Your Visitor and your Servant: Don’t cross the thin line.

8 34
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

I have learnt a lot of life lessons and I am still learning and relearning till the day I will be no more. Some people will never want to hear the last few words I said above; till the day I will be no more. Well, the earlier you understand that we are all on transit and that one day we will welcome the great unexpected and unannounced visitor which most people do not want to mention its name, that will be the day we will begin to understand and see ourselves as one entity living in separate bodies.

We will begin to treat others the way we would want them to treat us. I have seen cases where someone who seems to be more privileged than the other person decides to take undue advantage of the other. This has been the case for so many people especially those who we call less privileged. The very vital question is; why have we chosen to follow the path of differentiation as humans? Some will argue that from creation God made it that we will have those who are up there and those who are underneath, but is that argument true or better still must we live by itCan’t we have a society where equality is the watchword? I will leave you to ponder on these questions because we are all guilty of this crime I have tagged differentiation.


Going forward

Source

As you are pondering on the questions I have outlined, I know that a part of you is trying so hard to understand the reason behind this article and the title I gave it. Well, as a writer or a blogger, you must try as much as you can to relate life experiences through your writings because it is through this way that we learn new things every day. This article is borne out of careful observation of human behaviour and understanding of these two words and their application “Visitor & Servant. 

Just as we all know that there is a thin line between life and death, there is also a very thin line between your visitor and your servant. I know that you are so surprised to hear this, but it is the Truth. The issue is that we do not know this and it is one of the reasons why we find ourselves in a fight with our friends. For us to understand this article better, I will like to draw a clear cut line between a Visitor and a Servant.


Who is a Visitor?

Source

It might interest you to know that most people do not know who a visitor is. This is why you see them either asking the visitor to do the things he is not meant to do or allowing the visitor to go beyond their bounds in the house. Let me try and answer the question of who a visitor is.

The dictionary has a lot of definitions for the word Visitor but I will focus more on the one that bears the true meaning of who a visitor is in the context of this article. A visitor is someone who visits another person; someone who is staying as a guest. For us to understand this more, I would want us to look at the word Guest. The dictionary defines the word Guest to be a recipient of hospitality, specifically someone staying by invitation at the house of another. There are other definitions to the word "guest" but for this article, I will focus on the above definition since it falls into the context of this article.

 

If you are observant enough, you would notice that there is a relationship between the two words Visitor and Guest. From the definition above one can say that a visitor is someone who visits another person either by invitation or unannounced. Now, another important part of this definition is that the person is seen as a recipient of hospitality in the other person’s house. Look at the two underlined words; Recipient and Hospitality, what does it tell you? What it means is that the person is meant to be taken care of as long as he continues to stay in the house and this is done without any form of complaint from the host who is the invitee. What do we see in our societies today? If you look at the definition and the explanation I have given, you will understand that most of us are far from understanding who a visitor is and how to treat a visitor.

Let me stop here but that does not mean that I am done with the article, I just want to go drink some water and rest my brain and fingers. Please don’t come and tell me that I am lazy just because I took some time off… I am not a robot ooh!

 

I am back, thanking you for your patience. Let me continue by asking this question because I believe that we learn more through answering questions. Do you now have a better understanding of who a visitor is? Well, I will be expecting to read your answers in the comment section and if you feel you have something contrary to add, please feel free to do so. Let us look at who a Servant is.

 

Who is a Servant?

Source

We have a lot of people on this platform who make use of servants in their homes and most of them do not have a good understanding of who a servant is. This is why you see servants doing the job of a wife in the house. I believe by the time I finish explaining who a Servant is, a lot of us will have a better understanding and also know the limits a servant must not cross. There is more than one definition of the word Servant in the dictionary, but I will choose just the one that best correlates with the context of this article. A Servant is hired to perform regular household or other duties and receives compensation. This is completely different from who or what a slave is. Looking at the definition, you will understand that there has been a lot of mix up on the word Servant and Slave. I will not into discussing who a slave is but I just used it as a part of the explanation I am making in this article.

 

Now, if a Servant is hired to do regular household duties, why then do we make the mistake of trying to push some of these household duties to our visitors just because they happened to be our guests? Don’t get it twisted, I am not saying that your visitor cannot lend a helping hand with the house chores but this should only be seen as a privileged and not as a duty.

This is where we misconstrue the two words and by so doing we cross the thin unknowingly. Whenever you have a visitor, you should always remember that they are recipients of hospitality in your house. One of the challenges we have is that we do not know that even our siblings who do not live with us in the same house are also visitors anytime they come around, this is why we see situations where a sibling is sent into the kitchen to go and make food or is asked to go and wash the dishes just because he is younger. Always remember that your visitor irrespective of who the person is and how you are related, the person deserves to enjoy an indisputable level of hospitality and for any chore he helps you out with, you must understand that it is a privilege and not a right.

Thank you for reading and I hope I was able to make some sense. If it sounds senseless to you, please pardon me and don’t forget that we are all in the process of learning.

 

Davinchysax loves you…

Please do well to SUBSCRIBE to this channel because you are the reason why are write.

 

Lead image.

6
$ 14.74
$ 14.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.08 from @HappyBoy
+ 5
Sponsors of Davinchysax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Comments

Sincerely i do interchange guest and visitor before. I didn't see any difference between the two until now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Visitor is a visitor for me, and as far as I can remember, I've never crossed the thin line :) But it's different when I become a guest in another's house, I will make it my home and help in any way I can unless the host doesn't entertain me doing it.

I like the way you kind of scolded us while you went away in the middle of your article to drink water :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes... For me too I love to lend a helping hand if I visit a friend but it would not make sense for my host to take undue advantage of me. I am not a robot, so I had to go and have some water...🤣😂😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So far no one has taken advantage of me even my relatives, I think they also know the boundaries :D

As for the water, it's vital so drink you must 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am happy you have not had such an experience before... Most times people do it unintentionally.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, so far I haven't. I believe so, they're done unintentionally :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well with the kind of culture that we have, it is very common that if we visits somebody else's house, friend's and relatives. There is really a greater chance that we will offer a helping hand with regards to household chores, preparing food or something. But it depends on the host wether he/she will allow the visitors offer. But if I were the host I would rather let her/him enjoy the time they visited us by not letting the visitors do some household chores.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is the point I am trying to make. A lot of people have forgotten that a visitor is supposed to be served and if for any reason he lends a helping hand, it should be seen as a privilege and not as a right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago