How I Saved 100,000 Pesos Savings at the Age of 20

19 94
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Money, Saving

It has always been my goal to save a huge sum of money before I graduate in college.

To be clear, I am not born with a silver spoon. My parents are not rich, nor we have a business that provide for our basic needs. My father is a farmer, and my mother is a social worker.

Being born in a poor family has opened my eyes with the reality that you cannot live a good life without having money. That is why as early as 6 years old, my parents have inculcated in my mind to save money because it will save myself when the rainy days come.

I have been saving since I was a child. And saving is one of my hobbies, especially now that I am a young adult.
I noticed that there are a lot of students here, so I am going to share to all of you my Top 10 Tips To Save Money.

These are the tips that I used to save P100,000+ at the age of 20.

Tip #1: SET A SAVINGS GOAL

Before you start your savings journey, you have to set a goal first.

Ask yourself the following questions:

  • What are you going to do with the money you are saving?

  • Are you going to use it to buy a cellphone, or laptop, or use it for your travels?

  • How much are you planning to save for it?

  • Til when do you plan to achieve your goal? Set a realistic timeline for it.

Write down your answers in a notebook, or even on your phone's note. This is what I do, not just with my savings, but also with my other goals in life.

Tip #2: OPEN A SAVINGS ACCOUNT

Opening a savings account is helpful because you will be able to monitor your money. It also provides excitement especially when you see that your money is growing. There are a lot of banks that offer savings account that is good for college students. I recommend BPI, BDO, Landbank etc. There are good banks out there, and you just have to decide on what bank you are entrusting your savings with.

Tip #3: HAVE A SMALL BUSINESS

Having a small business will help you get additional income.

Personally, I have E-loading business, where I sell cellphone load to my classmates. I use the coins.ph app as it gives 10% rebate for all the load I sell. In a month, I could sell 5,000 worth of load. That means I have 500 pesos profit for it. It is already huge for me as a side income.

(This was before the pandemic came. Now I don't have a side business. XD)

Tip #4: BE THRIFTY

There are a lot of ways to be thrifty especially as a student. Learn to say no to your friends or classmates when they ask you to go out and eat at fastfood restaurants. Instead, just eat at "karinderya" or just cook your own food.

Avoid buying bottled water outside as they charge it twice the original price. Also, if your school is just nearby, walk to get there instead of renting a motorcycle.

Tip #5: MONITOR YOUR EXPENSES

Before I spend my allowance, I set aside my savings first and then budget my remaining allowance for the week. Cut out expenses that are not needed. When buying something, think not just twice or thrice, but a lot of times, especially if it is not something you need. Simply put, be frugal.

Tip #6: TREAT YOURSELF, BUT USE IT AS AN OPPORTUNITY TO SAVE.

I treat myself with food/clothes when I reach a certain goal. However, this does not mean that you have to blow away all of your savings. Instead, just take a portion of it as a reward for your hard work. This way, you will be more motivated to save again for your next savings goal.

Tip #7: APPLY FOR SCHOLARSHIPS

There are a lot of government scholarships out there, you just need to ask about them. I have one existing scholarship that gives a stipend amounting to P20,000.00 per semester. I have been a scholar since 1st year. Scholarship stipends give a huge portion to my savings.

Tip #8: UNSUBSCRIBE AND UNINSTALL

There are a lot of Facebook pages that awakens your thirst to spend money. That is why you should unsubscribe to their pages to avoid misspending.

I must admit, samgyupsal is my weakness, and every month, I set a date where I eat out with my friends. Luckily, I have removed this weakness already.

Also, if you really want to have savings, it is time to say goodbye to Lazada and Shopee apps. (I'm still guilty with this. 🤣)

Tip #9: DON'T ENGAGE YET INTO A RELATIONSHIP.

This may sound bitter to you, but I will say it anyway, don't engage into a relationship if you are still a student, especially if all you know is following the trend of #Relationshipgoals. It is a good thing if your boyfriend/girlfriend motivates you to save money, but if not, it's time to let him/her go. Haha! 🤣

Kidding aside, isn't it better to go out on a date with that special someone using your own money and not by using the allowance you got from your parents? I'll leave that to you.

Tip #10: CULTIVATE SELF-DISCIPLINE AND SELF-CONTROL

Having self-discipline and self-control is the key to achieve your savings or all of your goals in life. Be dedicated with your goals. Work hard to achieve it. Don't be easily tempted to spend money over unimportant things. Have some discipline and control to yourself, and you are already ready to achieve your savings goals.

That's it! These are my personal tips to save money. I hope you were able to learn something from it. Happy Saving! :)

"Mahirap Mag-ipon. Pero pagtanda natin, di ba mas mahirap kapag walang ipon?"

("It is not easy to save money. But when we grow old, isn't it harder that we don't have savings?")

14
$ 5.23
$ 5.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 1
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Money, Saving

Comments

Ok may natutunan din ako dito. Though wala akong shopee hahah katakot kasi bakanoagka nagkaroon ako, maguyo ako at bumili. Thank you sa tips 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hays mahirap ngagsaved kapagmay asawa kana..parang gusto kong bumalik sa pagkadalaga dahil dito..😁😁pero namotivate ako sa ibang tips..kakayanin nsman stop na ko sa shoppe at Lazada natutukso kaai ako hahha pero ngyon nsman nagorder lang ako para sa anak ko..siguro after ng bday ng anak ko yun stop nauna talaga sa Lazada except kung kelangan talaga..😁😁😁salamat sana mabasa ng mga dalaga diyan out there maganda talaga ang mag set ng goal habang si gle pa kaai Minsan kapag may asawa kana hindi mins magagawa yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko yung Tip#8, very practical. Usually kasi yung mga nakikita natin nagbibigay ng subtle idea na gumastos tayo e. Kung ang napi-feed natin sa isip natin ay yung mga naglalapit sa atin sa goals natin, we would do better than being impulsive. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

30k+ pa lang savings ko, marami-rami pang ipon sa susunod. Hahaha, at least meron.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

30K na, tapos 50K na, then 100K. Hahaha One step at a time lang. 😹 Cheers to more savings. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama! Nagpa-open ako ng savings account naka bank book lang, di ko na pinagawan ng card para iwas withdraw. Impulsive buyer din kasi ako, eh. Hahaha. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha Mas okay nga po ung bank book pero ung akin may Card eh. XD Buti di ako impulsive buyer. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas mahirap pala maglagay ng cash funds sa Gcash, ubos palagi sa subscriptions. Hahaha, laking problema ko talaga pagkamagastos ko hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung monitor tlga ay hndi lo magawa gawa 🤣🤣 Pro may 1M kpa sa crypto.galing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi mo na kasi kailangan imonitor. Dami mo namang pera. Hahahaha 😹🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ehhh, ang galing mo talaga dito. Gusto ko din sama mag eloading ee kaso mo dala dalawa na ang nagloload dito gaya nina mader, minsan mahina pa aigooo.

Pero pano pala pag guato mo talaga ung isang guy. Pipigilan mo pa rin ang self mo na mag juwa?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Un lang. Kaya maganda kung madaming customers sana. 🤣 Hahaha Edi jowain nalang pero dapat hindi ung magastos na kain dito kain jan. Huwag ganun lalo na kung pera ng magulang niyo gagastusin niyo. Mahiya naman kayo. Hahahaha 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha minsan kasi walang nangangailangan ng load hahahaha.

Haha yon, dapat ung kasama mong mangangarap kaya kasama ring mag sisave. Pero dapat kanya kanya at wag oag sasamahin kasi alam mo na, wala namang poreber ee 🙄.

😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha Tama. Kaya kung magjojowa ka, magjowa ka ng lalaking may pangarap. Hahaha Oo dapat pareho kayong may savings account. Mag-asawa nga naghihiwalay, magjowa pa kaya. 🤧🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama, wag kang mag sesettle sa taong ikaw lamg ang pangarap, dapat kamo marami ahahaha. Tama tama, kahit mag asawa din dapat hiwalay ang savings para mag nag hiwakay ready sila, girls scout 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha Natawa nalang ako sa hindi lang ikaw ang pangarap. XD 🤣🤣 Pero tama, dapat may separate savings kayo tapos meron din kayong joint accounts kapag mag-asawa na kayo para di pag-awayan ang pera. 🤧🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahaha, tama naman diga ahahaha. Dun tayo sa pangarap na tayo, tas may pangarap pang umasenso, very challenging pero together naman diba. Tas sa huli mag hibiwalay din, ah okay. Bye! Ahahahaha

Oo yan nga, mahirap na tas sa huli magdedemandahan pa dahil jan ee kung nong una palang kasi diba 😅.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha Eh wala namang ganun. Sa panaginip lang may ganun kaya huwag ng umasang makakahanap tayo ng ganyan. 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahahaha, wag kang nega malay namam natin 😭 ahahaha. Pero tingin ko din nga hahaha. Lalo na sa panahon ngayon ang daming makating mapanira 🙄

$ 0.00
2 years ago