Convalescing in school.

8 50
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago
Topics: Sick, School, Resumption, Happy, Peace, ...

Good afternoon dear readstars!

I hope you all have been living life strong and appreciative. We all gotta keep up with the pressure without breaking ya know. Remember I told you guys I was sick in my last article? Well unfortunately, it turned out to be worse than I had expected. Anyways I am very much better now and I want to thank all those who commented on my last article wishing me a speedy recovery.

I resumed school while I was still on medications so I am going to spend my convalescent period in school. I had already spent the first week of resumption at home so I didn't see it fit to add another week so I gathered my drugs, my blankets and other luggage and off I went to school. I am accustomed to starting my journey in the evening time just so I can arrive when it is dark. I dislike drawing attention to myself, that way no one would know I even resumed except when they see me the following morning.

The atmosphere of the school was far different from that of inside town. It is much colder in the school owing to the vast amount of trees that are planted all over. I expected the school to be cold compared to outside, but I in no way expected it to be freezing! It isn't even half way into th harmattan and my school is already the Antarctica, crazy!

I was immediately glad I came prepared for it, even though I wasn't expecting my preparation to be put to use sooner. The last thing I want at the moment is for my pneumonia to be triggered, as that wouldn't be very favorable for my stay in school. Exams is coming up in about two weeks, although medical students aren't part of the semester exams, we still have a series of tests we should have written prior to the strike coming up, so I for one have to prepare. That's part of the reason I had to resume despite not having fully recovered as there's no way I can bring myself to study while still at home.

Overall, the turn up for resumption is still rather low despite it being the second week of resumption now, I guess even the students are tired, I mean who wouldn't be? Eight months of stay at home literally doing nothing is well enough to milk a person dry of any motivation he had. Environment-wise, the school is still a big mess. I wonder why sanitaty measures haven't been put in place by the school management yet.

While other students are busy preparing for exams, medical students are to continue with lectures and judging from how no lecturer has showed up even to say hello(we are quite friendly with our lecturers), it makes me wonder if lectures would start anytime soon as they would have at least announced a fixed date. In all fairness though, our academic calendar is yet to be out so that could be a reason why the lectures haven't started.

Well, we move. I will take this week to readapt to the environment and create schedules for the rest of the semester.

Thanks for reading.

Yours Layly,

❤️❤️

10
$ 0.86
$ 0.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 10
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago
Topics: Sick, School, Resumption, Happy, Peace, ...

Comments

Finding strength in resilience – convalescing in school speaks of determination and the pursuit of learning despite challenges.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

I pray for your continued healing. I hope you are better now. The school should have prepared the school for the resumption of classes. They have all the time in the world to do that or maybe not.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It may take time for things to run back to normality. All the best to you as you resume lectures or any other activities at your school.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Here we have someone going to school despite not fully recovered, meanwhile some of us have been at home since school resumed two weeks ago 😆 the whole thing is really tiring when I think about it, to go back to school after 8 months and pretend as if it's normal isn't easy at all, the school spirit in me has died.

Speedy recovery to you Layla, I hope you get back to 100% health soon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too oo I am telling you. I just came back from the library now I swear na only one page enter 😂😂 for a whole two hours oo. I am in trouble oo.

Thanks alot. I am much better now

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I swear na only one page enter

🤣 I can totally relate, but I believe it will get better. The same thing happened after COVID-19 lockdown but we still adapted 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi Doc! I didn't know you were severely ill. That explains your absence. I quite missed your articles.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awwn yes I was. I was down wiry malaria. I missed been here too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago