My first time on a movie set

12 29
Avatar for Ebizz
Written by
2 years ago

There is the first time in everything we do, the first time you cry, the first time you laugh, the first time you start walking as weird as it is the first time you got angry.

that faithful day I was searching for a job in Lagos, I just finished high school so I needed something to do so I can get myself some things or take care of myself. it is like a norm that after you finish high school is either you learn a skill or you work to earn but if your parents have the capacity at that moment they will ask you to further your studies, for me I wanted to work cos I like money ( not love, there is a difference). I saw an audition poster that has the faces of some of my favorite Nollywood actors, that was what got my attention (some people do ask me how to get into the movies, this is how I got in lol)

The contact was the next thing on my mind, I have been looking for this kind of opportunity finally at my fingertips 'Do you want to become a superstar now is the opportunity was boldly written there, of course, I want to be one I said to myself I didn't know I had dropped my CV on the floor, what does it matter anyway I am no longer in search of a job I am on my way to stardom(smile). This is what happens to some of us who saw a big profit in an investment they won't think twice to invest then end up being scammed but in my case, I am not investing hahaha

That Saturday morning was the audition day I was among the latecomers which we were asked to pay a fine before we are allowed into the venue, who does that! well I got no choice, on getting inside oh my God the crowd was much, truly many people are after this my dream which I didn't realize on time that the race is not for me alone. where do I start okay from the fashion aspect, a lot of men and women with varieties of dresses, comparing my dress with theirs, of course, there is no match at all and that doesn't mean there was those I wasn't better than but the gap was annoying

Image by me: Junior pop and me

Beauty was what I couldn't help but notice especially the ladies, the beauty of some are like they are just coming out from God's beautification department (oh Jesus lord) my mom so call me her beautiful boy but in their midst, I am just like a half baked but as a sharpshooter, I have some hormones which attract the opposite gender towards me with easy and I am social so to mingle with the beautiful ones won't be a problem but is not yet time focus my inner me said, I won't fail to also recognize the handsome guys too especially those with their ride but they are of no importance to me, after all, no man is ugly

Next!!! was what was echoing in the building until it reaches my turn, what can you do young man? the director asked I can do anything I mean I can play any role I said, yes you read it well I can play any role it is like a God's kind of gift in me I don't need a lot of practice to get it right but in this case, it was my first time acting in front of a crowd like this, I have been a drama leader in my small church but here is different and my heartbeat is not helping added with the stage fright

The next week I got a text to come to the same venue for the final screening well I made it to the final stage, the happiness was overflowing like a spiritual anointing may be like that of Elijah haha. Getting there I didn't see some of the faces I saw last time they are fewer now, should I say good or bad well let me mind my business, oh I didn't also see Rita the girl I collected her number the last time I remember telling her I like her and I will love if we could be friends, for now, hope you didn't forget I am a sharpshooter, she accepted without any hesitation maybe because of my performance that day cos I received some compliments after the director told me to act like a mad man, I tried on that one cos it was so easy. maybe she didn't make it to the final stage I could also remember she couldn't bring out tears when she was asked to cry, i didn't call her before now to know if she was coming credit goes to the lack of airtime, and naturally, I don't like calls if you are not on WhatsApp we cant communicate well so there was no way to reach out for her, I deleted her number instantly cos we won't meet again and I don't even know where she lives

image source

On the first day of shooting, scene one was a forest scene and i happen to be among those crossing the forest according to the scene but i wasn't in the first scene of that day. Because the production house is a film academy we were thought some things before the deal day which some are:

How to avoid the camera

The fear of the camera

Putting yourself in the shoes of your character

Understanding the writer's mind

Sticking to the script and mastering your lines

Spacing and blocking etc

According to toe the lectures the camera has a way of differentiating a professional and a novice, this aspect of acting is a huge problem for most upcoming actors, they don't know how to avoid the camera (not looking into the camera while acting) and this is an unintentional act irrespective of your age.

Artists on set in the next scene? this is the beginning of my disgrace, I happen to be the one with the longest line in this scene and as a first-timer, it was a challenge to me, camera rolling! the cinematographer calls out, followed by the continuity, Action! the director call, boom within a twinkle of an eye I forgot all the lines that I have been practicing for weeks, in this case, it wasn't to avoid the camera it was the fear of the camera or will I say stage fright.

Image by me: Gentle jack and me

I will give your role to another person the director said to me, yes there are many who are praying for you not to get the lines so they can take it from you, some minutes later I was still standing like someone who lost network connection in my brains I can only hear voices but I couldn't figure out who was talking and you can say I was in shock but God being God of last minutes here comes this sudden rain from nowhere to disrupt that moment leaving the director with no choice than to shoot the interior scenes then giving me the opportunity to learn from those who are doing it well.

the next day of shooting was like tea and bread for me cos the Egyptians I see today I shall see them no more! at the end of my scene, the director gave me more roles and I decided to enroll in a film school where I learned the filmmaking business

thanks for reading

Lead image by me

You are wonderful @Olasquare thanks so much for the sponsorship

Sponsors of Ebizz
empty
empty
empty
see my world best sponsors,they are the best check them out

5
$ 0.89
$ 0.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Greatwolfman
+ 3
Sponsors of Ebizz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ebizz
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

First; you met a fine girl and you let her go because she's not on WhatsApp and you don't want to call, brother no be so them dey do things ๐Ÿง. Second: stage fright? it happens na, but determination is the key. When I join ushering unit in my church, big cjuet for that matter, stage fright caught me but Las Las i won. Lastly; seeing your photos with these people means you're good. Thank God you advanced. Please attach the link to the video or the name of the film in your next Article, let's watch

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahahhah well i don't like calling and even now if you are not on WhatsApp or any chatting app i won't bother, i thank God i did improve to the extent i can direct others and most of those movies are on Africa magic the name i have to remember and send may be on any other movie article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What's the title of the movie? let me search for it online and see you in action. i look forward to seeing more of you on popular movies soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Desperate student but the movie is a market movie is not online and I don't know now is has been long

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sharpshooter๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚, it's good sha, I hope you get more movie roles

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks, i don't wnt to be hunting for it , I want to shoot mine and act in it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You said, "Sticking to the script and mastering your lines." No, no, not at all. I've been in the film business for decades, as a screenwriter, actor, producer and more. Never, and I stress, NEVER memorize your lines! This is precisely why you froze.

Instead of simply "memorizing" which any monkey or sheep can do, KNOW THE STORY! Any director worth his or her salt wants realistic dialogue and that does not come from memorization but rather it comes from knowing the story. Therefore, your lines are never precise - never. In fact, some of the best lines ever uttered by actors have been ad-libbed. Any director or producer who does not allow this is an amateurs. And, if you truly want to be successful, you have to work with professionals and learn.

Finally, save your money on a film school. Trust me, you will learn a lot faster and a lot more by volunteering on TV and film sets.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I appreciate it, sir, as I said in the story is my first time on set so as a film academy is what we were though and how I have learned better and I and can produce my own films

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're not ready to produce a film. Over 95$ of films are never made. Learn first. Jumping into the business all wild-eyed and bushy-tailed will lead to heartbreak. Slow sown. Learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

note taken but i didn't start today it over years now, so I know when I am ready boss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish you good luck in your acting profession

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thanks so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago