I, me and myself.

17 41
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

I feel so unmotivated to write an article today and one of the reasons I am writing one right now is because I would definitely end up feeling better after doing so because I challenged myself to write an article a day. I don't want myself to think that I am not up to the task asn end up mocking me when I am sleeping. You see,

"I" and "Me" are what everyone sees at the surface, while "myself" is buried deep down and only God and I knows about "myself". I can't risk allowing "myself" to be exposed or become vulnerable to others, they are better off with "I" and "Me".

Part of the inspiration I got for this article was @Marinov article "Sunday mourning" where she talked about how songs can stir up buried emotions or those feelings we think have faded away. It is 10:30pm here in Nigeria and as usual, I listen to some good music while sipping anything cold drink ranging from soft drinks to the locally made "kunu", anything that keeps my throat wet. I had already given up on writing an article today when I came across NF's song "INTRO III" that struck all cords in my body. Now I should say I am not normally a fan of rap music but NF's music always speaks to me in different ways. All his songs are relatable to me. You might understand what I am talking about if you take time to listen to the song :

In this song,NF seems to be having a conversation between him and himself. I can't really tell whom is whom though but the music seems like a conversation between his childhood self, a self created by some childhood experience and has grown with him. I will refer to this childhood self as "him". Since our childhood experiences and challenges do not necessarily define who we are it can't be "himself". Go get to understand more when you hear the song.

Now what I am trying to say is that we as humans have some other identity we are afraid of exposing. It doesn't mean being fake or anything if you're hiding that identity, it might just be a means of protecting ourselves. Sometimes some of us get unlucky with this identity we try so much to protect. It may be torturing some of us. Some of us are happy with it as it lits us up when we are down. While others have simply made a compromise with this identity and are just living with it on equal terms.

The relationship I have with my "Myself" can be likened to that of an elder and younger sister. They love each other but may act as though they hate each other. Haha. I am very sure she's disappointed seeing this or even disappointed because I got myself to finally write something but she will still be happy in the end.

Yay!

I am done.

Well... Seriously I don't know whether to call this an article or a short post seeing how short it is. But at least I wrote something today so I guess I kept the promise I made to "Me" right?

Meet my awesome sponsors to whom I am very grateful and will always remain so. Thank you very much once again.

Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty

This brings us to the end of this article.

What kind of relationship do you have with "yourself?". Do you consider "you" as "I", "me" or "myself?".

I would love to see your comments.

Thanks to all my readers for reading this piece.

Yours Layly,

Do not forget to like and subscribe. :)

The time is 10:47pm now. It's night already. Bye for now.

4
$ 0.31
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @Gaftekloriginal
$ 0.02 from @Marinov
+ 5
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

Comments

Indeed every on has a protective side that we are not willing not expose or show to the world yet. It is normal and it doesn’t mean we are faking it, we probably just aren’t comfortable with sharing that side.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed giddyboy. It takes alot for someone to break those walls and an equal lot to give in to them. Caution is very required.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm happy someone remembered the article I wrote 😁 yeah you're right it doesn't mean we have that attitude we keep, we are faking people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure.😁 We gain inspiration from one another here and that's why we are one big family.🤩 Our sanity should be protected by all means.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lovely! ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have different faces and personalities depends on who we are with. But the kind of us that only comes out when we are talking to God is different and very genuine too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the most genuine aspect of us. God knows us all through and He is the only one we can be at our most vulnerable state with...some humans also provide that safe haven but it is nothing like God's.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's true, there are some things that I only kept in myself but it doesn't mean I am fake. I am just protecting myself from those people around me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma'am. It takes a lot to expose that part of us. Once we expose it we become vulnerable no matter how strong we are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes we have that attitude that is keep within us, but we are not fake:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes. And that is usually the real us. In a world where very little people care, we can't risk being vulnerable to all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed:) Annie Marie of noisecash here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😮😮😮 I was actually guessing same Adrielle. The cute baby on your PROFILE pic looks very much like the one on noise. Thanks for the clarification.:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha:) nice meeting you here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha:) nice meeting you here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I listened to the song and oh my word. I enjoyed that. Thank you for sharing that. His old fear and the changes he made to conquer them, amazing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The song is really amazing Momma. NF is a very talented musician and his songs always find ways to relate to you. I am really glad you enjoyed it.😁 Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago