Other Sample Written Task for a Prospective Client

21 55
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago

I started learning about Freelance Writing or Freelancing in general, last October 12, 2020. It's been a month of learning, reading related articles, and watching YouTube vlogs about how to start in this Freelancing World, and eventually succeed with it.

I started applying for freelance writing jobs about 3 weeks ago, and so far, I'm doing good about it. At the moment, I am currently employed as a freelance writer for a Filipino client. That means, I only get to write certain topics when my employer gives me projects to write about. So far, I have written 13 short blog posts for her.

As for my experience in applying for writing gigs and jobs, some employers ignore my proposal, which is understandable because they might have a lot of applicants to review. Some also gave me acknowledgment for applying, and then at the end of their message, they already hired someone for the job. Some clients would also ask for a trial article or written exam before they hire applicants, which I opt not to do because I feel like it will only be a waste of time. Some also asked about my rate, and after that, I no longer hear anything from them. These are just some of my experiences in applying for jobs.

So in this article, I am going to share 1 of my written works that I did for a prospective client and the writing job I applied for.

This is Script Writer for Youtube Videos:

Job Description: "We are creating a Personal Finance Channel that summarises all the videos from other Personal Finance channels for that day. You will have to take Time Stamped notes and a summary of those videos. We have created a tool to make note-taking easier on YouTube and you will be using that. Once all the videos are summarised, then organize them all into a Video Script. You will be providing a script every day after watching around 2-3 hours of content."

I had to download the tool first, then created an account in it before I started with the simple task for the job. He also gave me the links to the sample notes and summaries that I should follow.

Here is my entry for the Note-taking task. The title of the Video was "You Must Watch This Video Before You Die."

00:39 5 things you want to do before the time actually comes.

00:57 The very first thing you need to do is you need to go out there and get yourself some life insurance.

01:25 When you get a life insurance, it's not supposed to be a big payday when you die for your family. They're not going to become rich all of a sudden.

01:31 In reality, it's all about making sure because your income is not here anymore, they can still survive without needing your income anymore.

01:45 What should I do when it comes to life insurance? I say the first thing is this: get term life insurance.

02:13 How much money should I actually get for the payouts when it comes to life insurance? In this case, I recommend anywhere from 10 to 15 times the income you actually make today. That way, your family is taken care of for 10 to 15 years after you're actually gone.

03:41 The second thing you need to do and something you're probably not going to think about is you need to go out there and update your beneficiaries.

03:46 A beneficiary is basically the person that's going to get your money or your assets when you die.

05:12 The third thing you need to do is get a will and also a living will.

05:23 A will is basically like a testament. It tells everyone what you want to get done with your assets after you're actually gone. It's giving assignments to your assets and what you want to get done with them after you're gone.

05:46 A living will is when I can no longer make decisions for myself, I'm not dead, I'm still alive but I'm just like in a comma, the answer is what is going to happen with my body.

07:11 Now the fourth thing you basically want to do is get an estate planner. This person is going to be in charge of your assets and also paying your debts after you're gone, and they're gonna make everything a lot more easier to flow when you're gone.

07:27 Now, the last thing is not really about money, but it's more about being in the present. I'm still alive today, let's make sure where my life is heading, is where I actually want it to be headed. Just be present at this time right now. Make sure you take control over your life and you live a life you can be proud of when the time actually comes.

And here is the summary for the notes:

Bryson talks about 5 things you want to do before you die.

The first thing is you need to get yourself some life insurance. He recommends getting a term life insurance instead of a whole life insurance.

The second thing is you need to update your beneficiaries. It is a person that is going to get your money and assets when you die.

The third thing is to get a will and a living will. A will is like a testament where you give assignments to your assets and what you want to get done with them after you are gone. A living will, on the other hand, is when you are still alive but you can no longer make decisions for yourself.

The fourth thing is to get an estate planner. He is going to be in charge of your assets, and in paying your debts after you're gone.

The last thing is not about money, but it is more about being in the present. Make sure that you take control over your life and you live a life you can be proud of when the time comes.

After sending the notes and the summary to this client, I immediately received a message saying:

"Hi Florie, your notes look really great. But, I have already hired another nice guy who submitted the notes bit earlier. If that partnership doesn't workout or If I needed more people, I'll definitely hire you. Please share your contact details. Thank you."

So there you go. Another writing job that I failed to get. But it was a nice experience because I learned about those 5 things that I need to do before I die, especially number 5.

Until my next job hunting experience. 😉

Follow my Freelance Writing Journey:

An Introduction About How Freelance Writing Works

Sample Test Articles for my Prospected Clients

My First Writing Gig Experience

16
$ 1.89
$ 1.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @bmjc98
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago

Comments

Yay mahirap ba maam? Ako lng ata ung computer grad na umiiwas sa keyboard haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mahirap pero kayang aralin. Haha I wish I was literate enough about computers. You should take advantage of your knowledge. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bat hindi mo subukang mag VA?Sa tingin ko kakayanin mo since magaling ka nman sa technology kung ibebase ko sa mga articles mo..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ung VA po kasi kailangan yata full time un. Like hindi flexible ung oras. Ako kasi, minsan busy din sa mga school requirements lalo na malapit na finals namin. So hanggang article/content writing lang muna kaya ko for now. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

May mga VA jobs na for part time lng,like pang sideline lng. Try it :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I had a quick search about it and I think the tasks are a bit complicated. Haha! But I'll try to learn about it po. Thank you. ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Goodluck and hoping for your success once you decide to start!😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yay! Galing naman! Pero ganun talaga sa freelancing, dapat mabilisan kasi marami kang ka compete to get that job.. Pero kaya mo yan, kaw pa! At least, nasa waiting list ka just in case that "nice guy" fails to do the job.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Un nga po eh. Sa isang job post, dami agad nag-aapply. Tapos dami pa magagaling. Pero try lang ng try. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am currently taking an exam hahaha, I will give it a try lang nmn since I am still learning too, I hope I can follow your lead. Thanks for some tips you've given recently, I will surely read your article about freelancing.. I wish you more success. Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yayy! That's good to know po. There's no harm in trying naman, so try lang tayo ng try. Haha! You're welcome po. And sana makatulong. Good luck satin. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, good luck satin hahaha try lang nang try.. just like you've said even if we will get denied after trying, we will learn something from it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks for sharing👍, may napulot ako dito sa experience mo hehe (i've learned something from your experience)

goodluck in future work applications🇵🇭🙏.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome and I'm glad you learned something. Haha! Cheers to that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mahirap b? I think i need more free time king sasabakin ko mag freelancing... 😅 kog jobless na ako magfocus ako jan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mahirap talaga lalo na kung wala tayong dalang armas o bala. Hahaha! Ako kasi, sumabak agad ako na ung first article na sinulat ko about freelancing dito, un lang ung alam ko. 🤣 So ngayon, mag-aaral muna ako kung pano ba magsulat ng tama. 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think kelangan ko dn pag aralan yan pra ready na pagdating ng panahon 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha! Truts. Dami ko ngang nababasa sa FB Group ng freelance writers na months daw talaga bago sila nakakuha ng clients eh. So dapat pag-aralang mabuti para makakuha ng client. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Swerte ko pala kasi hindi ako inabot ng 1month to get a writing job.. Tas yung italian client ko, siya pa nag invite kahit d ako nag apply.. Pero gusto ko din talaga ng data entry job para d masyadong drain utak ko.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ako naman 1 week lang din nung mahire ako dun sa Filipino client ko, pero as a freelancer lang talaga. Hindi consistent ang tasks. Meron din nag-invite sakin pero hanggang ngayon wala pang update. 😂 Un din gusto ko sanang itry kaso wala pa akong stable net. Hahaha! Sana makakuha ka nga po.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At apply2 lng dn.. Mas madami applayan.. Mas mean chance dn ,😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago