The Breadwinner

7 27

Hello everyone! How are you today? I hope you are doing well.

This is my second day on this site. I'm really excited to read so many of your posts and feel so encouraged to write. I just wanted to thank everyone who has welcomed me here and subscribed to my channel.

To be honest, I'm unsure where to begin. But I'd like to write an engaging piece, and I'm thinking about starting with my own personal experiences. Because it would take too long to explain the entire story of my life, I won't. hehe

Okay let's begin...…

I was staring at a photo of my family last night. My duties and my goals came to mind. Think about the future and how I can overcome life's obstacles.

So one thing I can do is assist my siblings in getting to school and building a comfortable concrete home for them. Yes, I'm under a lot of stress right now, trying to figure out how to make it happen. Is it feasible for me to accomplish this? How? When? What if I'm unable to complete the task? That is a list of some of the questions I have always considered. I have trouble sleeping because I'm afraid about the future and constantly overthink it. As a breadwinner, this is my most difficult task.

My family

Are you a breadwinner?

Family is extremely important in the Philippines. We have this malasakit qualities and aid each other. If you come from a low-income family and are the eldest or earner, it is your job to assist your family in providing for their needs, particularly in financial matters. It is up to you if you wish to assist. You still have the option of helping or not.

My family is my everything.

My family is far from ideal, yet we are devoted to one another. Our loving parents mold us into better people by providing all we require, particularly in school, as well as providing us with support and guidance. Giving the gift of education, which no one else can give. I'm incredibly proud of them and grateful for their presence in my life.

However, there is always a problem lurking behind our smile and tiny success. The most crucial of these is our financial needs.

My dearest parents

Struggles that I can't forget

Yes, I grew up in a poor home. I'm the only daughter and second child in a family of five. My father worked as a coconut wine vendor, while my mother was a stay-at-home mother. My father's earnings are insufficient to meet all of our demands. We had a lot of debt to pay off, and I recall one time that we couldn't afford even salt to buy, and that we just owed detergents to our neighbors businesses.

During my elementary years, I also started selling bell peppers and onions; also at school, sell candy. While my parents were at work, I was also a spontaneous Yaya to my brothers.

I'm really involved in school and take part in all of the events. One of my teachers had previously offered me to participate in an activity dance folklore competition, but we couldn't afford the outfit, so I declined. However, she wants me to participate in the competition, possibly because she sees potential in me. She enlisted the help of her coworkers and became my sponsor. I was overjoyed at the moment because, thanks to my supportive teachers, I was allowed to join the program.

I don't always have money or baon to buy snacks at school, and even if I do, they're only a peso. However, I'm still happy since some of my friends offered me food or my teachers bought me snacks.

In high school, I faced the same financial difficulties, but I am grateful for my eldest brother's assistance because he financially helps me. In the same situation, I sold chocolates, biscuits, junk foods, popcorn, and other goods in school.

Every morning, I get up early since we have to walk 40 minutes to get to school. There are no vehicles because our route to school is a difficult mountain road . We predicted that on wet days, many students, including myself, would slide due to the slippery road. But we never grumble because we see it as an adventure and an opportunity. After four years of high school, I've had a lot of battles. I'm optimistic that I'll be able to graduate with distinctions.

High school graduation picture

I believed I'd never be able to attend college due to financial constraints, but my parents went above and beyond. My family migrated to another place in search of a better opportunity because we were unable to sustain ourselves. My mother found work as a housemaid, and my father's position as a coconut vendor remained unchanged. At last, I'm able to enroll in college because to my oldest brother's assistance and help of my parents

I sell groceries inside the dormitory and have a scholarship to assist them financially. Working while a student has also been a challenge for me, but I'm determined to persevere.

After four years of sacrifice, I was successful in winning the battle and graduating from college.

Despite all of these obstacles, however. My parents will never hear me complain. We can't afford everything, but I've never imagined myself having such expensive material things, and I know how hardworking my parents are. Yes, we are poor in material possessions, but we are extremely wealthy in their love, and support.

College graduation picture with a big smile 😄

What's next?

As I previously stated, I am the second child in the family, and my elder brother is about to become a father, which I am delighted about.

Now it's my turn to be the family's breadwinner. Providing financial assistance and support to my parents, as well as sending my siblings to school and pursuing my life goals. I choose to support my family because I care for them; they are the reason I'm still fighting for my life.

It's not easy to become a breadwinner, especially when your family and others are counting on you and expecting a lot. It's so heavy and overwhelming; what if I fail? What happens if I don't meet or exceed their expectations? What am I supposed to do now?

A lesson that I've learned:

  • Be humble all the time

  • Accept that you require assistance, especially if you are in a circumstance where you have nothing.

  • Focus your goal in life

  • Know your responsibility

  • Be madiskarte

Reminders

Keep fighting, all of you breadwinners! I understand that taking responsibility for our family's well-being, particularly in terms of finances, is difficult. However, we have chosen to assist them because we care about them. Please remember that your health is your shield and power. We continue to dream and express our gratitude and prayers to God. Let us offer him everything. He'll lead us in the right direction.

Oh, and I almost forgot to say that I graduated from college in the year 2019, and I've already landed my first, second, and third jobs, and how this covid19 shattered all of my plans is the next chapter of this article. Do you want to know more😊

My apologies for my grammatical errors.

Thank you for reading my short story. Keep safe and God bless 😇

Sponsors of DianaGal
empty
empty
empty
LIKE & SUBSCRIBE



4
$ 0.10
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
$ 0.02 from @Khing14

Comments

It is hard to become a breadwinner. My older sister is so lazy so I don't have a choice but to be the one who will save some money for my Mom abroad. I want also to build our own house and that is what I am saving for right now. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not easy but be strong. We are born to become the breadwinner and I know there's a reason. We'll get there someday, to live the life that we dreamed of today. Just keep fighting breadwinner!😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being the eldest, I am also the breadwinner of our family. I felt that I have a huge role in the family cause all of them depends on me even though I already have my own family. It's not easy but I keep on striving.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good to hear your spirit. It's not easy to become a breadwinner though I'm not an eldest, the pressure of being the breadwinner is on me now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh yeah...once a breadwinner always the breadwinner. All will depend on you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hard work and sacrifice always pay off. It may take time, but with perseverance, you will get there. While assuming the role of breadwinner for your family is admirable, make sure to teach your siblings about responsibility, especially because they are boys who will grow up to be men. They must value the support you provide, and always find ways to help and fend for themselves. Good luck in your future endeavors.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's one of my dreams that my siblings grew up to become a better man, and someday they will be able to provide for the needs of their future family. Well, thank you for your acknowledgement, May God bless you always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago