The Death of My Father

26 65
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Stories

Play Dance With My Father by Celine Dion while reading this for added feels.


We can only have one father in this world and I want mine back.

There are 7 of us in the family- my father, my mother, my 2 sisters, my 2 brothers, and me being the youngest.

We weren't born with a silver spoon. My parents did not come from wealthy families. My mother was only a High School graduate. Although my father was able to finish his college degree, he wasn't able to land a white-collar job. He doesn't have a permanent job. But he knows a lot of works to do to provide for the needs of his family. He was competent.

He is a farmer. Sometimes, he is also a construction worker. When he has enough time, he would go to the mountain that his parents left to look for stuff that he could sell to have money in his wallet. When I was still young, he used to work as a janitor in the school we used to go to. Then, he became a security guard in a department store in the city. He jumped from one job to another, but after realizing that his basic salary won't provide the things our family needs, he dropped a resignation letter and settled as a farmer.

Being the last child to be born, I wasn't able to witness how my father was to my other siblings during their younger days. However, my memory might not be that vivid, but I remember how he was to me and to the five of us, six actually.

When I was still a child, I remember how my father would work hard just to acquire the things I and my siblings need in school. Every time we excel in class, he would be so proud and share the news with his friends, colleagues, and siblings. He was happy every time we achieve something. During graduation and recognition day, he would be there cheering for us whenever our names are called to go up the school's stage to receive our medals and ribbons.

My father would buy us gifts and toys as an appreciation and reward for our efforts in school and in our education. It might not be as grand as what other parents buy for their kids, but the things he bought for us mean a lot.

As I grew up, I witnessed how hard life was for him. Seeing his other siblings getting a better and more comfortable life while he feels like he is still stuck from where he was decades ago breaks his heart and maybe his ego too. He is trying, I know for sure, to make our life better and to provide a more comfortable lifestyle. But he feels like none of his efforts are paying off.

Then, one by one, my siblings started to step foot into their college lives. I was still in High School when my brothers and sisters began to move out and live in a boarding house near their university. I was left in the house with my parents. I saw how they shed tears every week trying to figure out where they are going to get money for the allowances of my siblings. They had to apply for loans from the banks and even to loansharks just for them to have money to send to them.

Some couple of years later, my siblings already got their degrees and landed their dream jobs.

While they are enjoying the fruit of their efforts in getting to where they are now, my parents, especially my father, are still struggling to figure out how to pay the debts they acquired just to send them to college. My parents never asked for any financial support from my siblings because they knew it was a part of their responsibility to give them proper education.

My siblings started to buy their dream house and car, invested their money in properties, traveled inside the Philippines, visited a lot of countries, had some vices, living their best lives.

I began to hate them when they overlooked the fact that they wouldn't be able to go anywhere if not for my parents. It felt like they were untouchable.

Then my father got sick. He was getting older but he was still working so hard to pay their debts. For someone who was already in his 60s, he was supposed to be just staying at home, but he wasn't. He was working tirelessly.

One afternoon, I received a phone call from our neighbor that my father suffered from a stroke. I went home as fast as I can, called the ambulance, brought him to the hospital, but the doctor declared he was already dead on arrival.

I felt the world's weight behind my back as I hear those words. At that moment, a cold breeze embraced me as if saying, "It's okay. Everything will be alright."

One by one, I called my siblings to tell them the sad news.

When they came home, they even had the audacity to fight over who's going to shoulder the expenses for his funeral.


Author's note:

I don't know if this story makes some sense or if you were able to grasp the lesson I want to impart but I hope you did. 😹

Never take your parents for granted, be grateful for all their sacrifices, show them you appreciate their efforts, give back and love them while they're here. Life is too short. We'll all die. So cherish every moment with your loved ones.


I was supposed to publish this last Father's Day but I was short of time to finish the story and I had some important matters to attend to.

Still, Happy Father's Day. 💙

15
$ 22.21
$ 21.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 6
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Stories

Comments

I am sorry beh ah, pero nakakagalit yun mga kapatid mo. I don't know them peraonally pero wala man lang silang utang na loob sa father mo. Jusko.. Sorry pero un ang naramdaman ko habang binabasa ko to. So sorry for your lost.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ehehe Story lang po ito pero nakakagalit nga ung mga kapatid ko kung naging kapatid ko sila. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also know the feeling of having nothing. Mama was a high school undergraduate and Papa was just able to finish Grade 5 in elementary. They don't have a permanent job, so to be able to help them in our financial needs, I study more harder and start working my ass out.

And, I'm sad to read your story, Ate. It made me wanna cry but I stopped myself because I am outside the house. Like what was said in the comment section, I was also afraid of losing one of them (our parents). Really scared, so bad. :(

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Awww. Same here. I also know how it feels to have nothing kaya werk werk werk lang din para makatulong. Hindi ko din kaya na mawala sila. Di ko pa kayang mabuhay ng wala sila. 😿

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a made-up story, but the message it's there. I lost my dad fifteen years ago, and I still miss him every day. I'm very grateful to have had him. Just yesterday, I posted an article that I also would have liked to post on Father's Day. But a true story of the most cherished lesson I got from my dad. ;) So enjoy your parents if you have them. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Awww. 😿 I still have my parents with me and yes, will do that. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw, I missed my Dad a lot :/ I also write a song for him using the beat "Dance with my father"

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Awww. Kakaiyak siguro nyan. 😿

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're so good at writing short stories. I always thought that it is really your reality that you shared to us. Hahaha. Nevertheless, it was sad. I can't imagine losing my parents. This happens in real life also na mag-aaway pa ang mga magkakapatid. It's disrespectful to the father who lost his life.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Awww. Salamatsu. Hahaha 😹 Totoo. Lahat pag-aawayan, lalo na siguro kung mayaman ung tatay at madaming iiwan. Hayyss. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakalungkot lamg na nangyayari din tu in real life ano, tsk. Yong imbes na magluksa inuna pang iisipin ung gastusin. Talang ang lalayo na narating nila. Di naman sila makakarating kung asan sila ngayon kung hindi dahil sa parents nila diba. Nakaka durog ng puso. Tssk.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh. Nakakalimutan kung saan sila nanggaling. Nakakagigil. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag ganyan naman ang anak, sarap itakwil haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is truly happening, children seemed to forget their parents sacrifices ngay after they were able to live the life they have at the moment. The lesson is very much true... ngem kunak nu true to life story jiji

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Totoo. Daming ganyan eh. Hahaha 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought this was a real story. Indeed we should treasure our parents.. nice story btw!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe naman... Magbabangayan pa sa gagastos sa funeral.. Pro alam mo lage ako naiiyak jan sa song na yan...lalo na nung mga time na nangbabae si papa.. Ung feeling ko wala kmi papa.. Buhay nga pro hndi namin feel ang presence nya..😥

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh. Nakakagigil sila. 🤧 Hahaha Sakit naman nyarn. Buti okay na kayo ngayon noh. 😿

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Medyo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was crying while reading this story as I am a Papa's girl. And I promised to my father that I will not leave him alone but the only problem is that my bahay na Kasi kami which is Yung bahay NG parents ng asawa ko and dahil sya Yung bunso e sa kanya na Yun. Ngayon palang ayaw kong isipin na iiwan ko si papa. Ako yung panganay pero Ewan ko , Parang ako Lang din umiintindi. Haysss Basta ganon.

$ 0.05
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Awww. Parang ang hirap naman po nyan. 😿

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo ang hirap , kahit gustuhin ko man ng mag stay dito Hindi Naman pwede Kasi kailangan ko magpasakop sa asawa ko. Pero sa ngayon hanggang nandito pa kami I will do my best for him.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I am so sorry and this is quite touching. I believe he deserved better treatment from your other siblings and, sadly, this happens everywhere. Even though we are from the same family, we don't have the same compassion and it's hurting.

I know he is in a better place, resting but I admired his courage, strength, selflessness and always putting family first. Indeed, that's what family is all about - to love even when we feel undeserving. I know how you must be missing him and I miss mine too, so much.

I always shed tears when I listen to "Dance With My Father" by Luther Vandross.

Stay strong...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Awwww. This is just a made-up story, but some details are based in real life. Ehehe 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my world 😂😂🤣🤣😂😂 how on earth did I miss the tiny details???

$ 0.00
2 years ago