One Summer Love: A Valentine's Day Entry

4 58
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago

I wanted to write you a poem. Too bad I couldn't find the right words that could exactly tell you how I feel. So I'm writing this down, to somehow bid goodbye to this untold love story.

I can still remember that one summer night. An unexpected message came from you. It was, "Hey! You never sleep early." I was surprised, yes, but I was more excited to talk with you. And so I replied, "It's because I'm nocturnal."

We were exchanging chats as if we already knew each other for the longest time.

You became my constant during that summer break. My days were your nights. And your days were my nights. Funny cause my 'good nights' to you were supposed to be 'good mornings'. And every time I wake up, your messages were already popping. You would always send me pictures of how you've spent your day, even your dogs' photos. And I would always stay up late till 1 am just to talk to you and share stories with you. From silly conversations into a more serious tone. I taught you how to make a wish at exactly 11:11, and you taught me how to be more mature in handling life's challenges. I was your number one basher, but you were my confidence booster.

Days felt like months, and weeks felt like years. For just a short period, it felt like we've known each other for years. It was so easy to fall in love with you because you were such a genuine man. A God-fearing, family-oriented, pet lover, adventurous man any girl would dream of. You could actually tick off the list of all the characteristics of a girl's ideal man. At some point, I thought I finally found someone to watch sunsets with. I thought I finally found someone to go on an adventure with. I thought I finally found someone to build my dreams with. I thought I finally found someone who will be my plot twist before the decade ends.

We were miles apart from each other but we never cared about the distance. Sweetheart, we were on the other side of the world. But we believed in the power of Love. That love knows no distance. Love knows no limits. That love has no boundaries. It was like jumping into a cliff with no assurance that I will be safe afterward. But I still tried. I prayed to God about this risk I'm taking. So I did jump. I held on to the love I thought was already there between us.

I'm supposed to be so mad at you for being so unfair. You were like a bubble that easily disappeared. Now I begin to question myself, "What did I do wrong?", "Is there something wrong with me?" But you kept on telling me, "You are a precious soul. Always remember that."

I wanted to be so selfish, that I wanted you to be mine because I am yours since the first time. But then again, no matter how hard things we want to be, if it is not meant to be, it will never be.

Maybe, it's actually not about you. Maybe, it's all about me. Because I am still afraid to risk it all, because of my fear of uncertainties. There is still a part of me having what-ifs and doubts, so I wanted this whole thing to stay the way it is. Having no commitments. Having no labels.

And so you left. You left me hanging. You left without saying a word. You left while I'm wondering where did we go wrong because we were just so fine? Why was it so easy for you to let go when all I did was to hold on? Why was it so easy for you to give up and never give this love a chance? I thought we were on the same page.

The fact is I still search for your profile on Facebook. I saw you've updated your status into an 'in a relationship.' I wasn't so surprised, because I already saw this coming. I knew it was her. I was right all along. Yes, I still shed a tear. But I know, one day, there will be no more tears falling from these eyes, and only a feeling of joy will come out from within, and only then will I realize that a better summer love story is already published by the One Above. And so I say goodbye to this one summer love.

PS. This story was written by me last 2019. I no longer know who I was talking about here. 🤭🤣

13
$ 7.33
$ 7.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago

Comments

Nkakaloka din tong batang to... na4goten agad agad ang tinutukoy..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Luhhhh, ang galing pero real experience pala pero ang dali mo mag move on kasi limot mo na agad ahaha. Galing mo talaga mag english, daw makata 🤩

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is written beautifully. It's good that you are able to move on. It reminds of an old memory. I am still wondering what happened but not that much anymore.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol.. Kalimutan mo na 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago