Saying, Advice or a Warning

7 53
Avatar for DrPsycho
2 years ago

Think before you speak

At least once in your life, You must have heard this "sentence"; Doesn't matter whether it was in the form of a sayingadvice or maybe a warning; The point is that you heard it. Right?

But,

Have you ever wondered 

why it's that important? 

What difference could it make? Or How it affects your( and others') lives.


Well, let's start today's topic and see.

Even though we, humans, are the only species that possess the ability to talk( I know some animals also have somewhat the same capability, but it's not like humans), still we don't realize what power God has gifted us. What power do our words possess?

Sometimes(not sure if you can relate), when we look at different types of animals and their abilities( some are strong, some are fast), we start thinking; Thinking that what specialties do we have to stay in the competition? What do we have that others don't? And often, 

we end up with nothing in our account, as neither we are strong; nor fast. 

But, at this point

we fail to realize that despite the power and speed other animals possess, we, humans, are the dominant species on this planet. And, why is that?

Because we have the ability to think, reason, solve complex problems and most important of them( all), we have more communication skills than any other species( not because we have a degree, but because we are gifted(with the power of speech)).

I know some of you might say that other animals can also communicate effectively; it's just that we can't understand it. 

Well, no doubt, that's true, and that's why I included other factors along with it. 

But, 

that's true as well that 

Even though they have the ability to communicate, still, they can't have complex conversations. While we, on the other hand, using our power of speech, combined with other factors, can glide over the heights of success no "hawk" or "eagle" could ever imagine.


Coming to the topic, Sorry, I got lost in the conversation.

Even though there is no match for the power we possess, what's the point of the power; you can't even control? The power; you can't master.

Power(of any type) becomes destructive when it comes to the hands of immature or wrong people. 

In other words, the power becomes useless( sometimes even harmful) if you can't control it.

Now to speak in the context of my topic, Your "Words" can either make one's life or can ruin others'. But, remember, words(as I said in one of my last articles) themselves are nothing. It's we who make them valuable, effective or useless. 

Sometimes we say things that we are not supposed to say, and we realize that after we have said it or when someone else points it out. 

What we don't keep in mind while doing this is that

  1. Words reveal us

  2. Our "words" can offend(or hurt) someone.

  3. Sometimes we can be wrong.

1. Words reveal us

        There is a saying( I couldn't find it in English, so I will try to explain it in my own words). I hope you will understand.

"No one knows what storm you have in you unless you speak".

It means that your qualities, capabilities and weaknesses; all remain hidden unless you reveal them through your words.

More simply, as soon as you start talking, you reveal your personality and secrets( your abilities and weaknesses).

2. Your words can offend someone

All humans are different; all have distinct capabilities and insecurities. That's why it's necessary to keep others in mind before saying anything( when others are around).

3. We can be wrong

Another reason we are supposed to think before we speak is that 

we might be wrong. 

So, instead of insulting ourselves by speaking up. It's better to be quiet. 


Conclusion:

Well, from the above discussion, it's safe to say that

We are more vulnerable while speaking, And that's why it is better to be quiet.

But, being silent doesn't mean you are not supposed to speak up even when needed; It means avoiding unnecessary bluffing.


So, friends, here it comes to an end. I know this article got a bit long, but still, it misses most of the things I had in mind while starting it. But now I realize that it's enough for now. 

I hope this article will help you in some way. Don't forget to hit the like and subscribe button if you liked this article.

Feel free to use the comment if got any suggestions, questions or anything interesting for me.

Thanks for being here.





5
$ 1.83
$ 1.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @wabinab
$ 0.02 from @polux
Sponsors of DrPsycho
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DrPsycho
2 years ago

Comments

The best sentence in this article is "We might be wrong". One especially hate people giving directions with "You must...", "You should..." as if people are minions that could be bent to one's will. On the other hands, replacing with "Perhaps...", "Maybe...", "One might...", "One could choose to...", let people choose whether or not they want to follow the advice. It might not be as strong and forte as the former, especially when emphasizing certain sentences; it does however sounds more lenient and friendly. 👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that's right. By the way, you got quite a collection of "these" words 😂 lol. Thanks for being here( and especially for such a detailed comment).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh right, one was reading between words just now. Re-reading I saw "we are supposed to" as one hahah, perhaps you could replace it with "we could instead prefer..." which might be better. :) One also fall into these traps sometimes... it's a good exercise to notice what oneself is writing about and how to make changes in the future. :)

No problem. Happy to help, happy to learn from you too! 👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hmm, I still can't think clearly, please can you please explain it for me again(what I was able to understand was that you are suggesting me to replace the sentence, can you do me a favour, change it for me ) And yeah Thanks in advance.

Edit: waiting for you, I am still confused about what you meant, remember I told you my English wasn't that good enough(as not a native).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh no worries. One was re-reading your article for the third time, didn't find it. One might had made a mistake about it earlier; sorry about that. You can forget about it. 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Finally, I'm relieved, Thank you for that. You know after reading your comment I read my article 3-4 times but was still confused. And trust me, for me, Re-reading is a headache; even when I am writing and want re-check I use online narrator lol😅😅😅.

By the way, Glad my article was worthy enough to be read 3 times (thank you).

And yeah, whenever you see something like that guide me, I am open to suggestions. Because If I am not what's the point of adding this "Feel free to use the comment if got any suggestions, questions or anything interesting for me." sentence in all of my articles(except for the word count😅).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah sorry my bad for keeping you waiting; you don't have to wait btw because like yesterday luckily one check before one goes to sleep and didn't sleep earlier; otherwise might kept you waiting until now (which one just woke up not long ago) lol...

No problem, one'll do that when there's something. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago