I've Defaulted Already

8 36
Avatar for DiikaanYe
1 year ago

This isn't how I planned my July. Not to be going a day or two without engaging on this platform. Still relatively a newbie on this platform and knowing how important engagement is on this community, I shouldn't be going a whole day without posting or engaging other people's post on this platform. For the little time I've been here, I've read some very wonderful articles, and if not for anything, but for the knowledge and motivation that's constantly dished out on this platform, I should never miss any day.

I even had a special resolution for this month that I was very confident about, but that was before the weekend came. The weekend that disrupted my flow and made me default on my resolution in just the first week. So you might be wondering what the weekend did right? Okay here it is, it did nothing bad, just a lot of stress.

It was actually my cousin's first child dedication. The thing is that my cousin is not around, he works offshore and he just got back on deck 3 months ago, so there was nowhere he could apply for leave to attend his child's dedication. Well, if you're a Nigerian, you'll know that child dedication is a big deal over here, and since my cousin is not around, I had to stand in for him in a lot of ways (definitely not with his wife).

Throughout Saturday, we were busy with cooking arrangements, from going to the market to gathering the necessary utensils, to staying up for the better part of the night to cook. The house was a beehive that even when I dozed off for two hours, it was in an uncomfortable position on the couch and I snapped out of it with body pains.

Then I had to be in church as early as 6am to put things in place, go to his house and capture the baby and the mother. Yes I was also in charge of media. Helter skelter became my name for those two days and even my health app reminded me that I have completed my steps goal foe both days (more than 10000 steps)

Now the occasion is over and thank God it was successful. The rain only started after we had finished the reception. It was beautiful, even more successful than we had planned, but now it's over and I'm back to my real self. I hope I can now keep to my resolutions and continue to engage with the beautiful souls that pour their hearts out on this platform while also contributing my own little quota to the community and complete my 30 Days Writing Challenge.

Oh! Wait. Did I say that is over? My bad, I haven't edited the videos yet. But then, that won't interfere with my resolutions. So I'm good, and it's good to be back. Damn! Just one day and it feels like forever.

Thanks for giving my ink value, see you next on Day 4 of the writing challenge.

Sponsors of DiikaanYe
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 0.07
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.02 from @Bilqees
Avatar for DiikaanYe
1 year ago

Comments

Congratulations to your cousin and you did so well to stand in line. Well done. That's what family is all about. I am glad that you are finding your feet already here and you will do remarkably well here.

I wish you strength for the video editing. I know how stressful that can be too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. This place can be overwhelming, but I'm learning from some of the best like you, so I guess I'll do well. I really need the strength for those videos, cos I've not even started And thank you for the kind words, I really appreciate.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are most welcome, brother. Well done.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi, DiikaanYe. 🤎 It is nice to see you starting your journey on this platform. I hope we can get along and I'll see you around.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's nice to be here too We'll definitely get along and yes you'll see me around as I'm here to stay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's nice, one of the service which is applauded is service to humanity, being there for your cousin means a lot... I hope you keep to your resolution

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for the kind words. My cousin is like a big brother, so there's nothing in my powers that I wouldn't do for him.

I hope so too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcomr

$ 0.00
1 year ago