3 productivity mistakes to avoid when planning your tasks

0 26
Avatar for Elisabet
1 year ago

So, I'm a mess, I have to recognize it. Maybe is that the real reason why I'm so obsessed with productivity and time management. The deal is that I've made a lot of mistakes in my productivity journey. I struggle a lot with getting things done. 

However, my biggest mistakes in productivity occur when planning. For that reason, I would like to summarize three of the worst mistakes I've made when I tried to plan my work for you to avoid them as I also have learned to do. 

Mistake no. 1: Too much planning and little action

This is my worst weakness. I'm a planner, not a worker and I need to acknowledge that. So, let's say I start my day full of energy and with the entire purpose of advancing in my work. I quickly grab a paper and a pencil, or my phone, and start to write down everything I need to do.  But that is not all, I also schedule everything for the next three weeks which, of course, isn't realistic. 

What happens?

Well, I lost like two or three hours of planning and at the end of the day, I don't have enough focus to do the work. On top of that, it's very likely I'm going to forget my entire planning for the next few days. 

Mistake no. 2: Having unrealistic goals

This has a close relation to the last mistake. I've found myself planning to write 4000 words a day for my novel, which is madness.

The thing with having such huge goals is damaging to our mental health. At first, you feel unstoppable and amazing, but that doesn't last. As soon as you can't accomplish what you have planned, you're going to feel like a complete loser.

Our goals need to be measured in time and never in longings. For that reason is impossible to have an idea of what is going to take you doing something if you don't track the time while doing it. 

My recommendation for you is to do this. For example, if you are a writer, first measure the time in which you write 1000 words, and do it more than once, because it always depends on what you need to write. When having an average of your writing time, you can schedule your next writing sessions. 

Mistake no. 3: Not planning at all

Usually, when I fail planning, I just let things be and don't look at my schedule at all. HUGE MISTAKE! If you don't have a clear idea of what's going on in your day, there's a great chance that you finish doing nothing. Just remember, not task in your calendar make you a free day when maybe there are important things to do.

Sponsors of Elisabet
empty
empty
empty

If you liked this post let me know in the comments.

3
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Wrinkle
Sponsors of Elisabet
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Elisabet
1 year ago

Comments