On regrets in life.

12 47
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

Mistakes are a part of life, they become scary when instead of learning from them we keep repeating them, that's when it is called stupidity rather than a mistake. When we make mistakes that are serious, they may turn into regrets which may linger even long after the mistakes happened. Although painful, feelings of regrets are necessary because they serve as constant reminders for us not to repeat the same mistake which brought about the regret in the first place and also to help us to grow more from they mistakes. However there are regrets we will have to live with for the rest of our lives and that's okay, but then we shouldn't let them define us.

My regrets in life have made me come up with my core belief which, like mentioned in my last article are based upon Love and Sacrifice, that has helped me become a better person both for myself and for those around me. I came up with those beliefs because there was a point when a point in my life when I was tpo selfish to sacrifice for the people I love and I ended up doing serious things that hurt them and me in the long run, the painful part is that they were hurt for something that, on looking back, is unimportant so we can say that they were hurt for nothing. My mistakes have helped me grow and I am proud of them, the only part I will have to live with is the part where they hurt people. If there were a way for me to go back in time and erase that part, I'd give up anything to do so, I try my best to make those people who ai have hurt with my past actions happy now that I am better, that's those with whom I am still in touch, as for those whom I have gotten separated from, there was a time I sought their forgiveness and if I could remember quite well, all those I contacted felt kind of awkward at the reasons for contacting them but they forgave me nonetheless. That's how important it was for me.

Make peace with your past self..

The fact that we have regrets alone makes us better people. The reason is that you've acknowledged that what you did was wrong and that's a step towards correcting it. Those who never admit to being wrong or have no capacity to feel remorse are one of the worst people on earth. These people usually come in the form of narcissists,psychopaths and sociopaths! Regrets to some extent are a proof that you wouldn't want to commit the same mistake again which makes you different from the version of you who committed that mistake, that's growth.

Living with regrets can be depressing. My advice to all those living with one is that the regrets aren't a bad thing and instead of seeing them as such, see them as a tool for growth. If it involves other people, seek their forgiveness, if they do forgive you then it's a good thing. If they don't, please don't despair as God knows you've done your best. Open a new chapter of yoir life and write with the pen of change.

Thanks for reading.

Yours Layly,

💖💖💖.

13
$ 2.62
$ 2.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.05 from @Bilqees
+ 12
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

Comments

Don't be sad! You are what you are with your all parts, each part is connected with other parts which helps you to be you. Forgiveness would be better option in everyones life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Failure and mistakes often allows us to examine what worked or what didn't even more so than success. It can foster your critical and analytical thinking skills, allowing you to innovate, redirect and try another way to execute something the next time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The crazy thing about regret is that it sometimes comes up when it's already too late to fix, like a person who's already on their death bed and suddenly realize he was too focused on making money and never had time to have fun, at that point it's already too late to fix it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right. This kind of regrets hits the hardest. If there's nothing we can do it is always best to move on.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truly sis, making peace with our past can make us move forward lightly and not burdened. We learn from our past mistakes and not dwell on them through regrets.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes FG. Our past mistakes should help us grow not hinder us in form of regrets

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Make peace with the past... This one is hard hitting. At least for me. I need the healing to have the peace with my past.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It does take time, however it is always worth it. Take the time needed to heal yourself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are bound to make mistakes and regret them but it shouldn't last that long cos it will hinder a lot of progress.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's right. The past remains in the past, future is bright.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Living with regrets can really hinder the progress of an individual which is why one has to make amends with his/her past self in order to be in good terms with the present and the future.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right. While they help us realise our mistakes, we shouldn't let them hinder our present selvees.

$ 0.00
1 year ago