How learning English has made me free

4 40
Avatar for Elisabet
1 year ago

How I change my mind about English

English is not my first language, but my second. I started to learn it in elementary school but didn't take it seriously until I was 21 years old. I knew something, but not enough. Was because of the Covid-19 pandemic, that I became more interested in the language and had more time to learn it. In the beginning, it all was about having jobs and study opportunities. But, quickly it becomes a personal thing more than a professional one.
I found myself loving the language and the culture that involves it. I quickly get the ability to understand my favorite shows and YouTube videos in English, without subtitles, and with that perceive the essence of the language, the jokes, the puns, the smart phrases that don't exist in my language, whether they make sense to me or not. Nevertheless, above all things, I could finally feel overwhelmingly free, and that was something that I had never expected before.

The ways English has made me free

English has made me free, not only because potentially allows me to achieve new goals in my personal career, and with that, it can bring me some financial freedom, but also in the next two ways.

Free of judgment, prejudice, and censorship

I live in a country where basic human rights like free speech are a dream. I don't use to get very political or controversial in my writings. However, I feel so free to write whatever I want and know that is perfectly ok because those who are around me and the people from my country (almost anyone) can't understand what I say.
I know that I'm not completely free of judgment, because there are so many people who actually can understand me and criticize me, especially because of my level of English. But is more a psychological thing, when I write in English I feel a new person, who has the capacity of traveling anywhere far away from all I know and that feeling is amazing.

Free for learning

I have come to realize that English is not really a goal, but a tool for achieving my goals. One of that goals is to learn new things. There are so many learning resources in English that you can't find in any other language: YouTube videos, papers, articles, books, courses, etc. And is amazing having the capacity of accessing to that information. More than that is great being able to find that information because of your English knowledge and the ability to do research in that language.

I have learned a lot of things thanks to knowing English. For example, I finally can understand how the Youtube algorithm works, and have enough motivation to start my Youtube channel. I found read.cash reading in English in Medium, as well. I have also made courses in Coursera that have not Spanish subtitles. And I'd mention a lot of more things, that I'll bring up in new posts.

Sponsors of Elisabet
empty
empty
empty

I hope you have found interesting this article, if so, let e know in the comments and consider subscribing

5
$ 4.57
$ 4.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Nyctofiles
$ 0.01 from @CloudWM
Sponsors of Elisabet
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Elisabet
1 year ago

Comments

English is considered as the universal language. I am not really good at it too but I am trying to learn it little by little. Learning English is fun, not until I sometime messed up my sentences while speaking or writing. Hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The same happens to me and it's ok, making mistakes is necessary for learning

$ 0.00
1 year ago

English is also not my first language it's my second language iam also learning it but still iam weak in writing and reading hopefully one day I will be writing like you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks, it's all about have patience and consistency. Keep going!

$ 0.00
1 year ago