Confession Of A 1st Year Marketing Management Student

28 74
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago

Disclaimer: I wrote this piece when I was still in the first-year college. I originally wrote it as one of my vlogs for my YouTube channel. However, I was not able to film it, that is why I decided to publish it here. These words came out of my personal experiences, and I don't intend to speak on behalf of all the Marketing Management students. But they might also have experienced these before, or even until today.

I have a confession to make. It is about the course I'm taking.

Every time people ask me what my course is, I would slightly laugh to reduce the feeling of embarrassment, then I would finally find the courage to say, "My course is BSBA-MM." A follow-up question would arise, "What is BSBA-MM?" I would then answer, "It is Business Administration, major in Marketing Management." Then they will start telling me, "Oh. You are just a Marketing Management student. A future sales lady."

To be honest, I am so tired of avoiding questions and judgments like these. The way how people belittle students who are taking up Marketing Management. It is like we don't have a bright future waiting for us. Sadly, those words also came out from one of my teachers in High School. I was very offended by the way he said it.

I tell you this, you guys are wrong. We have a better future ahead of us. Our course is not just "LANG". So stop belittling us as if our course is just that easy. It is not. Our course may not be as hard as Engineering, Accountancy, Nursing, and the likes. But we don't just go to school to fill those empty chairs and write our names on the attendance sheets. We go to school to learn, to add knowledge from what we already know. We also have reports, researches, tons of assignments, Business and Marketing Plans, projects and requirements to be submitted all at the same time. Some of our professors do not even compromise. Yes, we also encounter terror professors who would destroy those "Laude" dreams we have. So please, stop degrading us. We have got so much in store for the world.

To my fellow Marketing Management students, hold your head up high. Be proud for you are a Marketing Management student. Not everyone would dare to get into this course, and you better congratulate yourself because you are here striving for your dreams. Just like what my classmate says, "In Marketing, you can be everything." Don't mind what people are telling you. Instead, accept them as constructive criticism for you to aim higher and dream bigger. Always bear in mind, we are assets to society. Hand in hand, let us all prove them wrong.

And to those people who don't even have a contribution to our studies yet are full of judgments and side comments, where on Earth are you getting those thick skin? You have judged us already that we are failures in life, even if we are just starting our so-called journey. For once, stop talking about other people's choices in life, and start minding your own business. You are just an audience to our stories, so you have no right to control our decisions.

Lastly, to myself, it's okay. It's okay if you did not take up Accountancy just like how your relatives thought you would. It's okay if your teachers in High School look down at you because you decided to take up this course. You are there because that is where you are destined to be at the moment. Don't rush things. Always remember that when everything falls apart, God is always, always there to let them fall into place. So stop blaming yourself if you have disappointed them and you did not reach their expectations. It's your future. It's your life. You need to start thinking and making decisions that you think are best for you. You are the navigator of your boat, so stop stressing yourself for the people who don't care about you. Just live your life at the moment. Don't forget to enjoy and create new memories.

15
$ 2.30
$ 2.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago

Comments

don't let anyone tell you what you can or can't do...good attitude!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agree. Haha! Nobody can control my decisions and my life in general. Just me. 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Especially people who are studying without any problem. They spend most of their time doing a lot of mischiefs. But people who go for a particular cause in college, bring with them the treasures that they have to spend on shining all their lives. People like this are endearing from that life as well and from the life to come they were succeeded. I think you are one of them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The hell word of "LANG" Marketing Management as far I know is one of the career that was pretty solid in any industry in any part of this eaeth. dapat sinagot mo yun naturingan teacher pa nmn

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very strong naman ng statement mo po. Haha! But I agree. Most of the businesses need Marketing Management graduates kaya. Haha! Sadly, tinawanan ko nalang ung teacher na un. Saka nalang kapag graduate at may trabaho na ako. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

kapag sinabi sayo salesman lang kllbasan nyo sabihan mo walang sales at economics ventures kung wala ang mga salesman yung sahod nya bilang teacher produkto ng ekonomiya na dala ng mgs nabebenta ng kumpanya na nagpapaunlad ng ekonomiya ng isang lugar. wala syang tuturuan kung walang ekonomiyang maunlad .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think those who belittle other courses are having small thinking, I mean narrow minded, they are full of themselves thinking they are ahead if you because you have taken that path.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha! I agree to that. Just because we took different path, doesn't mean our course is lower than them. Hmm.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, of course, it only depends on individual thinking.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Salut, marketing is as good career as any. You can excel at it or not. Do your best.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Anything related to business is a good career. And sure, I will. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Especially people who are studying without any problem. They spend most of their time doing a lot of mischiefs. But people who go for a particular cause in college, bring with them the treasures that they have to spend on shining all their lives. People like this are endearing from that life as well and from the life to come they were succeeded. I think you are one of them

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I had a similar experience, in that I studied English while most of my friends studied pharmacy. I only had around 8 to 10 hours of lectures per week so they definitely saw it as a soft option! But I was having to read three novels, one collection of poetry, one play and countless articles every week so was definitely kept busy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My friends use to envy me too for having only 15 hours of online class, but they don't know we have a lot of activities to do offline. Lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love your article ate. I like how you introduce your concept and how you ended your thoughts. You have strong personality. I love it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh. Thank you. Hihi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bsba ka din pala? 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. Hahaha! Ikaw din ba? 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo pero finance ako 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Walang Finance sa college namin, kaya MM nalang kinuha ko. 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Saan ba lugar mo?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ilocos ako. 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Layo ah. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago