The bigger picture

4 22
Avatar for DiikaanYe
1 year ago

So yesterday as I was working on the system to run our midweek service live streaming in church, I ran into a little difficulty or so I thought. The real issue started on Sunday morning when our primary hard disk crashed unexpectedly.

Thank God we had a secondary hard drive installed already with an operating system. So that Sunday, in a bid to mitigate the effect of the setback, we had to switch to the secondary hard drive, run some installations and stream on YouTube, as Facebook gave us a little extra issue.

In the process of fixing the system, we ended up dismantling our connections. Back to yesterday, I had not been in church since Sunday so I decided to go early in order so I can put things in place before service starts. Well I got to church and my oga was already there working on the system.

We exchanged pleasantries and I asked if he's been able to repay the primary hard drive, and he was like

"no o, I can't even access it again to back up files from there. We need to format it". That's when my head started spinning.

"Ah! No o, my templates, presets, softwares, files, courses, all not backed up. Abeg we go need find way back am up before formatting".

He burst out laughing but he knew I was right because even all the church's files were on that hard disk.

Just when I was about to start streaming, I checked for my capture card where it was supposed to be behind the system but could not find it.

"ah ah, what's happening? Them thief my capture card?"

then I tried getting signal from our other system for scriptures and song lyrics, nothing came up, but then the minister was reading the scriptures in the church.

I was already tensed and I started looking for capture card and signal only to notice that the camera was already showing on my system and the scriptures were also showing on one of the screens in church. "oga please come o, what's happening?" again he started laughing "I've done the splitting we talked about, and I've also bought a USB hub for the capture card and other stuff".

Look at me getting bugged by the little parts when we had already discussed about the bigger picture or connection. This also applies to our individual lives, most times we focus too much on the little parts that we're used to, and that matters less and we ignore the bigger picture.

Some of us go into prayers laying out our desires and plans, but then when the process starts, we get bugged by the little difficulties that comes our way.

We forget that the difficult situation is to refine us for the bigger outbreak that we're approaching. We get distracted by little failures and forget that it's supposed to teach us those things we're not to do next time.

It's like when we fall sick, feeling feverish, with sore throat, and maybe flu. But instead of treating the disease which might be malaria, we're busy trying to fight the symptoms instead thereby losing sight of the real problem.

Many times in the journey of life, we will be confused, discouraged, and even disappointed, but if only you keep your mind right, focus on the bright side of things and not let the little difficulties distract you, then you'll eventually emerge on the other side bigger and better.

The truth is, it is always right before us, but if there are no distractions, then you won't learn the art of focusing, and if there's no rain, you won't appreciate the sun.

Everything has its end goal and and everyone has a process. It won't be smooth sailing, but it will be worth the while. Keep your focus and look at the bigger picture irrespective of the current situation and be the best you can be.

Cover Image from Unsplash.com

Sponsors of DiikaanYe
empty
empty
empty

Thanks for giving my ink value. You're free to air your views and opinions in the comments section, It'll be my pleasure to learn and engage. See you on the next article

4
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TeacherLynlyn
Avatar for DiikaanYe
1 year ago

Comments

We need to look forward to the bigger picture. Regardless of how hard the situation will be, we need to keep going and trust the process because, in the end, it is all worth it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah. It's all about clarity of our situation and conditioning of our minds

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah! Most times we focus on the picture before us without giving attention to our surroundings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Which usually deflects us from the bigger picture

$ 0.00
1 year ago