A damage, a repair and a damage.

15 63
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago
Topics: Phone, Repair, Damage, Life, Wisdom, ...

For the past three days, I have been having some issues with my phone although not an internal issue it is still annoying. The charging port became faulty and since the power retaining capacity of the phone is rather low, I usually charge it with my power bank at almost all times. Ever since the charging point got faulty, it became impossible for me to use the phone while charging it with my power bank as I have to incline the cable at an angle before it charges, with that inclination I can't do anything so I just let it charge in peace. However I soon got tired of it all and decided to take it to a repair shop to save myself from further stress and my super fast cable from cutting because due to the inclination, it started developing a strain along its width.

The repair shop isn't that far from the house, I gave the dude the phone after telling him its problem and he set to work after rounding up some other client's work whose problem seems to be of the same nature as mine. He unscrewed the back of the phone, took out the panel, took out the charging port and mounted another after which he soldered it carefully to make sure it stuck. He tested it with a galvanometer but it didn't work. I then suddenly remembered that I came with a panel from my old phone just in case as I remember an incident where the panel had a problem and I mistook it for the charging port which made me spend more than I would have spent if it were the charging port. Lost in this thought, the galvanometer indicated a flow of current which means it worked! He assembled back the part, handed the phone to me and I paid and thanked him.

Later in the night, I was having a chat with a friend on WhatsApp and I sent a voice note, the friend said she didn't hear anything but I thought she was bluffing considering the fact that the note I recorded was sort of sarcastic or jokingly mocking, I thought it was just her way of not taking it serious. This morning however I realised there was something wrong when I called my brother, he said he wasn't hearing anything! I could hear him perfectly but he couldn't hear me. It was then I realised that in the process of repairing the charging port, the guy damaged the mic. No wonder! The amount of flame he applied on the panel could melt a rod, I kept quiet because it wasn't my job. I was a bit sad because that wasn't the first time something like this has happened. There was a time I gave some other phone repairer a job but he ended up causing a more serious damage, more serious than the one I paid him to correct.

I didn't take it back because it will only ensue in an argument (it has happened before) and that is what I don't have strength for now, was still, they might tell you to keep the phone with them, hindering your work with your phone and when you come to retrieve it they'll say they aren't done with it, their plan is to frustrate you into giving up so that you will take back your phone. My brother insisted that we go but I just let it go, I know the kind of person he is, he might trigger a fight and I don't want that. I will put another mic maybe tomorrow God willing.

What's your unpleasant experience with phone repairers? Let's hear it in the comment section.

Thanks for reading.

Yours Layly,

💖💖💖

17
$ 3.47
$ 3.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bilqees
$ 0.05 from @MichaelBCH
+ 14
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago
Topics: Phone, Repair, Damage, Life, Wisdom, ...

Comments

Hey Layla, I have been in your shoes a couple of times last year. The first time I went to repair my phone's charging port, my mic was affected and I didn't know until I tried making a phone call. I immediately took it back to the repairer and they fixed it asap. The mic tends to be mistankly disconnected when repairing charging ports because they sit side by side on the down board, a very good phone technician usually checks the mic after repairing a charging port. Another thing is that the technician that repaired your phone might have installed a new down board (a brand new charging port panel that comes with a mic) and sometimes the mic on those new down board are damaged. Just take it back to him so he can fix it, it usually don't take up to 30 minutes

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hmm.. Thanks Kushyzee. I realise they are located in the same place. I guess I will have to try my luck then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is similar to my experience, only in my case, he damaged my phone's screen trying to repair the charging port. I just collected my phone and went home.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nawaoo. Your own seems to be worse. Phone screen gaba daya! What was his excuse? There aren't even in the same place.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The screen got bad as he was trying to open the phone

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My friend sorry for all the inconveniences the repairer brought you by damaging your phone's mic. That's how some phone repairers are, they aren't just so unprofessional in their chosen field. Imagine adding more faults to the faultiness of your phone, isn't that lack of professionalism? Yes, it is. Please give the job to a highly competent repairer this time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks AYO. I have learnt my lesson now. Next time I will take it to a shop instead of the market.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Especially Android phone with their problem. Once a particular spot get faulty and you repair it, it develops into another problem until you decide to get a new one.

I am always careful with phone like android because anything can happen that can lead to more problem. Sorry about that.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right princess, especially this GiONEE phone I am using.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If anything, this should be pure incompetence. I think I agree with your brother, you should have gone to him. Even if an argument ensues, it's totally worth it. Now, you will just only be fixing another person's naivety.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right Michael. The thing is that even if my bro had gone there, another excuse would just be made and the other phone repairers would side with their partner,that's what happens often. At the end of the day it would only be a waste of energy. I have learnt my lesson now, people in shops do a better job than those in market places.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I once ordered to repair my cellphone but bad things happened to me because the parts on my cellphone were replaced, indeed the cellphone could be operated but it didn't last long, it finally broke.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's sad. Some of them are really heartless.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Phone engineers can be terrible sometimes and one needs to be careful when giving them job to do. I hope you get it repaired, sorry about the damaged part.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They can be indeed terrible. If you're an unsuspecting person they may even remove a part of your phone without you noticing. Thanks George.

$ 0.00
1 year ago