Ulysses

8 32
Avatar for Don26
Written by
3 years ago

Hi, everyone. It's been a while since I last wrote here. The last couple of weeks was very challenging. 2020 is not yet done. and when I say, not yet done, I will still expect a lot of bad things to happen before this year ends. Not being so negative but this year has been a pain in the arse and I wish 2021 will be the complete opposite.

| November 12 midnight

That was the second time that I felt really anxious about this so-called " super typhoon ". ( The first one was way back in 2013 during typhoon Haiyan or Yolanda. )
12 midnight, the electricity went off, and I thought that the typhoon was already traveling near our province but to my surprise, but since it is too massive even if it's still 200km far from my place, you will think that it's already landed in our province.

The wind was so strong. My eyes are glued to my phone trying to keep up with the typhoon's location.

| 3am

The wind becomes stronger and we were just staring at the roofs praying that it will able to bear the wind. Our roof was so loud that time until my brother noticed that it was slowly elevating from the ceiling. That's where I start to panic. We immediately grabbed a rope and start to tie the roofs into the sofas so it will not get totally detached from our house.

It was 12nn when we noticed that the wind became calmer. It was a long night indeed. but we are still blessed that we are still safe and our home is standing still unlike some other photos that I saw from our area wherein their houses are totally wrecked and some got soaked in the neck-deep flood.

After the storm, we experienced having no electricity and a source of clean water for 5 days. That is the most crucial part. I had to leave for a while on my work and we can't have a decent sleep because of mosquitos.

To cut the story short ( tho I know I already said a lot lol ) 5 days had passed and I already managed to go back to work but there are parts of this town and this country that still needs donations and help from us. We are blessed that we're able to survive this catastrophe so we don't hesitate to help too.

| November 18

I was looking for a group of people who are conducting a donation drive near our place. Fortunately, I saw this small group of teenagers and they are willing to pick up some old clothes ( but still wearable ) from us.

FRE ORG.

This small organization is collecting donations for those areas that are greatly affected by typhoon ulysses.

Some of these clothes are from my father and some are already too small for me.

Even though there is a law here for not donating used clothes but I think as long as it still decent enough to wear will be fine.

I hope everyone is safe.
You may rarely see me writing articles here cause adulting requires you a lot of time but I promise to share with you all those important experiences in my life.

shoutout to @bmjc98 and @wakeupkitty @esciisc

Keep safe!
;

6
$ 1.13
$ 0.50 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.12 from @bmjc98
+ 2
Sponsors of Don26
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Don26
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Hope 2021 is a lot better because 2020 really made the world stop for months with nothing. 2021 hopefully will be a time for the world to move again and to move in full action than anything. Glad to see you guys aren't so heavily affected by the storm that passed. Sana wala nang sumunod pa ;;-;;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are not allowed to donate used clothes? What kind of law is that? We donate, share, ask around, give it to shops for free and they sell it. This is what we call no waste and humanity. You find containers which collect used clothes and shoes and I can guarantee you people give, are happy to receive it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, the reason why they created that law is that they don't people who experience this kind of catastrophe to feel degraded by wearing used clothes. But for me, I think it depends. Cause some tend to give clothes that are not wearable ( for example, school uniforms, wedding dresses etc. clothes that you don't wear on a regular basis ).

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Godbless your helping hands... let's hope na last na yun pra mkabangon mga kababayan ntin na nasalanta ng bagyo

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, sana last na. ang hirap pag ganto lagi.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Let's hope that there will be no more negative things nor catastrophic event in the remaining months of this year 🙏🏻 It's good to see you back.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same. so everyone can look forward and start over na for the next year. thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago