Bitcoin Cash: Struggles, Pitfalls, and Resiliency of a College Student

0 59
Avatar for DrPopsPenguin
4 years ago

Introduction

Bitcoin Cash, holding on to dear life (HODL), up-votes, and showing support to anonymous individuals?

If you are just a passerby and most especially just an average teenager, these terms will not simply pop-out of your lexicon out of the blue.

What are those terms? (Photo credits from Freepik.com)

The greater question is, how can Bitcoin Cash take on such an instrumental role in the roller coaster ride of life, that is, the struggles, pitfalls, and resiliency of a typical (for now) college student?

You will see that Bitcoin Cash has not only given me a glimmer of hope in a tunnel of darkness but also a purpose. A purpose to have an advocacy in promoting writing as a medium of expression and as a means of building your future.

What are my struggles in life?

Let me start by giving you context about my life. When I was still in grade school I had a tumultuous and rather turbulent childhood. Though not belonging to the extremes of the societal hierarchy, the environment where I grew up was not that pleasing.

I had days wherein my parents would fight over matters that I was too young to even digest and understand. I had days wherein I was scheduled to stay with my father and days wherein I would stay with my mother. This reached a breaking point when I was in high school where my parents broke up.

Growing up in a broken family is hard... (Photo credits from Freepik.com)

I stayed with my mother. Though not extremely poor, we were also not well-off. My consolation in life was to study hard and do my best in school. This went so well as I was doing so well in school. When I was in college I was poised to be a Summa Cum Laude. However, everything turned backwards and went for the worst.

On March 24, 2017, I was diagnosed to have bipolar II disorder with psychotic features coupled with generalized anxiety disorder. It was like treading Dante’s circles of hell.

For every day I was living in this world, I had episodes wherein I wanted to take my life since all my dreams were shattered into pieces.

Learning, from being my only consolation became my worst nightmare. I started having failing grades, incomplete requirements, and missed exams. It then came to a screeching halt when my psychiatrist and I concluded to have a hiatus from school.

What are my pitfalls in life?

Despite the harsh scenario that I was faced, I tried to live a normal life. I continued reading college textbooks even though I was having a break from school. I even found a job wherein I became a content writer.

I was once a content writer. (Photo credits from Freepik.com)

For the first few months of being a content writer, I found solace from my psychiatric disorder. I interacted with my colleagues, found enjoyment in what I do, and I grew.

But, one day my grandmother suffered from a stroke and was admitted to the hospital; couple that with my grandfather going through hemodialysis and my mental disorder, and a perfect storm was forged.

I was rushed to the nearest mental health facility for emergency care. It was like I jumped off a cliff. Everything has no purpose. It is gone.

Everything came to a halt. (Photo credits from Freepik.com)

How did BCH make me resilient?

Unbeknownst to some, I was once a skeptic of cryptocurrencies. I had repercussions whether it is a great investment. But, upon realizing that writing is the only capital, I was enthralled upon learning that.

A friend of mine, Stephen, introduced to me BCH and he explained to me the basics: hard fork of Bitcoin, HODL-ing, conversion of BCH to our currency, etc.

However, the greater question that you may pose is that, "How did BCH make me resilient and changed my life?"

Let me explain it to you in detail.

BCH helped me find my purpose

With the cacophony of people saying that BCH is just another scam, I had the guts to stand my ground and say, “This is where I am happy and this is what makes me happy.”

Being a content writer before, I enjoyed writing. It is where I can find an avenue to express myself. It not only makes me happy but also gives me a sense of solace to all the stressors plaguing my life. It makes me forget about my disorder and makes me feel normal.

BCH gave me a purpose. (Photo credits from Freepik.com)Photo credits from Freepik.comPhoto credits from Freepik.com

Though only joining the community for just a month and writing only a single entry since I joined, nonetheless, it made me feel joyful.

BCH helped me earn while doing the things I love

It's no surprise that writing is my passion. I could write for hours on end despite having no reward. However, BCH takes it up a notch. I could write in my free time and I could still earn. This could go a long way especially if you are a teenager who wants to save up for the rainy days especially when you are at school.

Earning with your passion. (Photo credits from Freepik.com)

I understand that passion comes first, but earning with your passion is another thing. It gives you a greater drive to do your passion.

BCH made me realize that not all that glitters is gold

We heard that adage, right? I could find the same parallelism in BCH. Oftentimes in life, we associate our success with fancy degrees and office jobs, but, we neglect the fact that degrees and jobs are not everything in life.

Earning a degree is good. In fact, I am now back in school through a distance learning system. But, we can often find people who are so attached to their degrees that they forget the reason why they had that degree in the first place.

People working in office jobs are also not exempt from this characterization. When you do the same routine monotonously and become an automaton, you dismantle the core of what makes you human.

Humans are becoming automatons. (Photo credits from Freepik.com)

This is by no means to discourage you to earn a degree and find a good job, but we must always digest everything in a multifaceted way, that is, to find out each side of everything.

Conclusion

In life, we experience ups and downs. We can not control everything especially our fate. Despite having everything planned out, fate has its ways to make your life more memorable.

BCH may only be a part of my life for just a short while, but it has made great strides in steering my life for the better. By making me resilient through means like finding my purpose, earning while doing the things I love, and realizing that not all that glitters is gold. It has indeed changed my life.

You too can have this change. Join us.

@sjbuendia

1
$ 1.05
$ 1.00 from @Read.Cash
$ 0.05 from @Omar
Avatar for DrPopsPenguin
4 years ago

Comments