How I became fluent in English without studying

2 25
Avatar for Elisabet
1 year ago

I have studied English in an inconsistent way for several years, but I never saw real results. It seemed to be very hard to get fluent in that language, to have enough proficiency to communicate almost anything. 

Then, the Covid-19 pandemic came, and a found myself with a lot of time for doing new things. So, I started to learn English, but this time I realize that I didn't need to actually study, but I needed to have an immersion process. 

The results?

In less than 2 years a feel perfectly confident with the English language. I can speak, read, listen and write without too much struggle.

So, this is how I did it.

YouTube videos

First things first... YouTube has been an amazing resource in my learning process. I started to consume educational content about language learning in English and I ended up watching videos about a lot of different topics. 

The thing is I have realized that when I see content that I'm interested in I'm more motivated to keep learning. It's been amazing to discover new creators and acquire knowledge that doesn't exist in my mother language.

If you want an article about the best channels for learning English and who are my favorite YouTubers let me know in the comments.

American series

I came to love American culture through American series. I have seen a lot of episodes of Full house and Chicago Med on YouTube, and I binge-watched Friends two times in a row. I'm currently watching The Big Bang Theory.

American series, as well as English series, are great for language learning for several reasons. First, because it's an enjoyable experience, which guarantees you're gonna keep going. Second, you can see how the language work in a simulation of real-life situations, which gives you a higher linguistic competence. 

English books

So, when I felt like I'm ready I started to read in English. I already had read some blogs, but nothing so substantial.  I first read Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, which was a wild experience because the style of this author is not particularly easy. Then, I read Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers, which has easier grammar and vocabulary. However, I truly enjoyed both readings and learned a lot because of them.

English apps

I have talked about the apps I used for learning English in another article you can check here.

My favorite app is Duolingo, where I also learned Portuguese. This app is amazing for the competition that motivates the students.

The other app I love is Cake, because it has a lot of videos and explanations, and it's like a game as well. Both apps motivate you to keep your streak, which is very helpful.

To sum up, you can learn English without actively studying as I do. I assure you that having fun it's the best way to learn.

I wish this article was helpful, if so let me know in the comments.

Sponsors of Elisabet
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 0.44
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @JenThoughts
Sponsors of Elisabet
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Elisabet
1 year ago

Comments

That was a great way to learn english. Congratulations.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago