A Complicated Four-Letter Word

25 56
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

As someone who hasn't been inlove yet, I want to gain an understanding of this kind of love.

This is the kind of love everyone knows about: True love between two people. The love that gives you butterflies in your stomach. Makes you willing to reach for the stars, or steal the sun.

I don't understand it. Are people who are inlove experiencing some abnormalities?

Imagine butterflies are really flying around in your tummy. Scientifically, it is ridiculous; no butterfly would survive in someone's stomach.

Come again? Reaching for the stars? Look, they just look so tiny because they are light years away from us, but these are large bodies of gas, I mean pretty large. Look, the sun is a star, too, and it is even bigger than the earth we are living in! Who would dare touch the stars? One would've died even before he reaches the atmosphere unscratched.

Of course, everything I just said are products of sarcasm. To all people inlove out there, please don't take it seriously.

Love really makes people do impossible things just for the ones they love. It takes a lot of courage to sacrifice one's life for the sake of another, and I think the strongest source of the willingness and courage is love itself.

Love is indeed a complicated word, only four letters, but has no definite meaning until now. Don't get me wrong here, though. If you google it, you can see millions of love definitions.

Well, as for me, no words nor universe could ever explain this thing. It isn't just a feeling, neither a state, it's a noun. An indescribable noun. Period.

You may wonder why I am suddenly babbling about love here, when I already stated above that I haven't experienced romantic love yet. Haha, I wonder too. There are different types of love, and, I think you already know where I will focus on today.

We can sometimes recognize someone who's inlove. The way a man's eyes shine like no other when those orbs are focused on to the love of his life. The sincerest smile, full of affection we can see through her whenever she's with him. It's really unbelievable how two persons, initially considered strangers in the beginning, eventually found home in each other's arms. Does it interest you as well?

Who would have known a person would be comfortable showing his/her inner side to that lucky one? I personally would just not let myself be vulnerable in front of another person. For some wonderful reason, love makes these unexplainable things possible.


"I have something to say when I see you—
I think of a person when I see you.
When I first saw you that one day
You looked at me, like the sun, like destiny,
That one person on that beautiful day.."

Wow. This thing, too. Love at first sight.

Is it really true? Does it really happen? Like suddenly hearing the angels from heaven singing, or the surroundings become brighter with some cherry blossoms falling, when the person finally meets the one?

I mean, pretty much all of the love story-centered movies have shown these occurrence always.

"Even on a dark moonlit winter night when I saw you,
Shine clearly with the beautiful stars
This is dreamlike love don't you know yet?
You always change me,
I'm happy to be here"

There has to be some kind of a spell here. How powerful love is, as just a mere sight of the love of your life suddenly erases all the hurt, and stuff that gave you a bad day.

How worth it are all the exhausting activities and workloads, since another person's smile is enough to re-charge one's energy.

I have also heard about "Love being able to change a person."

While I know this doesn't happen everytime, I just remembered a story I heard from my friend back in my highschool days.

She said her mother has met a guy in the past. A guy that is considered a black sheep in the family. This guy refuses to go to school, and goes to play games instead. Until one day, he meets a girl.

This girl made his cold heart warm, and inspired him to become a better person. When this guy and the girl finally pursued a relationship, the guy immediately abandoned all his vices, and became a good father in the end.

You might have heard of a similar story, too. Sometimes, a person just needs love to bring out the real good in him/her. Though this doesn't happen to everyone, it's still remarkable how love works mysteriously like this.

"Lalalalala Lalalalala
I miss you more today."

Why is it that even I just saw him yesterday, I already miss him? It feels like forever since we last talked and I want him to be here now.

I think many can relate to this. The longing for that someone you love every single second of the day. It's like a half of you is missing when that person is away.

Love can bring about a strong inner connection between two people, an intimate bond that makes their relationship stronger, and sweeter. And that connection, interestingly, is just exclusive for that couple alone. It's hard to comprehend, but it's just like that.

"I keep laughing when I see you—
The excitement that comes to mind when I see you,
I was hidden by the clouds abovе;
But you look at me with you heart, love so sweet
So bеautiful I can feel it."

Nothing can ever see through someone's real persona but a real love, maybe. Others can judge someone, based on how they see that person on the surface.

But they say real love comes in, with ever so understanding eyes that see through the mask worn by that significant other. While others see a wrecked mess, love sees beauty; others think of slanders, love of care and welfare so selfless.

"When I see you, my feelings in my frozen heart
Bloom like pretty flowers in warm spring,
This is dreamlike love don't you know yet?
You always change me
I'm happy to be here."

Winter Pansies, a winter flower. :)

Even the sun sometimes gives up in melting the glaciers in Antarctica. But how enduring love could be, as it could soften even the hardest of hearts, melt the frozen ones, cultivate something beautiful there, and let it grow like a full-blown garden no one has ever seen before.

Imagine a flower blooming in the middle of the winter? Sounds far from reality, but it exists, doesn't it? Like love, indeed.

"In the same time
Always stay with me
Until I can protect you from the pain
You’re my only love from heaven.."

This is puzzling. Everyone has their own pain to deal with, how can he/she even think of involving and helping someone else deal with it? Wow.

It really baffles me, but I admit, I find this beautiful. Maybe love is really supposed to be this beautiful.

And what? "Love from Heaven?" Oh, he did not just say, she is an angel! Gosh! It's so cringy—wait, my heart's fluttering a bit.

"All of the times I talk to you as I look at you,
Feel like forever, it makes me stop in place.
A love like a dream, don't you know my heart
You always change me
I'm happy to be here."

Okay, I think this was what my classmate meant, when she said that time is so fast when she's with her boyfriend, but it flows so slow, when they are separate from each other.

Love somehow tries to defy time, at least in this context. If only the world could stop for a bit when the lovers are together, so saying goodbye won't be too soon.


Love is really something. I have never become as curious as today, on what love has for people to be drawn into it effortlessly, making them do weird, or even unexpected things just for their loved ones.

However, I think I will never ever decode the secret code love has. And it's what makes it beautiful—the element of unpredictability.

What I broke down today as a way to understand love a little more, is a song by Tomorrow X Together.

The title is "Love Sight", it is a Korean Song that served as the soundtrack for the K-Drama titled "Doom at your Service."

Park Bo Young and Seo In Guk are the lead characters here.

This song, I think, is beautiful, in that it depicts the realness of love, the sincerity, gratitude, and longing along with it.

There are a lot out there that we consider a love song. It isn't those people that are inlove who only can listen to these songs.

We, single people, have ears, too. LOL, these songs make our heart flutter, too. Like this song; I think I have made a Spotify playlist just to listen to it repeatedly. The melody, the emotions, and even the lyrics are all on point.

Maybe, just maybe, if I ever get to be in a relationship with someone, I gotta sing this song for him at least once.


Now, I think you now understand why I am talking about love in the middle of the year. It is not even Valentines' Day, but it just felt right to talk about it.

I mean, love should be celebrated everyday right? It is what makes this world a better place, to some, even the reason why they wake up in the morning.

To some, love is the source of their happiness and inspiration. And to others, it's something that gives them thrills.

If you want to re-read the article while listening to the song, you can play this video I embedded from Youtube.

I must say, not everyone maybe meant for a romantic kind of love. We have witnessed, at least once in our lives, those people that remained single until they got old. Are they not happy? I guess they still are.

Having a significant other may not be direction other people are pursuing in their lives, and I think, that's okay. It's their lives, and they know what makes them happy, even it's not a who.

As I've said, there are different kinds of love. Choose where you want to be, it's your life. Nevertheless, I wish you a happy love life, full of butterflies in your stomach, or flowers blooming inside your heart, and a pink, hearty background wherever you go. (Haha!)

This is my second entry for @Peter-Molnar's writing challenge, #InspiredBySongs . I had a good time. To everyone there, I hope you join this challenge, too. :)

Enjoy love! It's free.

Thanks a lot for reading. To all those supportive readers of mine, I always cherish and thank you all. <3 Giving you a virtual finger heart. You rock!


I am always open for your support to my humble read.cash journey. Welcome to my world!

Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

I am also active on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

  • Lead Image Source

  • Please click the photos for sources. :)

11
$ 0.17
$ 0.05 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
$ 0.03 from @zellypearl
+ 3
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

I am speechless really. I mean how could someone who said she hasn't experienced love before, know all these things about love and then explaining and analyzing in detail. So speechless! All the illustrations you used here are somewhat true you know? But I wanna ask if you don't mind. Does it mean you have never loved someone before? Or a crush or anything? Like you have never been attracted to someone before?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my. I am really sorry for replying so late. Thanks a lot for the compliment. To answer you, yes, I had some crushes too, until now. Hahaha! But it did not go deeper until I could call it love. All those are just fleeting feelings. XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. It's okay. Fleeting feelings? Well it happens most times

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. And it's common! People having this should not go for a serious relationship, it may hurt them both.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you are right

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always vision love as the most meaningful term/word of all. Coz people do have their own description and perspective onto that word. But as someone who hasn't even experience falling inlove with someone, love is a mystery I wanted to solve. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it will remain as a mistery though. Even to people who are inlove as well. You can never explain love, in a definite way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love is so beautiful. When u love the right person and that person loves u in return. We can only learn to love by loving.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, maybe. Now I know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe in love at first sights. It happened to me before and the good thing was, that it not only happened from my side, but from her side too. Here is the story in short. We had a new year's eve party at out home. Some friends were invited and they came with people, who I did not know. They rang the bell and I opened the door. This girl was there standing outside with my friends. We looked at each other's eyes and something happened in that moment. I cannot explain. They came in and we started to chat. I have never seen this girl before in my life. I felt her so close to me. We had a relationship. I know it happened too fast, but we could not resist.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow. Like the one I see in movies 😍 Thanks a lot for sharing this. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fictitious And Fantastic Work it's really UnDeRsTtAnDiNg and more clearly describe about love ... It's meaningful words and make us more Attractive

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks :) And it appears that your comment is spam, I wonder why.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been there and I am enveloped in it and all the metaphors come to reality once you start feeling it. Its a sense of belongingness, tenacity greater than any feeling in this world and it will make you do seemingly impossible feats. I myself have felt it. As you mentioned, star definitely are far away celestial bodies but you literally find motivation from beautiful things around you when you feel true love. I never knew love songs can be this powerful, once you are in love, you can feel every single line of them. And as you mentioned, we start missing them just the moment we leave even though we have been together for uncountable days. Meeting and sharing develops a sense of completeness in each other in case of true love and it becomes a void if you leave their side and look forward to get to them again asap. Also, you will try to go beyond what you really can always and will put everything on line for her one smile. History is lawyer itself for this unexplainable natural phenomenon and I can go on talking about it for like always. I love how butterflies in stomach signify sweet nervousness in the initial or intimately close phases of love. Its so delicate that it gives you sensations in your gut. Imagine a couple about to have a baby, Oh my god they surely are gonna feel crazy sensations in there and yeah this is pretty similar to many other big moments of your life when you get nervous but is different in the attitude as its always positive. Love is pretty strange but having it will make you feel like you actually have earned the most valuable possession in your life.

$ 0.02
User's avatar DM
2 years ago

Wow, what an insightful comment! Thank you for clearing out some of my confusions and proving all the amazing things love can do. Keep that love going! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

anytime

$ 0.00
User's avatar DM
2 years ago

Nice love story sometimes it hurts but love is the most wonderful feeling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you on that. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right, it is a simple word yet difficult to understand.

I enjoyed your article!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, Kushina! I love your name, btw . I am humbled by your compliments. Thanks a lot for being here! ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a newbie here and reading your articles inspires me to write too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True love, unfortunately, is not a feeling nor is it romantic. Rather, it is a decision that comes with hard work. The feelings and the romance will fade over time. But when you decide to love someone and be with that person, it will require sacrifice, humility, and yes, even pain.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh.. so you mean to say, love is not a feeling, it is a decision.

Did I get this one right? If I did, thanks a lot. Your input helped me understand more about love. I am inexperienced in this field, though I have a very few people I love dearly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are many forms of love. But if you mean the one about a person to spend the rest of your life with, then it will mean making a decision to love that person no matter what. It may start out as a feeling, but for it to last, then it will take more than that. Just think of an old couple, say in their 70s or 80s, but you see them walking hand-in-hand still... And they still look at one another with devotion.., that is true love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed true. True love is powerful, and not for people who can't commit well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago