Should I Practice Delayed Gratification Again?

15 33
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago

One of the things that I have been wanting to do again since the pandemic started was to get to travel solo again. It is why every time I set my goals, I always make sure to add something that involves traveling, like setting aside a small amount for my travel fund.

The first time I got to travel solo was when I went to Sagada, Mountain Province, more than 3 years ago, around July of the year 2019. I was only 19 years old at that time and the feeling was surreal so I told myself that I want to do more of it in the future. And the second time I got to travel on my own was when I decided to spend my 20th birthday last December 2019 by hiking Mt. Pulag in Benguet. When I conquered the 3rd highest mountain in the Philippines, I thought I was already brave enough to explore more of the Philippines on my own. So I planned again for my solo travel for the year 2020 but suddenly, Covid19 happened and we were left with no choice but to stay in our homes.

And after more than 2 years, we are free to roam around again without any travel restrictions. And it is why I also wanted to travel to Cebu this year, supposedly last September, and I even had enough savings for that trip already. However, because I chose to practice delayed gratification, I decided to use the money I saved to add to my initial capital for the Piggery Business that I put up last April.

Now, after achieving both of my financial goals of earning and saving a total of 250,000 pesos before the year ends and putting up a small but thriving business, I am thinking that it is probably okay now to practice instant gratification since I feel like I deserve to be rewarded for all of my hard work this year.

I have a separate 20,000 pesos savings intended as a fund to celebrate my 23rd birthday this December, and I will spend it however I like. Obviously, I want to spend that money traveling and I want to travel to Baguio City or Benguet for a week or two this coming month. There are still a lot of places I want to visit in the province like the Northern Blossom Flower Farm in Atok, Benguet, and hiking at Mt. Ulap in Itogon, Benguet.

Now, my dilemma is if I should really go for my plan of traveling up to the mountains or if I should practice delayed gratification again and just save the money or use it to add to my business capital or invest it in crypto.

I don't know but my mindset now is that it's okay if I don't get to do the things I want now as long as I'm doing something that my future self will thank me for, like the usual "Suffer now, Enjoy later." I also read before that it's okay if you don't spend money on something that will make you feel happy for a short time but you're investing it on something that will benefit you in the long run. But I think it's also okay to spend money on something that you can cherish forever, like creating priceless memories through traveling and trying new things.

Anyway, my 23rd birthday is still a month from now so I still have a week or two to decide if I should go or not. But I feel like I will still go so I'll just start searching for the places I will visit and prepare an itinerary, or I'll just do it spontaneously. But whatever I decide to do, I hope my future self will thank me.

6
$ 0.27
$ 0.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.01 from @Grecy095
+ 3
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago

Comments

Kung kukurot ka ng 20k from your savings at para sayo naman yun dahil birthday mo, I think that is the right thing to do. What matters is that you are happy. Saka memories naman ang binubuo natin sa mga ganyan bagay kaya tama lang sis. Advance happy birthday

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True, kaya ipupush ko na 'to. Hahaha! Thank you. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Advance happy birthday Florie! Tanong ko lang, kmusta na ang lovelife? Haven't heard about it lately eh. Haha. Marites lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you po. Hahaha! May bago na pero ayoko munang seryosohin. Mai-stress lang ako jan. 🤣🤦‍♀️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Afam parin? Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

your special day was approaching it is better to give your self a special on your day just doing makes you happy and joy as well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, we need to make ourselves feel special at least once in a while.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ikaw na ang napaka madiskarte at magaling humawak ng pera.You deserve naman to treat yourself

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes po. Kaso the kuripot in me says otherwise. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

maganda yan sis di ka maluho

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you should reward yourself ate from all your hardwork, it's good that you give your self some enjoyment after all the sacrifices and hardwork you've done. It's better to celebrate it on your birthday so that you can enjoy it and say to yourself that you manage to reach the mountain of success.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I will na nga. Deserve ko naman siguro talaga. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Malapit na pala birthday mo langga. Next month na pala. Sa Baguio maganda langga. Oo langga it's okay lang gumasto minsan basta sa bagay na ikasaya mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo, tatanda na naman ako. 😂🤦‍♀️ Maganda nga po dun eh kaya bet ko talagang pumunta ulit. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe oo langga okay lang yan paminsan minsan mag unwind din.

$ 0.00
1 year ago