Valentine's gifts

2 26
Avatar for Deeepensiverse
2 years ago
  • Lead image by me.

Well, Well, Well.

Monday was valentine's day and I have a lot to say about it.

History of Valentine's day

Valentine's day named after Saint valentine is a day where candies, gifts, and flowers are exchanged between loved ones all around the world. The reason why St. Valentine was associated with love is based on 3 different rumors according to this:

The first is the legend that contends that Valentine was a priest who served during the third century in Rome. When Emperor Claudius II decided that single men made better soldiers than those with wives and families, he outlawed marriage for young men. Valentine, realizing the injustice of the decree, defied Claudius and continued to perform marriages for young lovers secretly. When Valentine’s actions were discovered, Claudius ordered that he be put to death.

The second is that Valentine may have been killed for attempting to help Christians escape harsh Roman prisons, where they were often beaten and tortured.

In the third legend, an imprisoned Valentine sent the first “valentine” greeting himself after he fell in love with a young girl, possibly his jailor’s daughter who visited him during his confinement. Before his death, it is alleged that he wrote her a letter signed “From your Valentine,” an expression that's still used today. 

Valentine's day now

Celebrating Valentine's day where I reside can be summarized in two words: oppression and intense fornication. This year's valentine's celebration was no exception.

I meant oppression in the sense that, the bar for gifting is raised every single year, people gift really expensive items that make even those who received gifts exclaim 'God when?' and then followed by customary mating in booked hotels and suites, I confirmed this since my hostel was scanty that night, unlike the normal rowdy movements.

As early as 8 am, we witnessed dispatch riders delivering valentine packages much to the dismay of single people who shouted both in real and faux excitement as some were genuinely happy while some were bitter. I won't blame them, Single people were shaded a lot during the period, there's even this yearly valentine's anthem for single people which goes:

'Valentine is coming, where is your boyfriend/girlfriend? You're sitting at home, lonelyyyyyyyy'

So, I can't really blame the bitter ones, the hate was just too much.

I even saw a post about a man that bought all the even-numbered seats at a movie theater just so couples won't be able to seat together. That level of pettiness is fueled by bitterness.

So, valentine's gifts. I saw so many gifts on Monday as I've seen in previous years and I've classified it into four in my head.

1) Monetary gifts: did someone say money? I love money, who doesn't? this kind can even come in money cakes; the type where mint notes are stacked on top of one another, I love this. Transferring it to my account is also perfect.

2) Thoughtful gifts: this is a very special category as most people don't really think it counts. Give me a note on 5 things you love about me, write a love note on some of the memories we have together, little things that will make me blush, this is the category of the saying 'it's the thought that counts'. Just little things that make me "awwwnn" happy that you thought of me.

3) Practical gifts: practical as the word implies, things I can put to use, give me those cute sneakers, that wig, that sparkly bracelet, that shiny necklace and earrings, things that I use and think of you. I love this category too.

4) Non-practical gifts (for lack of a better word): this is my least favorite. In this category are gifts like my framed picture or my picture on a frame and my picture on a pillow. No offense to people who like it but this is just my personal opinion. I just feel it's overpriced and I think I feel this way because of this stage of my life, maybe I'll see the importance as I get older.

What do you think of the classification of gifts?

Which is your favorite?


You know, to have someone stick by you throughout flaws and all is a big thing, I thank my sponsors for their continued support even though I haven't been consistent.

Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty

Please do check them out.

Thank you @Jumper-01 for your sponsorship renewal🤗🤗

Thank you for reading🤗

©Deeepensiverse

February 17, 2022.

5
$ 2.07
$ 1.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Greatwolfman
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 3
Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Deeepensiverse
2 years ago

Comments

The only thing that people in today's valentine is their naked parts.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Honestly

$ 0.00
2 years ago