My Christmas story- #BCHNigerianForumXmasChallenge.

11 40
  • Lead image and other images from unsplash.com.

*Deeepensiverse signs in*

*Play me 'Joy to the world'*

December is usually accompanied by the celebration of Christmas, the green and red-themed celebration.

Christmas- the eight-worded goodness, simply put. I don't think I've ever been so happy to celebrate something routinely. I doubt if Christmas for me was that much different from any other person, I guess it was the memories I looked forward to each year when I was younger. I always expected the celebration each year to outdo the previous one.

Christmas brought out the decorator in me. I absolutely loved decorating our apartment, the Christmas tree, lights, decorations. I was the unpaid interior decorator and I loved every minute of it.

Christmas for me was one of those times I was assured of new dresses, I love new clothes. Christmas presented the opportunity to get new attire. We had at least two new clothes, one for Christmas and another for the new year. This made me love Christmas. Did I forget the new shoes?

Did I mention I always made Christmas hair too? Oops, I didn't. Well, I did. The new clothes had to be paired with a new hairdo.

Another thing about Christmas was the food. Jollof rice and the peppered chicken was something we all ate but it hits different when it's actually for Christmas. The season actually spices up the food. We also cooked fried rice, beans amongst other dishes.

I also loved the feeling of togetherness, my extended family and I hung out on Christmas day, we usually eat and talk. I get to see my cousins after months of not communicating, it's usually fun in some weird kind of way.

What is Christmas without the carols? I attended a lot while growing up, I'm sad I only attended one this year. What's the Christmas period without the songs? I'm proud that I still remember most of the lyrics to the Christmas hymns. I remember my secondary school, I went to a Baptist School. We always sang hymns every Friday and we switched to Christmas-themed ones around December. Singing the hymns then made my Fridays.

I also looked forward to the gifts, in secondary school, my friends and I also exchanged gifts. I remember getting perfumed body sprays, watches, sandals, and various other gifts. I also remember how hard I thought of what to give my friends, it was usually stressful because I always worried about getting the right thing.

I remember when my mom would take me and my sisters out for a Christmas celebration, we always went to a different place each year. We went to different amusement parks, restaurants, malls.

I wrote about my memories because I couldn't believe I'm not even remotely hyped about Christmas this year. I didn't make any attempt to make my hair or do anything. I didn't even wear red clothes or wear a Christmas-themed cap to the Christmas carol I went to.

I thought about my Christmas memories during the carol when I saw Santa Claus dancing with little children and I thought "I was once like them, drunk in the season of Christmas".

The Santa Claus aka Father Christmas at the Carol I went to.

I even shuddered a few days ago when I thought of how stressful tomorrow will be, I'll probably be the one cooking the food. Hopefully, I find a way to escape it, the only good thing that comes out of cooking is that I get to eat to my fill.

The worst part is I've not even watched any Christmas-themed movie, there are lots and lots of them out now. The cliche ones where they go back to their towns and reunite with their first loves and realize that they are happier there at that moment than they've ever been.😅

My best memories came from my younger years, I'm sure we all had crazy Christmas memories growing up. I remember how happy I was then, the joy I had celebrating it. So maybe I'll go out to celebrate the season for the first time in five years, even if it's a cinema or a Mall. I plan to awaken the Christmas spirit in me. Maybe I would make my hair too. Maybe I'll wear new cloth for Christmas too.

A lot of maybes here, hehe.

But I'll definitely write about it if I end up doing anything I enjoy.

In the spirit of Christmas, I need to go and prepare my cookies and milk for Santa Claus in anticipation of my gifts😁

Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty

My sponsors are like my Santas, please check them out.

Merry Christmas and happy new year in advance.

Thank you for reading🤗

©Deeepensiverse.

December 24, 2021.

7
$ 4.02
$ 3.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Greatwolfman
+ 5
Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty

Comments

So, I gotta ask, how did it go? was it as expected? I hope you were able to bring back the Christmas spirit.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I was. I enjoyed the day and I hope to be able to enjoy the season more😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sincerely, my childhood days were the best times of Christmas for me. The joy from the constant hyping, the series of food especially from 24th night, the sight of seeing the lined up of Chickens to be slaughtered and the banger works. Merry Christmas, have a nice time cooking and enjoying all the big big meeeeeaaat,🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Merry Christmas to you too, I will and I'm ready to wake up the tailor in me, I'm ready to slim fit those meat😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These where amazing memories, I was laughing at the Santa though 😅😅.. merry Christmas dear

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Laugh oo, I also laughed when I saw him😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice one Deola .. merry Christmas I thought I saw you yesterday ❤️✍️😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, you did. You were on a bike yeah?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a Father keresi not Santa clause 🤣🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me sef shock, I took the picture with the intention of posting it and captioning it"out for my daily 2k". You know the whole father Christmas trend😅😅😅😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago