Would you love to be someone different?

25 68
Avatar for Edystringz
2 years ago

Yes, she explained that most of us use labels to restrict ourselves, yet, some of us free ourselves using labels too.

Which category are you in? No, which one I'm I?

I'll take the latter. Labels like homonyms take cognizant of words that are spelled differently but have the same meaning. In this context, I'll be using labels concerning names.

In life, we are restricted by the names that we call a thing. We think not giving them names makes it too broad. So, we often categorize everything.

If one is starting a blog, and you do your research, you find out that the internet sticks with one fact... You have to be restricted to a particular niche so that Google will be able to understand what it is your blog centers upon. Not only Google but, a niche helps, your followers know what kind of business you are into.

This means in writing, people categorize their form of writing. Most people do Copywriting, others center upon satires, there is fiction and non-fiction, fiction is further expanded when you are thinking science fiction writings. Some of us are in love with writing or reading romance novels, others prefer documentaries.

All of these are the forms by which the things we do are labeled.

Getting into college, we discover that the courses we study are labeled. One has to be in the Sciences, or Engineering, Environmental, Agric-extension, etc.

Yet, we will still find sub-courses under these fields. For instance, sciences have the Medical Science, Physical Sciences, and Mathematical Sciences.

Under them, students still have to choose courses, like Botany, Microbiology, Mathematics, and Statistics, etc.

Engineering will ask students to take up courses such as Civil Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Petroleum Engineering, Agricultural Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering, etc.

If we are looking into record labels and music, we find that folks are restricted to the kinds of music they listen to. There will always be fans of hip hop, country music, Jazz, EDM, classical music, etc.

If we think harder, we shouldn't restrict ourselves to the boundaries set by society through the use of labels.

We should be able to flow with the rhythm set by all areas of life. We should be able to merge the past and the present into all areas of our lives. It's a guarantee to help us find out voice.

Getting stuck in one label makes us unable to see past the present. We cannot think beyond now. Whereas, we should be able to see several steps ahead of everything we engage in. The yin and yang of our lives should be in unison instead of apart.

None of the things we do in life should be separated. We should learn them all, and fuses them into a wonderful piece.

Someone who dances rhodanese can use leg work for kungfu. A drunkard should be able to use the staggering movement to kick asses. Someone who writes should be able to get into it. the skin of anything. It doesn't have to be fiction or science-related.

One should be able to use two knowledge and brand them into a perfect piece. Real Life experiences shouldn't be stuck with one's area of inclination.

Society makes sure we are uncomfortable with having an interest in many fields. Yet, it keeps us away from valuable lessons, training, and information. Someone who is well versed in lots of areas will be able to judge things clearly from all angles, than someone who sticks with one side view.

You could be seeing a 9 and your opponent is seeing a 6, but what if you step out of yourself, and see both angles of life? It will be a good thing because your judgment wouldn't be myopic at all.

The beauty of life is in the diversity that we enjoy. Each of us should stay in tune with everything life has to offer, and see if it's worth it or not.

In the beginning, I asked, which category of people I'm in?

I am in the category that loves all genres of music. I accept everyone irrespective of what others think of them. I am one of those who taste every side before I conclude.

I want to write about everything as long as it speaks to one person out there. I am someone who constantly wants to evolve to suit time, place, and situation. I do not stay stuck in one identity. I could be someone today, and another person tomorrow. As long as I stay in tune with my Chi.

Which category of labels are you?

This is a prompt by @JonicaBradley

The rules are simple:

  1. Write anything on Labels

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words (so Rusty will drop by and beer generous)

  4. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  5. Join the Promptly Jonica community and submit your story or article there.

  6. HAVE FUN!

I am tagging @TengoLoTodo because he asked to be tagged to the previous prompt.

Lead image source

7
$ 1.65
$ 1.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 5
Sponsors of Edystringz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Edystringz
2 years ago

Comments

I like your example that you could see the number 9 but the person next to you see it as a 6. It means every person has its own angle of perception. Its just like that a painter made a painting if we see the painting from one angle we see the one view but from different angle the view is different.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is really true.... Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its my pleasure dear.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sticking to one thing is boring (unless in love of course). It's better to try many things and experience lot of things. In our society, it's more challenging for there are different practices and cultures from place to place. If only we can respect, understand and accept our differences, then we can work as one without labels.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

unless in love of course

I love how you differentiated this part.... Love shouldn't be mixed up for any reason. Even with seduction, the book I read on it, tells me that the seducers pays attention to one person, until he is done with his seductions. This means, he is not found scampering around with many females or males(if she is a lady)

It's better to try many things and experience lot of things.

I am happy that you agree

Yes, our society limits us, if only they could allow us that level of freedom, then, labels wouldn't need to exist at all

Thanks for coming around

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love this 🤗 I am also the kind of person who loves trying different things and not just get stuck in one identity. I have multiple versions of me and I love them all.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is so sweet and nice... And I bet you are fun to be with, and everyone loves your company because of these amazing traits 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Edy, this is a brilliant write-up!

I don't wanna be someone different than myself, if it need be, I wanna be a better version🤣 because just like you, I can this today, another tomorrow. Although I must admit, in music, I don't like all genres 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehehe.... Now, this confirms she is just like me and I believe it. 😊 Like all music genres? It's different for me because I have to score almost all of them.... I never want to be caught unprepared.... Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha is that right? You're the mini-me then in some aspects. I wish I like all but no, I cannot listen to metal and hard rock, their beats make my head throb and I feel stressed out when listening to them. I can listen to one at a time, but they can't occupy my playlist :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish I like all but no, I cannot listen to metal and hard rock, their beats make my head throb and I feel stressed out when listening to them.

You don't have to worry, we love you just the way you are 🥳

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Edy, I ain't worrying though, was just telling ya. Thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol.... No problem 😌🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am like you, I want to taste before I judge. Thank you for the tag, this is a wonderful article. I have multiple personas but they are all me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol.... I am glad I have someone who is like me and yes, we have different personas but they are ours.... Thanks for coming, sir 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are so very welcome, I do like reading your take on things :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awwwnnnn..... This is so sweet 😊 Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh well being called sweet will do for me :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahahahaha..... You are very funny

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha If I made you laugh, then that will do too 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Until one finds his niche he/she will keep on striving when things could have been easier. Though it doesn't hurt to go out of line once in a while. Try other fields or genre.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true, but one needs to search through different genre before he or she will finally find his niche

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lovely write up, 'labels' it's personal though to one's capability but sometimes there shouldn't be a segregation because we can learn from them also...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad I agree that we can from all affinities of life

$ 0.00
2 years ago