What does it mean to be a family?

29 39
Avatar for Dennnis
1 year ago

This is the last update I will make about my grandfather because yesterday we finally let him go and he is now on the ground with our ancestors. We all cried about it. The cry I didn't know will flow in my eyes like endlessly. It didn't stop until I saw people are all left. I just want to have a final moment with him. It is so painful in my heart. A pain that strikes me back and forth.

Losing someone we dearly love and adore is such an unfortunate situation. We barely have the confidence and strength to fight it. The body just want to sit down in a side corner of the room with cloudy thoughts. It is not always easy to protect, care and fight for your love ones. All you need to do is embrace and accept what happened because it will set your mind free from worries.

I prepared set of questions to answer for today. I cannot get over with my grief yesterday. I feel drained and need to be recharged because I want to live a happy life again. These past 8 eight days were so tiring and sleepless night. I want to write about optimistic questions and answer it honestly. I got these questions online and collected them as one piece.

What is the greatest responsibility your parents have given you?

I am not the firstborn child in the family, but I am currently the eldest because our firstborn died because of health issues. It was difficult for them because you know my parents lose their first child. Whatever they do, he died without experiencing what it feel like to live. To live happily with us, to live playing basketball, and to live studying in school.

My parents are not a type of parent who will give responsibility you cannot take care of. I think the greatest responsibility they ever given to me was to wake up at 4am to take care the fishermen who used our boat. Like, rental or something. I will list how many kilos of fishes, crabs, and squids they caught. Then I will cut it down from the total expenses they got from us. The rest of remaining balance will be cut into two, one for us and one for them.

Would you ever considering getting a tattoo?

In my inner thoughts and desire, yes. But if I ever got a tattoo, then I will be scolded by my grandmother for real. I might be slapped by my mother and punch by my father. From our family, no one has ever got a tattoo because they don't really like it. The culture in the family is solid and sacred. Follow and you live, don't follow then get out. Live your life like a madman.

If you are thinking my family is strict, no. We just have these set of do not's in our family that keeping us a good and presentable person. The 6pm curfew in our family is still alive and if you don't follow it. Expect you will be closed off the door. You cannot enter unless you have a valid reason. I experienced it once and my grandmother let me in around 2am already. I will never do it again, I swore to her that day.

What does it mean to be a family?

I watched several family movies and in a basic definition, family is your blood-related and produced you in a same branch of genes. That is a usual definition of a family. Yet, a family to me is someone who can accompany me through ups and downs. From my greatest and lowest of my life. A burden and abundance. That is why a friend can be your family. Your classmate can be a family.

No matter what our definition of family, the most important one is you care for your family. It may be blood-related or not. They are the people who will be with you until you breath your last. The more family we have, the more we can enjoy the life because it will not be boring at all.

I want to say thank your because I finally achieved 50 subscribers! This is very unexpected because I am 13 days only in read cash. I am so happy because people keeps upvoting, liking, commenting and sharing their thoughts after they read my article. Rusty is also so good to me. So, thank you po


Sponsors of Dennnis
empty
empty
empty

You are so welcome to become my sponsor. I would love to see you there in that block. Thank you po!

I am grateful you read this!

14
$ 4.94
$ 4.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @DennMarc
+ 5
Sponsors of Dennnis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Dennnis
1 year ago

Comments

Family can be defined by blood or by bond. That's the definition for me when it comes to family because anyone can be your family if she or he can share the burden on your shoulder. As you said in ups and downs she's or he's there.

As for the tattoos, I want to have one and I want it to be in my arm. It's just a little symbol so that my family will not scold me haha. They are very strict when it comes to tattoos.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it is. everyone can be our family whoever they are and wherever they come from. i am happy that i have many circles of family too. a tattoo that is hidden is okay. hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No matter what our definition of family, the most important one is you care for your family. It may be blood-related or not.

Ditto.

I have experienced bad treatment from both blood relatives and not. That's why I have the same definition of family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that's harsh! hindi pa naman po ako nakaka-experience ng bad treatment po unless may ginawa talagang bawal. pero discipline naman po iyon. hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sorry to know about your grandpa Denn, alam ko kung gaano kasakit, but for sure your grandpa is happy now. Condolence to the whole family. Gusto ko din magpa tattoo, pero at the same time parang ayoko Naman, ewan di ko maintindihan😅, mahal din kasi, sayang pera.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

okay lang po ate. nag momove on nalang din po kami and masaya na po kami for him. mabuting tatay at lolo po si lola boy. hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know how it's really looks like, and how the entire family will feels in the absence of their love ones. I send my heart felt condolences to you and your entire family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it's hard to say goodbye to our loved ones, but we know we have to. we cannot resurrect them or something. thank you for this!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Alright friend, it's my pleasure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me family is not limited by blood but actually by bond and the way someone can be there for you through thick and thin and also you to them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that's right. but it is really rare to find people who is like that. being with you thick and thin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Having family, especially a loving and caring family is so special to everyone, sorry about your dearest grandpa is in a perfect place with our Lord.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

no, it's okay. we are moving on about it. we know our grandpa is in good hands now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sorry again about your grandpa, Dennis. I know how it feels because we lost lolo 2 years ago too. It was very hard coping up. You'll get through it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

thanks ate @Jeaneth. we're okay naman na po at coping good na rin po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buti nalang I had my tattoo nung independent na ako and I can do whatever I like pero I think di naman siguro magagalit si Mama if ever I had tattoo before.Di naman ganun kastrict si Mama

$ 0.00
1 year ago

naiintindihan nila ang mga ganyang bagay pero dito samin walang diskusyon ang tattoo, haha. lagot ka talaga kung magpapalagay ka.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

tama iba iba kasi ng paniniwala

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My parents and also my grandma don't allow us to have a tattoo especially if you are a girl. Pero sa curfew naman,wala kaming exact na time pero di rin kame masyadong nagpapalate hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

opo ate. pero hanggang ngayon naka instill pa rin po samin yung ganong tradition kasi effective naman sya dahil nag responsable kami umuwi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Again, my deepest condolence to your family. By the way, as for me, famiky is more than just blood. It is the people whom we can share our agony, happiness and success with.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

salamat po ate. ganunpaman, masaya tayo na marami tayong pamilya na gumagabay at tumutulong satin hanggang ngayon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kapag kasi panganay ka sa pamilya, talagang malaki ang responsibilidad mo eh. Alam mo naman na panganay ako, daming utos at halos pag wala sila, nasa akin ang mga commands. Whahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

opo kuya. nasa firstborn ang lahat ng responsibilad kasi sila yung nanay or tatay sa bahay kapag walang magulang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hindi rin pumapayag si papa mag tattoo kami or mag pa blonde ng buhok and basta may reason lang talaga bakit late umuwi we're free hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

sa buhok naman wala namang problema doon. sa tattoo lang talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ahhh okay lang yann

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wagas man pala, mejo scary fam mo pagdating sa pag uwi ng late Sabagay mga bata pa naman kayo. Samin walang curfew pero di rin naman ako palalabas kaso pagpapaalam palang nga ee di ko na magawa noon, ang magtagal pa kaya sa labas aguyy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

opo ate kasi ganoon din sila pinalaki ni lola kaya inaapply din nila samin. mabuti naman po iyon dahil hindi na po hinahanap kapag gabi. hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago