I'm not lazy, I'm not just easily motivated

5 39
Avatar for Deeepensiverse
2 years ago
  • Lead image from Unsplash.

This is my entry to @JonicaBradley 's prompt #19

The definition of laziness.

Cambridge dictionary defines being lazy as the quality of not being willing to work or use any effort.

Merriam-Webster dictionary defines being lazy as being disinclined to activity or exertion and not energetic or vigorous.

According to here, Laziness is a state where you don’t want to do anything, you’re are totally unwilling to spend your energy. When you think doing a task is very difficult and even impossible for you this state is known as laziness. You desire to do nothing and remain idle like a lifeless body.

My parents definition of laziness.

My parents think laziness is not offering to work. They expect me to be actively working when I don't have school work. When I'm at home with the house sparkling clean, every chore done to perfection, watching a movie, or using the phone is laziness.

Can't I rest? Even if I rest for the next twenty-four hours, haven't I tried?

When I get tired, I go to the toilet to hide under the guise of using it then they call out to me and say that they know I'm hiding and call me lazy.

When I try to write my Readcash article at home is laziness, there's this common orientation that nothing good comes out from being on a phone or laptop. They don't know how stressful it can be at times to write an article.

When I say I'm tired, they say "the only thing you do all day is staring at your screen"

When I complain about my stomach, they say "when you laze around all day with your phone, you're bound to get stomach ache" and then I think 'what's the correlation?"

Nigerian parents.

What I think I am.

To me, I am a very busy person, I have to write articles on Readcash, I have a pile of novels to read, I have to keep up with the latest movies, Korean dramas, and American series. I have to find time to cook to eat. Then there's school's stress.

I'm more of a person who likes to do what needs to be done, I have to have an end goal to start work.

When I'm hungry, I cook.

When I need to pass my exams, I read.

After doing anything I need to do, with my extra time.

Sometimes, I just want to sit down without doing anything, without even using my phone, or just think about different possibilities. I want to be in this state for days, I wish I could be in this state till I'm motivated by another end goal.

I'm not lazy, I'm not just easily motivated.

According to here, LAZY means

L- Lie down

A- Aimlessly without any

Z- Zeal in

Y- Yourself.

Which coincides with my idea of just sitting and looking when I don't have an aim.

The verdict

So, I guess I'm lazy, we all can be lazy. It's okay to be lazy sometimes, when I have one or two lazy days, it helps me restart and think afresh which I think is a good thing.

So anytime my parents call me lazy, I'll reply that "according to my research, being lazy can be a good thing" wish me luck guys.

Benefits of Laziness

Laziness can be beneficial. It helps to increase efficiency, it can lead to a healthier, more relaxed life. 

According to my research, these are some of the benefits of laziness.

1) Smart solutions: Laziness can be a source of innovations. Frank Gilbreth Sr. famously said: “I will always choose a lazy person to do a difficult job because a lazy person will find an easy way to do it”

2) Laziness can help to manage stress: Activities or lack of activities that may be perceived as lazy by adults are necessary for the mental health of young people.

3) Mind-wandering: Laziness can help in mind wandering which helps our brain to process thoughts and help to increase productivity.

4) Approach: Acknowledging laziness can be a great way to better approach the task at hand.

Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty
My sponsors are the best, please do check them out.

If you want to participate in the prompt, all you need to do is

  1. Write anything on laziness

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  4. The longer your article is, the more likely you will get attention from Rusty. I suggest 600 words at a minimum.

  5. Submit to PromptlyJonica (please join if you haven't already)

  6. Have fun!


OCTOBER 19, 2021.

Deeepensiverse

Thank you for reading, I appreciate it.

8
$ 2.33
$ 2.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.03 from @Greatwolfman
+ 3
Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Deeepensiverse
2 years ago

Comments

From the list of benefits of laziness you listed here i am tempted to wanna be lazy and maybe i will hold you responsible lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😂😂, having lazy days is fine but being totally lazy isn't good oo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lol okay then i will minimize the level of the laziness

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha it's like me telling myself I'm not lazy and I just need motivation. Oh common self, convince me that I have to keep moving. 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😂😂😂😂, exactly, then we get motivated that way

$ 0.00
2 years ago