I almost Killed myself; A true Story.

17 37
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

I used to think that death is very far away from me and it is not because I do not know that death is real but because is because I am one of those who seldom get sick. To be fair, I put in enough effort towards exercising my body regularly and somehow it has kept me going for a very long time without being sick or should I say without getting bedridden. The truth is that I cultivated the habit of not going for checkups since I already know that the worst-case scenario can only be Malaria or Typhoid which has never lasted more than three days or a week. Now, I began to live this crazy lifestyle of self-medicating each time I felt I was going below the weather forgetting that I was playing with my life. The events of these past weeks have truly thought me a heavy lesson that I will not forget in a hurry and I will never stop preaching against self-medication. The truth is that a lot of people may not have the grace to learn from their mistakes in such a horrible and deadly manner. A lot of people have died through self-medication and a lot are seriously hospitalized to date due to damage or the other caused by self-medication.

 

Drug Abuse

I decided to look at this critically since I have experienced the dangers it could cause. Whether you call it drug abuse or self-medication, the truth is that you are abusing any drug which has not been prescribed for you by a qualified medical practitioner. At first, I felt normal doing the usual thing of going to the pharmacy to buy drugs the moment I felt a bit sick. Just like I have always done, I thought it was just malaria and typhoid. After taking the drugs for more than five days, it was as if the sickness became severe that I experienced my first fainting episode. I went to the toilet to ease myself and before I could understand what was happening, I was only found myself on the ground with my friend trying so hard to resuscitate me. I opened my eyes and I felt as though I woke up from the dead. I can never forget the look on my friend's face because she kept on looking at me as if I was a ghost. I managed to stand up and walk to the bed because at that point I was very weak to do anything else. Even as this fainting episode happened I did not heed the warning. It was a great sign that all was not well within me and that I needed to go for a checkup immediately.

 

That evening I took malaria and typhoid drugs I have been taking with the excuse that the weakness might be because I was not eating very well not know that I was seriously digging my grave. At about 8 pm that day, I experienced yet another fainting episode and this time it happened again as I wanted to go ease myself in the toilet. It was at this time that I became more afraid than I have ever been in all my life. Within me, I felt I was getting better with the drugs I was taking or should I say abusing. I began to imagine; what if I die or what if my case became very seriously that I cannot be able to walk? I could remember how my friend kept on telling me to go for a checkup because I may be mistaking the sickness of malaria and typhoid when it is not. I tried so much to fight off the idea of having other sicknesses instead of malaria or typhoid and I kept on ignoring the signs. I managed to go through the next day but it was on this day that I took the decision that I have to travel. Mind you, I travelled to see my friend and this entire thing started. In the early hours of the morning, I managed to have myself kicking and I felt all was well but my greatest fear happened again. I fainted the third time and it became clear to me that I was inching closer to my death if I did not take any strong and right action.

 

I called a nurse friend of mine and after narrating my ordeal, she advised me to come back to town and that I should not waste more time. I took the advice and managed to get myself home after a four-hour journey. I cannot forget the thoughts that were going through my mind through the hours of the journey that was when I knew that death could make a man think stupid things. As soon as I got home I rushed to the hospital where my nurse friend works and with her help, I was admitted and that was when my fears were made known to me. After conducting medical tests on me through my blood and urine, the test showed that I was suffering from a high level of Hepatitis. My heart skipped when I heard the result but I was told that it was not the contagious type. Before I could say my name, I have been fused with a big bag of drip and some injections to go with it.

I must say that my nurse friend played a very major role in getting me treated and on time.

 

A quick Advice

As I listened to the words of the nurse who was telling me that I could have been a dead person if I had wasted a little more time. She explained to me that my condition was very critical but God kept my life in other to use me to talk to others like me who do not take medical checkups seriously. I saw myself gradually drifting away to the cold hands of death but God saved me. What I feared the most was when I was told that my blood was very low because hepatitis has eaten deep into my bloodstream. Within a short period, I became as slim as anything you can imagine. Although I am recuperating, you will certainly know that I came out of serious sickness. Please, don’t take anything for granted when it comes to your health. Always go for your checkups and please, STOP SELF MEDICATION.   

Davinchysax Loves you.

 

 

9
$ 7.29
$ 7.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 5
Sponsors of Davinchysax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Comments

How about now, are you feeling better? But still do your best to take care of yourself. I saw a post which states that people are not afraid to be dead, they are afraid on how they will die.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a better dear friend and its true people are afraid of how they will die and not afraid of death itself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow... This calls for serious caution, brother and glad you are alive to learn the lessons and know what not to ever try or do again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have seriously learnt my lessons. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are scenarios that self medication are not helpfulbut instead coz you to death, so better take extra careful next time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much, friend, I have learnt my lessons from this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats good!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's very good that you have learned your lesson. There are many cases of symptoms that are the same for various diseases. Now you must be more careful because it is your liver that is most affected during hepatitis. And medications and self-medication can be fatal in your case. My wishes for your prognosis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am very grateful to God that my liver was not badly affected. Thank for your prayers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In cases of hepatitis, the liver is affected later. You must be very careful in the future. I am telling you this as a doctor, it is not a word of mouth comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok. I will be more careful. Thank you for your advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Be safe always and I am happy to know your recovery. May your year will be blessed with a healthy body.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take good care of yourself friend. I will take note of your advices. Thank you. I hope your doing fine now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am doing great my friend and I am happy to be back...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good to hear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago