Survive this, you'll survive anything.

19 54
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago
Topics: Life, School, Scary, Spooky, Funny, ...

Do you still feel scared when you remember your most scary encounters? I bet you do!! There are things so spooky and scary that merely recalling them send chills down our spine. It means that such memories are still in our minds and are yet to be released. You might find it strange that a person just laughs when she remembers her past spooky experiences, well I do. I do laugh at my scary experiences because I did find them both funny and scary when they happened, but now the scare is gone, it remains only the laughing aspect.

I attended a boarding high school that wasn't so close to the city. You can say that it is far away from normal civilization. It's just like they found a really really thick forest, cleared the center of the forest and then decide to build a school on it. Yeah, that's how far it was from civilization. They had no idea what forces where operating there before they cleared the area, no idea what it is they triggered in the process of building the school. Whatever the case, it seems the school was haunted by some unseen forces and still is. You know, no matter how bad something is, when you encounter it often I guess you'll adapt to it someday. When I was still there, I encountered alot of things on regular basis that it kinda got to a point where I developed an immunity against being scared by such stuff, or let's just say they minimized and instead of being scared, we started finding them funny.

I am going to be sharing the most scary experiences I have had and how I survived them. Here we go! Enjoy!

The Bush Baby.

I have heard people call the bush baby an animal, and yes it could be, and the ones I see in our school look like animals but infact, they had this spooky aura around them that you could instantly sense something amiss with them. Maybe they were just normal animals whose bodies have been inhabited by unseen evil forces. One thing about the Bush baby is its cry which sounds just like the human baby's. I have had about two encounters with this creature. One was when it gave me a hot chase when I came back from the prep area late in the night, a chase I don't know till date how I managed to escape from. The other was when I saw it all curled up like a new born baby with its eyes reflecting the sunlight. Of course I left the place instantly to avoid the repetition of the first occurrence.

the bush baby

Image Source

A lot of beliefs circle around this creature. Some people say they are capable of killing people, others say that they are spiritual creatures with spiritual powers, others even belief that they have some regenerative powers, that means they can help regenerate lost body parts. Whatever the case, I avoid them like the plague and will still run away if I were to see one right now!

The Stop Hand Symbol.

Image Source

This is something I encountered personally and will never forget. There are times when I wake up to pee in the night and when I try entering into the toilet to pee, I see a hand signalling to me to stop. A hand that neither has a face nor a trunk. Just a palm... nothing else. Of course I was terrified out of my wits on my first encounter and I relayed it to my fellow hostel mates and they said it's something they know nothing about because they too experience it but do not know who is behind the hand. When it got too much, I just move to the next toilet or if I haven't the presence of mind to deal with such a situation, I all together avoid entering the toilet and just pee near a gutter at the back of my hostel. My thoughts now is what would happen if a person still passes into the toilet despite the sign? No one has ever tried that so I wouldn't know.

The Invisible Volleyball Players:

From Unsplash

I first encountered this when I was in SS3. I was made captain prefect of my hostel then so it was my duty to make sure everyone sleeps in her bed. I developed a routine of waking up in the night to supervise the rooms, taking names of those who hadn't spend the night in their hostel for questioning. One day when I was doing my routine, I passed by the volleyball court beside the hostel and then I heard them. They were playing volleyball. They were invisible but I could here their voices repeatedly saying "hey pass me the ball" and other stuff you say when you're playing volleyball. One can even hear the ball bouncing on the concrete floor but neither the ball nor its players could be seen. I respectfully left the scene as soon as I noticed what I noticed and off I went to bed, drew my blanket up to my face, shivered for sometime before finally(fortunately!) falling asleep.

Aljani Batoyi:

Aljani Batoyi is a spirit that comes out when he's very angry. Of course no one knows the cause of his anger but what he does is that it comes out in the night (when he's angry), spits fire(as his way of venting) then go off! Just like that!

From unsplash.

"Aljani" means spirit in hausa language and Batoyi was his personal name I guess haha. I haven't personally encountered Aljani Batoyi but I have seen results his work. I have woken up several times to see pieces of burnt papers and clothes and sometimes even tree trunk. All these testify to his work. Those who have seen him say that he looks like a kite that isn't really a kite. More like a bat with a humanoid face with feathers that aren't really feathers but enlarged masses of loose skin.

The sad story I heard was that two years after I graduated, two hostels in my Alma mater caught fire without a known or obvious cause, seven lives were lost and the school had to be shut down for about two months. The students blamed it on Aljani Batoyi but who believes such stories nowadays? Even if they believe them, how do you catch a spirit? The unharmed witnesses of the inferno claimed that it started from a single mattress, just like that, and them as if by magic, another mattress from another compartment of the hostel caught fire and so it spread. I cried when this happened because two girls who were so close to me when I still there where caught up in the fire and lost their lives.

Image from unsplash. This is a baobab tree. It is believed that baobab trees are a very good habitat for spirits and invisible forces. If this were true, then I guess it partly explains why our school is the way it is because we've got hundreds of them within the school vicinity and in the bushes around.

I still got alot to share on these experiences and I hope to continue tomorrow. I hope you enjoyed reading them. Stay tuned.

Thanks for reading.

Yours layly,

❀❀❀❀

11
$ 2.79
$ 2.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 7
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago
Topics: Life, School, Scary, Spooky, Funny, ...

Comments

Just reading about the bush baby alone, I was already scared. I hated anything scary back then in school and at home

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha. No one loves scary things, except scary people themselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All the names of these spiritual entity the you have mentioned are new to me. Just while I'm reading the Bush baby, it was like a "Tiyanak" in our country but when you show the the picture, it looks reptile.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah. Africa has alot of spiritual entities peculiar to it. I just Googled tiyanak and it seems it takes The shape of the whole baby.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I heard so many stories back then in secondary school, from bush baby to Mrs koinkoin, well to me then it was scary but right now I don't believe them, cause I feel they were just made up stories to kind of frighten us and allπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well Well. Some are indeed real. Talking from experience..πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have heard some scary stories too, I also went to a boarding school, there was talk of the bush baby, miss koi koi and so many others. I never experienced any of them in real life, thank God because if i had, I'd probably have left the school being too scared to continue.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're indeed lucky! I am going to talk about miss koi koi today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I went back to check the name of the person who posted this article because I don't think any country experience this except Nigeria.

I have heard very scary stories like this which my mom told me but haven't seen in real life. I would have run away from the school if I experience such, which part of Nigeria is the school located???

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yeah. Nigeria is one of a kind haha. The school is located in the outskirts of Kano. I ran away too but I was brought back the following day lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alone in my room, and it suddenly feels different. Always thought the Bush baby ish was a myth, so, you're saying they exist?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yeah. They do exist. They are animals..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting. I never knew, or rather, I never believed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a scary, and I couldn't finish reading because is nightπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ and it's getting spooky.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha. It indeed is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And look I'm listening it silently. Those are scary, I understand. But I hope you can overcome it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yeah. I already overcome it. I just find it funny now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't remember any scary moments that I had but I have a lot of embarassing moments that when I remember today makes me cringe. I can only wish the earth to swallow me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We all have that haha. We sometimes look back and wonder if it's really us who did those things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago