Ask your Parents this Question before it’s too late

16 32
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Life, as we all know, is too short for anyone to take things for granted and it is so surprising how we have trivialized a lot of things even the most serious and important things about ourselves. Things like;

  • ·        The circumstances behind our birth

  • ·        The name we bear and how it came about

  • ·        The history and life of our parents

  • ·        Our history and how it is connected to the life we are living.

These and many other things are the things we must try to find answers to if not in whole, then in parts but at least we can say that we understand where we are coming from which in turn will affect where we are heading to. I know this topic may sound philosophical and metaphysical but I will try my best not to keep you in the metaphysical realm for so long in other not to take the born of contention away from your grasp.

There are a lot of things you can find answers to just by hitting the search engine in goggle but there are other things you may never be able to find the answers to even if you make use of both Google, Wikipedia, Britannica and even the encyclopaedia. It is not because people cannot upload their data into these online search engines, it is because no one would want to give as much as the secrets to their name, the circumstances behind their birth and other things that they may find to be private in the public domain. Therefore it is paramount that we ask the right questions to the right people now that we have the opportunity and to those whose parents, guardians and anyone who is in the best position to answer these questions have passed on to the afterlife, please find solace in the fact that you are not alone in this struggle and journey of life.

 

I will look at this article in one direction and it is not because I can’t go into explaining all the points I have listed above rather it is because I believe that they are all intertwined, so once you understand the need for one, you will also have the urge to get the answers to the others. For those who are yet to understand that there is a serious revolution going on in the world today between the digital world (internet) and the Analogue world. Before the inception of the internet, people spend hours in the library searching for a book or a document which they would use to back up their research, but these days, a lot of people stay in the comfort of their house to get the materials they need just by surfing the internet. Now, we cannot deny that the analogue system of record-keeping has its merits and demerits just as the digital world has its advantages and disadvantages too, but the fact remains that the world is fast heading into the mighty ocean of digitalized system of doing things and if that is the case, then there is a strong and urgent need for us to ask these very questions in a bid to get answers since the answers cannot be found on the internet.

The very first of these questions which I want to talk about is;

Your name

Source

What is the story behind your Name? I believe that naming as a means of identification is world wild and therefore every race in the world must have a reason for giving a certain name to either a human being or a thing which they may find symbolic. I have always wanted to talk about the names we bear and the stories behind them because as African, we believe that the name of a person goes a long way to determine what he will become in life… though some persons may see this as just a mere myth or superstition, there is one thing about believe we must all be careful about because whatever we believe in comes to pass. Have you taken a moment to look at yourself in the mirror and ask this very important question of “who am I?” it may sound less important to you but a person who does not have a clue of who he is will certainly not achieve his purpose in life.

 

For you to know who you are, you must first know the story behind your name because your name is your first identity which is first seen by anyone who comes in contact with you. Even though you may not tell people your name, you will be surprised how they will go the extra mile to get it from other sources. That is to show you how important your name is and if you must have been very observant, you will notice that if a stranger calls you by your name, you will not hesitate to answer even though you understand that the person is a stranger. Just call you by your name has given him leverage to talk with you especially if it is a place you believe you are not well known. To achieve this, we must ask these very vital questions. What is in a name? Why do am I bear the name Martha and not Mary? Who initiated the name I bear? These and many other questions are what will direct you to ask or get the right answer you need.

 

I have had the opportunity of seeing someone who grew up and decided to change his name. This has become a normal thing in society and everyone is openly doing it even when they do not know the reason behind the first name they wish to change. To some, the name they bear is nothing but a means of identification while to a good number of others, the name they bear goes deeper than just a means of identification. Let me ask you; do you see your name as just a means of identification or does it mean something deeper to you? If you see it as something deeper than just a means of identification then you need to go the extra mile to ask your parents, guardian or older siblings about the story behind your name. I believe you will find something that will open your eyes to the hidden things of life. Just as I was able to find mine, you can get to that level of not just seeing your name as a means of identification, but as a means of unlocking the spiritual doors to your success. The time is now because tomorrow may be too late.

This is from a heart that cares…

Davinchysax loves you…

 

Lead image.

6
$ 6.74
$ 6.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
$ 0.05 from @McAdeleye
+ 1
Sponsors of Davinchysax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Comments

My name means "wise." My dad got it from his coworkers back when he was working in another country. I used to envy others who have more than one name but when I came to know the meaning of my name, I was okay with it and I've learned to accept it. I don't brag about it but when someone is interested about it then that's when I tell them. It's kind of a pressure though to be called wise when I am not lol!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I guess you do not know the level of your wisdom but your dad knows you better. It is a great thing to know the secret behind your name and to even make it better, you got to know the meaning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your article is quite revealing. A name is not just a means of identification, one can actually find the root cause of some of their life problems just by knowing their names and the circumstances behind the name. This is deep

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I so much appreciate parents who do documentaries for their kids from how both parents met to become couples and how the pregnancy grew with the paparazzi attached.

I have two answers to the questions and I you better get the other two to avoid the regret of not having the answers when I needed them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We must do all we can to know the secrets behind our identity as humans... You know, our existence was never a mistake...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was thinking of what could be in the article when I got the notification and saw the title. It looks stange. But getting to read through I realized the pure fact and the befitting title too.

Yeah, I won't say I have intentionally asked my parent on the story behind my name. But accidentally my mom do tell me some of the story behind it. Maybe because I was still young back then

But after reading this I would surely ask the story behind the name I bear. Its indeed a must to know about it and answers couldn't be gotten from Google and any search engine.

I am glad your name became a great definition to whom your are today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had to give it the title because I wanted it to attract the inquisitive minds that would want to know more and you were one f them. It is something we as Africans and the world at large must carefully look into. I bet you would be happy to know more about the history of your name.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It matters a lot

Thanks so much for the great article 😊😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your kind words...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your username caught my attention first. The word "Chy" in your name is the first 3 letters of my name. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really??? That's wonderful... What is your name?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I don't want to say it here hahaha bad, I will say it still since I've already mentioned my name on my first article here, which is the introductory article.

My name is Chyrish :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow... Such a beautiful name you have there... Do you know the story behind your name?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've already asked my mom during my 7th grade because it was an assignment to us.

My mother told me that my name originated from Manila. It was the same name with her granddaughter. Also, all of us siblings start the name with a letter C. HAHAHAHA It sounds crazy but yeah, that's how my name is created.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is really wonderful to know the story behind your name... So you all have names that start with??? It is really funny but a show of family bond.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me and my siblings' name starts with C. Yeaaaah it's a great family bonding. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago