Words themselves are nothing

8 60
Avatar for DrPsycho
2 years ago

"Before you try to convince anyone else, be sure you are convinced, and if you cannot convince yourself, drop the subject."

                                                                  By: Jhon Henry Patterson

Of course, he wasn't the first to say that, but I couldn't find anything but his words expressing my "today's topic", so I quoted him. 


Now that I have explained why I quoted him; let's start our discussion and see what it means,


Before you try to convince anyone else, be sure you are convinced, and if you cannot convince yourself, drop the subject.

In other words, if you can't even convince yourself of(or to do) something, you can't convince others of ( or to do) that either.

 Because

Once you, by your heart, are convinced of something, your mind knows it and makes it easy for you to explain it by making your words and tone more persuasive than usual, Which comes in handy while convincing others.

 While on the other hand, if you aren't doing something by yourself but want others to do so, I am afraid you will have to face disappointment because if you, yourself, aren't ok with something, then your words will also lose the power of persuasion. 

Because REMEMBER,

Words themselves are nothing, it is your emotions, feelings and expressions that empower them.


Let me explain it using an example.


Suppose you are a lie-detecting expert, and you got two cases(two liars), and your mission is to find out which one is lying and which one isn't.

( Here, one thing you aren't informed about is that, in reality, both of them are liars. But, it is up to your skills and expertise to figure that out).

Another twist in the story is that,

 Both of them are indeed liars,

 but, both of them have very different mindsets.

  1. The first one is lying and knows that he's lying. But, he wants others to believe that he is speaking the truth. 

  2. The second one is also lying, but he has no idea about it. He is convinced that what he knows is true and wants others to believe it.

In the first scenario, when you will be facing the first accused victim, it won't take you long to figure out that he is a liar(even if he is expert enough to hide his expressions).

While

In the second scenario, there are chances that you may never find out that he was lying until you are informed.

Because, according to him, he isn't lying anyway.

[ I know, I know it was a bit strange example, but I couldn't think of any other, so I just made that up ]


Now, If we give this topic a religious touch, this quotation applies there as well.

For example

Suppose there is a religious influencer( teacher or instructor); who keeps instructing his( same religion) people to do the good deeds but has no interest in doing that himself. 

Now, if that's the case, No matter how hard he tries, he will never be able to convince his people. Why?

Because he, himself, isn't convinced about it.

Conclusion:

Don't expect others to do what you can't do yourself.

Unless you don't add your sincere emotions and feelings to your words, your words are nothing but just a random noise coming out of your mouth.


So, friends, here it comes to an end. Honestly, I chose this topic at the last moment, so there are chances that I might have missed something, so if you feel like it, you are welcome to contribute to it.

Why I chose it at the last moment?

The reason is the quotation discussed(again and again) in the whole article. I had at least two other ideas in mind, and I already had started working on them. but, as I said, I wasn't convinced about doing so. So, I left them.

And from there, I got the idea of this topic. And then somehow I finished it. 


I hope this article will help you in some way.

Feel free to use the comment box if you got any suggestions, questions or anything for me.

Don't forget to hit the like and subscribe button if you liked this article.

Thanks for being here.

4
$ 0.82
$ 0.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @wabinab
Sponsors of DrPsycho
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DrPsycho
2 years ago

Comments

I don't know where my co-worker belongs to haha, if its in number 1 or 2. Remember the one I told you that he was a gay but can't tell to other people even to his family but I myself found it? He convinced other people that he was a real man but infact he cannot convince himself haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

haha, yeah I remember. Well, he certainly falls is No 1 category lol( as hi knows he isn't straight but convincing others to believe that). By the way, thank you for being here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe so too, and I love the way you passed your message through using two liars. It is true that when we believe and embrace something, it becomes part of us and it'd be easier to convince people to.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much. You are so supportive. Your comment always makes me feel like I am on the right path. As for this article, I thought it wasn't that good enough(in fact still thinking), but your positive feedback backed me up. Thanks again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome friend, I'm glad my feedback was positive. Great write-up dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't convince myself WAHAHAH lol...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha, You know what I am still not sure what was I thinking while writing this article. Maybe the "feeling of long inactivity" CONVINCED😉 me to write this😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This feels legit hahah one can feel you when one can't find something to write about too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago