It's been a while!

21 22
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

Hello Readstars!

Hope you've all been doing well all these while. It's been a week since I have logged into readcash and to be honest, I missed you all. I missed reading all of your articles and dropping my comments. I have been busy with schoolwork. Lots and lots of it!

Upon logging into readcash just now, I got about 1700+ readcash notifications when I tapped on the red bell. I was shocked and at the same time not so. I was shocked because I started wondering if someone logged into my account and subscribed to more people hence, the many notifications or perhaps I have actually spent more time off readcash more than I thought. I am typing this after replying to the comments on my previous article and to be honest, I don't know what to write about lol. πŸ˜‚

Well... I guess I am just gonna tell y'all about my experiences in the past week:

I fell sick:

Well I actually did. I fell sick. Terribly sick. It was sudden and unexpected. It was a terrible headache that affected only a fourth of my head. It was later confirmed that it was a type of headache known as cluster headache. Cluster headache is a type of headache that affects only a portion of the head(either right or left) and unfortunately, cluster headache has no cure. You just have to let it go on its own. You have to savor every bit of the deep, agonising pain until it lets go of you. It was really terrible haha, but thank God I am fine now.

Met a friend from six years ago:

You know how good it feels when you meet a friend whom ypu have tried so hard to get their contact after your separation but couldn't, and then boom! fate reunites you both.

I met a friend on Friday while I was returning from the teaching hospital. Her name is Baraka. Baraka and I attended the same junior secondary school and we were very good friends. In fact we were in the same hostel and the same corner. I tried contacting her after we separated but it was futile because she said(after we met) that her phone at that time was stolen. I even checked the group chat but she was nowhere to be found. I had other engagement after returning from the hospital but on meeting her near the school gate, I was so excited that I had to cancel all my plans for the day and we went to her house! There we ate, talked and talked until 5:00pm after which I left for the school. The world is indeed a small place. Life has a way of reuniting you with your lost friends, people whom you think you'll never meet again.

I dissected a cadaver for the first time:

This actually took place yesterday. I have never dissected a cadaver before except yesterday. In all the cadaver sessions we have been having, I either just watch other people do it because I find it way to "gruesome". Sometimes I find it difficult to even watch other people open up dead bodies because I am a very easily scared person. My personal values saw it as a sin against me. A sin to open up a body that should have been buried. A body that should have been laid to rest rather than used as a practical sample for students. It just felt wrong to me and there was actually a point in time where I wanted to quit.

I realised just yesterday that all those feelings are just sentiments of my own personality which, although I can't so away with, this is a path I have chosen to walk for the rest of my life. I still have to find a way to make peace with my feelings and focus at the task at hand if I ever want to do this, so I let it go and yes, I did it!

My spiritual guide :

The spiritual path is a path you can't walk alone. Well.. You can walk it alone but it becomes alot more easier when you have a friend. A companion. A Guide. I have been exploring my inner self of late and I have been really serious with it. I guess the Universe decided to reward me with a spiritual teacher to make it alot easier. I accidentally stumbled across this person on a Facebook group and it has been a wonderful journey ever since till this day! I think that we are far beyond what we perceive ourselves as.We are greater and without spirituality, it is almost impossible for you to realise that greatness that lies within you, waiting patiently to be discovered and once you do, happiness becomes a sure thing for you.

Thanks for reading guys. These are things that happened during the past week. The rest has just been schoolwork, loads and loads of it!

Thank you all for the love and support you have been showing me despite how things are turning out to be, Layla sees it all and appreciates it.

All images from Unsplash.com

Lots and lots of love,

Layla.

πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“

8
$ 1.09
$ 0.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 3
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

Comments

Glad to have you back ... the school stress is getting to us all bit by bit

$ 0.01
2 years ago

that is right. It is not easy at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That happiness when you meet a long time friend cannot be quantified. ItΒ΄s always the best moment and at that moment, memories of the past would appear. I hope you are feeling much better now? Take good care of yourself.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was really a cool experience. I do feel much better now. Thank you princess ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome back dear, hope you're feeling better we've really missed you. Welcome back once again

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thank you very much Freedom

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was wondering where you have been lately, never knew you were sick, hope you're back to full health now? As for the school stress, it's not only you that is feeling the heat but luckily for me, I have a bit of breathing space for now. Welcome back dear, you have been missed 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is really so for everybody. We all just try to make space to do other things that matter not just school school and school. I feel much better now Kushyzee, glory be to God

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had this headache in January and the drugs I used didn't work but it's gone now. It's good you have found a spiritual mentor. Our spiritual growth is important.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Drugs do not always work Ife, they usually go on their own. I believe spirituality is the key to a happy life and that is why i dedicate time to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This kind of headache is common now, sadly we have no other option except accepting this unbearable pain. It is really seems better to meet a friend after so many years and tries. If I were there when you were dissecting a cadaver then I would definitely faint there. I must say that you are really brave

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha.. we all exhibit bravery when it is needed. It is there in all of us. It was really nice to meet my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is true that we always find our bravery when we need it the most. It is my immense pleasure to meet you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to experience that kind of headache and i thought it's part of my migraine. Headaches is really terrible, I also can't do anything when my head is in pain.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They can be really troublesome of they want to be. Soemtimes I prefer head massage rather than drugs. They do not seem to work

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Look who's back? We missed you doc. Finally a glimpse of you. I'm sad that you faced many problems in this duration.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

awwnn.. I missed you too Luci. The stress keeps mounting up but we are still managing somehow. We have to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could never practice on a corpse. I congratulate you because you were able to take that big step towards your improvement in the career you chose as a profession. It is good that you were able to see your "lost" friend. Those kinds of friendships are never forgotten. I wish you good luck.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Rodriguez, we have to sacrifice some things for something better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome back Layla. It really feels good to see a long lost friend and dissecting a cadaver sounds scary and gruesome but cool. Only medical students like you can do that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

dissecting a cadaver is anything but cool lol. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago