In due time; it will work out fine.

1 15
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

November 7, 2000

Grandma always read her folktales every night. Flora would crawl into Granny's lap, with a cute curvy smile slightly formed on her face; as she listened to Granny's stories, riddles and lullabies.

As Flora aged, they had to find another place of residence. Time; spent with Grandma became limited, limited to only Christmas holidays.

Today was another night; another night to tell and hear a story.

This time around, Flora wasn't crawling, she was actually a decade older than the 9 months old baby of years ago.

Flora hurried up; hastily munching into her supper, today was a very special day... And that was because; after this particular night, Flora won't see Granny till the next Christmas holiday.

Flora hurried up to where Granny sat in; waiting. Today's story was very much different from the others, granny decided to tell Flora a more educative story. A non-fictional story; an advice for Flora to learn from.

It went thus:

Image Source: Unsplash

In due time, but for the meantime; follow the process.

Granny took her time to illustrate to Flora how a child is conceived and given birth to, she spoke about the pains the mother of the child might face; from conception stage to delivery stage.

She began: "Nine months, it takes; for a woman to deliver her child, nine months of waiting," granny said: "when I wanted to give birth to your mother, I was a bit tired of the process, I just wanted this child to quickly come out, so I can finally have her to myself, all cuddled up in my arms, but I had to be patient," she said: "I had to be patient; embracing the waiting period, looking at the big picture": she said empathetically.

After delivery, the baby just kept crying for everything, at first it was hard for me to understand your mother's language of tears, but with time I had to adjust, but then I started wishing; wishing she'd immediately call me "Mummy," and her dad; "Daddy." But again; I got none of that so easily, I had to wait for few more months before she started speaking incoherently. Oh!, The joy I felt the very day she said the word: "M..u..mm..y"

When your mother(Beatrice), started schooling, it was as if the whole English and everything about it, should just enter into her brain, I wanted; so badly to start hearing her speak, spell and say things correctly. I wanted; so badly to see her write "a - z," without missing out on a letter, I wanted her to write 1 to infinity; correctly, without a second glance. At a point in time; her mates were all doing better than her in school; with your mother lagging so far; behind. I wanted her to just understand things immediately, at some point, I started arguing with her teachers; to put in more effort. But it just didn't go that way, it followed the gradual process. Oh! I didn't say; but it took me ten years into my marriage before I could conceive your mother; who is my only child. I waited that long, I almost had it all crumbling to shreds, I wanted to have a child so quickly, I was tired of the process, but I had to wait." Granny swallowed saliva and sighed before she continued. "Nne, you're aging so fast, but I don't want you to be hasty with things, take note of time and use it wisely, always remember; everything follows a process, your friends might be doing better and probably far better than you but still, don't ever compare. Just keep up with the good and positive aim you're shooting at; with time, you'll get to meet your target."

Flora nodded her head in the affirmative as granny gave her a tight embrace, she whispered a short poem, a poem she had written down; back into the years she was in the waiting room; crying for the fruit of the womb. She whispered that poem into Flora's ears, it reads:

Don't feel bad,

Don't feel sad

Be happy and smile,

For in due time;

Everything would work out fine.

"Thanks Granny," Flora whispered back and tightened herself into the embrace.

Image Source: Unsplash

That night; marked the last night Flora ever saw Granny.

Present Day:

"Miss Flora Fiora, for the death of Mr Brooks and Miss Doris, your fraudulent act and the damages you caused to their children, here's my verdict." You're hereby sentenced to life imprisonment, no bail would be issued out; this time"

Court!!!!!

Tears rolled down Flora's cheeks, she knew that this time around, she won't be granted a bail, she whispered inaudibly: "I'm sorry, Granny."

Image source: Unsplash.

Thanks for reading this short story of mine.

  • Lesson learnt:

"Life; follows a gradual process, time waits for no man... But then; as long as you're doing what is right, keep doing it, keep up with it, don't relent, don't give up and always remember: "IN DUE TIME, but in the MEANTIME, follow the PROCESS"

Don't let oppression and depression decide the angle in which you drive your motion, don't feel bad when you see people progressing, don't allow it weigh you down.

  • Remember this poem:

  • Don't feel bad,

  • Don't feel sad,

  • Be happy and smile,

  • For in due time;

  • Everything would work out fine.

Just keep up with the positive thing you are doing, one day you'll make it and all this issues; piercing your heart now, would just be stories and mere stories to tell others.

Appreciation: To all my readers, subscribers, commenters, upvoters, likers, sponsors; amongst all others. I say a big "Thanks."

Disclaimer: All words, written here are mine, no form of plagiarism. Any similarity in my choice of words and other articles; you might have come across, are mere coincidences.

6
$ 0.11
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Giddyboy
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Comments

It is well written.

$ 0.00
2 years ago