as an introverted person myself.

However, I won't overlook the fact that introverts are also described in amazing ways. I personally described introverts like us, as "Rare, but precious." we know introverts comprise a lesser percentage in the world, but there are so many people that made name in history—they are introverts.

Let me put this link again here, where you can see the list of the introverts who are considered able to make a remarkable achievement in their lifetimes. Just a bit of a spoiler, you can see Barrack Obama there, Sir Isaac Newton, and Albert Einstein.

Let me share to you this important thing: There is no pure introvert, or pure extroverted person. We all have our own place in both ends, and that justifies sense of balance.

I can only say I am an introvert because I am more into that side. I also have my extrovert side, but only in a minimal level compared to my introversion.

For example, personally, I also enjoy company of others. I also long for social interactions, but being with myself is the main thing I will always prioritize.

"There is no such thing as a pure extrovert or a pure introvert. Such a man [human] would be in the lunatic asylum."Carl Jung, Swiss Psychiatrist

I also believe no personality is permanent. As humans who undergo various experiences, we can change ourselves voluntarily, or involuntarily.

Maybe I am more inclined to the introversion side now, but I may develop into the other end in the future. We don't know. Nothing is forever here.

Just a quick disclaimer before I end this. My article is not to be taken in a professional manner. You should still make your own share of having research, and help me correct some misunderstanding, of you find any. I made this out of my pure ideas, and some touch of science.

So, that's it for now. I have work tomorrow and I should really sleep. I hope you liked my article today. Have a look at some interesting reads about introversion, if you want. :)

Have a nice day/night, everyone!


Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

I am also active on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

To God be all the glory.

Until Next time!

  • Lead Image Source

  • Please click pictures for sources. :)

7
$ 7.90
$ 7.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @Bjorn
+ 3
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Story, Experiences, Journey, ...

Comments

I am an introvert too and I like being on my own. That is where my creativity comes to me. We introverts are more of a think twice type of people I think. We have great ideas and we don't rush anywhere. Interestingly I wanted to write about this topic too. Very good article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love to read that one! I agree with you. Most of the writers have introverted personalities. :) Thanks for coming by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was thinking about a comparison of introvert and extrovert.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, that would be nice! I am excited to see how you will pull it off. (^0^)/

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm an introvert, I admit. I love always being alone to think about things and when someone destroys my peace, my day is completely ruined. I will then seek another place to hide and continue enjoying my peace. I do have friends but very few and I don't usually hang out with them, but I'm always active on the chatbox, though. Hahaha, I can think of many things to say in writing and texting rather than speaking and voice calls. Most people who know me often called me "weird". Why, is it wrong to have your own universe?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Finally! We are on the same boat! I really understand you. We have our own universe, and I think, that is beautiful. We will really get to see who our real friends are. They are those who understand our traits, and respects our constant need of privacy. Way to go, Introvert! <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep. For all those years, I thought I have so many friends but when I show my true self, I realized I just have only 2 real friends. Those who respect me, understand me, and just go with whatever fun I want.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay. Quality is better than quantity. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks.

Little by little, I feel like we're more like birds of the same feather. 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are! Hahaha! That's why we met here in read.cash :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

keep up with your try hard behavior to get along and I have my friends who are introvert but I have felt that they prefer some persons over other and are really themselves with them. They enjoy company once you start respecting their space.

$ 0.03
User's avatar DM
2 years ago

Yeah. Thanks for understanding us, introverts. We really prefer long time friendships than fleeting ones. Thanks for coming by! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes i have been with my friends who are introverts so i knew a little bit

$ 0.00
User's avatar DM
2 years ago

Good to know. I appreciate it. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago