Academics: Road to become a journalist

14 28
Avatar for Dhes05
Written by
2 years ago

School is the second home of every children which shapes their body, mind and spirit.

I would like to greet everybody with a smile in the morning. This is the second article I created and published. My brother @DennMarc invited me here because he knows that it will be a great platform to develop my writing skills.

So I wanna talk about how I entered journalism and why I started joining competition too. So what are we waiting for right? Aja!

Little background

Infront of our school

I'm currently enrolled at La Mizpah Ville Academy and in 11th grade now. Our school is quite super active when it terms to academic activities. Although we're not able to have a face to face classes, but the most important thing is we are learning gradually. I'm a ABM student because I want to take BS Accountancy or if not, BS Business Administration. Just something related to business stuff.

My teachers are so good and kind. They are type of teachers who made students laugh in class and make the discussion lighter even if it's really hard. I'm weak in mathematics, but I'm solving it good if I can look at the formula. Without the formula, I don't think I can solve it. Haha.

Why I started joining journalism?

The PC I used during competition

One of my teacher chatted me if I'm willing to join in writing for the school publication. I said I'm not interested because I have no experience and I'm very shy to do it too. Yet, she always approaching like everyday and mentioning it to the class if there are willing to join and she'll start mentioning our names. Later on, I joined too.

In the next day, I'm shocked to know thay there is a fee joining the journalism because it has training classes and will be immediately compete to other school. That's why I asked my teacher if I can back out since I have no money to pay. I still have my savings from my noise.cash earnings, but I'm using it as my personal savings.

When my teacher read my chat, she said she is willing to pay for the fee. I'm truly shy about it because I've known her just few months ago. I didn't expect my teacher to pay for it because nobody does when I was in junior high school. Eventually, I accepted her offer because I had no choice. That's where my journalism journey started.

Editorial writing (Filipino)

Me during the competition

Yes, you read it right. I was selected for competing in Editorial Writing Filipino. It was very difficult at first because like what I said I don't have experience. Thankfully, we have a two weeks training and I made a lot of preparation. My mind was purging and aching like so hard that anytime it will pop out.

However, those days are really memorable for me because I'm able to join journalism with this mind ability. I'm just happy that I'm able to experience it with my classmates and my teacher who is so supportive and caring for everyone including me.

When the competition started I'm so freakingly nervous because I feel the heat inside me. When the time started, we immediately open our pc and register our information including name, school and competition number. I think we're 20+ in editorial writing Filipino competitors.

The results

My classmates and my teacher

Thankfully when the competition is over. I had performed well and did the very best of me. When it is lunch time, my teacher treats us Jollibee meal. I haven't taken a photo but where like so full and hungry because our mind is very tired.

A week over, the most awaiting time is over. The results was posted in the group and I saw my name there. I'm 10th place overall. I didn't expect to win because I know there are a lot of competitors and smart students who joined. It's one of the best experience and achievement I got last semester.

Realizations after the competition

The best results you will achieve is based on how much guts you have to overcome and go outside your comfort zone. This experience of mine is set an example for me and everybody who is reading that if you want a breakthrough in your life - challenge yourself.


Sponsors of Dhes05
empty
empty
empty

Thank you for reading! I am appreciating if you like, upvote and subscribe. I hope to meet to you all.

Lead image is made in Canva
Images are mine
Article #2
2/6/22

9
$ 0.42
$ 0.17 from @DennMarc
$ 0.10 from @Eunoia
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 4
Sponsors of Dhes05
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Dhes05
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Kapag journalism ang forte mo bagay nga sis na nadito ka since para lalo mo mahasa ang skills mo. Congrats din sa pag out mo sa comfort zone mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pretty! Joining the campus journalism is a smart move. You will be exposed to a wider world and you will be able to explore a lot of different things. Welcome to read and have fun writing in herem

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see, kapatid mo pala si DennMarc, so good at ininvite ka niya dito :) For sure your teacher saw a potential in you, alam ng teacher na may kakayahan kang irepresent school ninyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo ate. Sabi ni kuya maganda daw po dito katulad ng noise.cash. Hihi. Yes, may potential nga daw po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing is hard except we don't have the heart to do it. Congrats

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like everything that we want to be good at or excel in, it takes practice. A lot of practice. But for writers, it also demands a lot of reading. Not just contemporary materials, but especially formal writing just so you get a feel for the written word. Then, keep writing more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree. Writing really takes time especially when you are researching and when the topic is quite broad or confidential.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome to the most challenging profession. Every steps will be hard but teach you lessons.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thankyou for your warmth welcome. Yes, first step is the most hard yet it's make challenging to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was in college I used to join in writing competitions but only seldom. Hehehe though I didn't got the 1st prize most of the time, I am happy as I got an experienced.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Joining different competitions when you were in HS or College is the best experience. I'm happy though I'm at the 10th place. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah congrats for winning and new skill unlocked. When I HS I also wanted to be a journalist, but my teacher says I can't haha, so don't do it. Yet now I do journal daily via BCH platform, welcome abroad and here you could really make your editorials.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for welcoming me here. Im so flattered by your support. Yes, I'll make sure to write here everyday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome in here sis! I know you'll do great here and don't forget to be thankful to people who will support you here. They are good and humble authors. Support them as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago