A Letter Everyone Must Read Pt. 2

0 16
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Story, Thoughts, Journey, Writing, ...

I savored every second as I walked the usual street to home. My eyes cannot leave the majestic view of the night sky.

Today is another special day because something I've been eagerly waiting for has finally visited again: Lunar Eclipse.

Have you seen it, too?

The moon eventually changed into red as the night went deeper. How beautiful. It used to scare me back then. But now, I love the view.

I just love everything about the night. Everything's so serene, so calm, so cozy.

Anyway, my sharing has been too long, I deeply apologize. I consider myself a Moon Child amidst being a Virgo. If that would make sense. LOL.

Today, I am continuing my unfinished letter analysis. Again, the letter that has been close to my heart. The one written by a father to his unborn son, before he died in the battle soon after.

Part 1 is here, please read it first. I will wait for you here. Take your time.

The Letter: A Closer Look, Pt. 2

  • May you seek always and strive always in good faith and high courage, in this world where men grow so tired.

    Keep your capacity for faith and belief, but let your judgment watch what you believe.

To you, who has been reading this letter, I hope you'll always seek righteousness, even if no one else does this. In an era where living in a dishonest way is 'accepted', may you be an upright person that stands out among all the rotten systems of the society.

Always keep a good judgement, one that only believes in what's right.

  • Keep your power to receive everything; only learn to select what your instinct tells you is right.

    Keep your love of life but throw away your fear of death. Life must be loved or it is lost; but it should never be loved too well.

Various kinds of people may offer you bright and beautiful things, but hidden will be their evil intentions. Use your intuition to distinguish what should be accepted, and what should be rejected. Sometimes, those things covered in mud and dirt are the real, useful things in reality.

Too much love of life is dangerous; I am telling you, you'll live but you'll never be happy. Enjoy all your days, as long as you can still wake up and see the beauty of the sunrise every morning. Take care of your health and make every moment matter. But don't take things to the extreme. More often than never, those things we treasure so much fly away more easily.

  • Keep your delight in friend ship; only learn to know your friends.

    Keep your intolerance–only save it for what your heart tells you is bad.

Having a few real colleagues is better than having many fake ones. Keep that in mind. You may meet and get along with a thousand or more people, but filter those who will stay in your life.

Always side to what is right and appropriate. Find the right time to stand up when you have to. Someone has to have courage to point out the mistakes and fix it. At some point in time, that person is you.

  • Keep your wonder at great and noble things like sunlight and thunder, the rain and the stars, the wind and the sea, the growth of trees and the return of harvests, and the greatness of heroes.

    Keep your heart hungry for new knowledge; keep your hatred of a lie; and keep your power of indignation.

Great and noble things are waiting for your appreciation. God made the sun, the thunder, the rain, and many other wonderful things for you, let those make you happy.

Like how everyone should always be, stick to being a good person, and also, one that always seeks for new things. Always love truth, and practice fairness with the best that you can.

  • Now I know I must die and you must be born to stand upon the rubbish heap of my errors. Forgive me for this. I am ashamed to leave you an untidy, uncomfortable world. But so it must be.

    In thought, as a last benediction, I kiss your forehead. Good night to you–and good morning and a clear dawn.

In the ending part of this letter, I can see how the father has accepted his bitter fate, and his expression of how has always felt sorry for his child.

If I only had superpowers, I would go that time and let the child be in the world as a newborn one, even for just a few minutes. I would let the father hold this child into his arms with all the love that would be worth its whole life.

I would let him sing this son a lullaby of farewell, and a benediction for a bright tomorrow.

The last sentence is brief but painful to read. Goodnight, and good morning. Two greetings in advance, all written in that very night alone.

It must have hurt him so bad that his son won't hear these simple greetings an when he gains awareness of its meanings. Alas.

These are my own interpretations of this letter. My only way to appreciate this hero who has been an instrument to this one thing we enjoy now: Freedom.

You may think it must be a hard, or cruel decision to choose country over your family. Please think if this, too. Every single family forms the wholeness of a nation. So, truth be told, these heroes did what they did for their families as well. They did it for the future generations that will be born in their country—to all the families that are to be established.

All their lives are not perished in vain, for we will always be thankful of all their sacrifices and courage. If all of us had that courage, maybe we are all in the military right now. They are really amazing.


As I promised last time, I will attempt to include here your thoughts about the letter. I initiated this with the vain attempt that he, whoever wrote it, may read all of our appreciation to his masterpiece. Here they are.

We also need to appreciate the soldiers who have sacrificed themselves for the country and left behind their families even when they are gone.

From @Princessbusayo

I second the motion, Princess. It's the only thing we can do for them.

Writing a letter knowing that it may be your last, I can't imagine that feeling.

From @meitanteikudo

Indeed, a heart-breaking truth. No one wanted to be in this situation. People just had no other choice. Fate is sometimes a little too much.

I got emotional while reading it too, and I have always felt guilt, but also envy towards those who serve our country. I wish I would have had the bravery and heart to protect the freedom I so easily take for granted. I sometimes feel ashamed for not doing my part, but I feel so thankful and grateful for those who served so that I could enjoy the life I live.

From @Vibration101

You said the words I was not able to voice out really well. Thank you so much.

It really moved me. Reading the letter made me think of my father. Now, I miss him.

From @fredyzza07

Thank you, dear, for sharing me something about yourself. I know your father is in a good place now. I hope you'll be happy always, even your father is not around anymore.

The letter from 1939, imagine the girl waiting for her partner. And reading the pledges her partner wasn't able to give. It's just...

From @mixx

I feel for you, girl. I have spent a few days not getting over the letter of this guy for her lover, that may have not probably been read by the woman. Poor lovers.


Thank you so much for all of you who have shared your thoughts in my previous article. If you still want to add more of your insights, we can talk about it more in the comment section here. To be honest, words will never be enough to express our heartfelt gratitude for these heroes.

Final Thoughts

I have never been so appreciative of history until now. I can not say, however, that I have fallen in love with it, since I think it would be an overstatement.

However, we people in the present, are able to witness such events and memories, thanks to History. Writing works wonders, right? I told you.

Imagine if this soldier just kept these words to himself. We won't be able to get a glimpse of what is in the mind of a man who is both a servant of his country, and a father of a family. How beautiful, how remarkable.

I have said this as one of my replies on the comments in the first part of this article, but let me reiterate here again, my simple wish and hopes.

If reincarnation really exists, I hope these people will get the most benefits from it. I hope they will be rewarded with a life free of such big, overwhelming responsibilities. I hope, that in this life, these people can live life to the fullest, without any worries about their lives and safety.

I want them to live again as persons who will just now spend their time with the people they cherish, as much as they want. I want them to be happy fathers who will finally see their children grow this time, teaching them about life personally, and not rushed.

I have made a short letter, too. I made it brief as possible. I just tried to put myself in the shoes of that son who has grown. What if the son was able to read the letter for him? What could he have said? That, I don't know. I will share to you what I have here.

A Letter to a Nameless Hero:

I am writing this with a heavy heart. I am not sure if you can read this response, but I still try. And I will just leave it to heavens. I hope this would reach you.

Right now, I have come out into the world, and I already had a fair share of the life you wanted to tell me about. I have some few good and bad experiences, shed some tears, but shared a lot of laughters as well.

I would not want to accept your apology, not because you don't deserve it, but because you have nothing to be sorry about. I supposed that, if you just had a choice, you would have done things the other way around.

I admire your bravery and courage. It pains me to the core how the last few months or years in your life was just full of worries, fears, hardships and pain you don't deserve. Father, you fought well. And you deserve my salute.

This world you left has changed so much since then, but I still keep into my heart all your words of wisdom. These pieces of advice will never grow old for sure, and I believe it will still be revealed unto all future sons and children in the world.

You are loved dearly. Your life will always be a precious, beautiful example of both the immense love of a father, and the courageous patriotism of a hero.


Hello there! I am thankful for you reading all the way to here. I hope I have touched your heart in some way. :)

I welcome you in my world here in read.cash, and would very much love your support in my humble writing journey.

You may want to check out some of my previous articles:

Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

I am also active on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

  • Lead Image Source

  • Please click photos for sources. :)

7
$ 0.27
$ 0.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Story, Thoughts, Journey, Writing, ...

Comments